We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Centrally Located Hotel, Good Value and Doing Well on the Eco Front”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Centrally Located Hotel, Good Value and Doing Well on the Eco Front”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

A very comfortable centrally located hotel - great for a stay in Oslo. Walking distance to the main train station for easy access to the airport and well located for accessing Oslo’s excellent public transport network. Easy to walk to all the key central Oslo sights. Excellent breakfast was included in our rate. Room benefits from typically Nordic clean lines and functionality. Doing well on the eco-front.

Public Transport:
+ Mention on hotel website for accessing the hotel via public transport but there could be more information and links to the Oslo pubic transport network and clear maps of where to catch-it from the hotel

Zero Waste:
+ Bulk soap and shampoo dispensers in the room mean none of those wasteful disposable containers or only part-used toiletries
- Was not provided the option to receive bill via email rather than getting another piece of paper to dispose of

Energy:
+ Room key operated electricity
+ Hall lights on sensors minimising energy consumption when lighting is not needed
+ Visibly high standard insulated windows – as you’d expect in Norway

Recycled and Local Products:
+ What looked like recycled paper products in the room

Environmental Information:
+ Thon Hotels website notes that all its hotels are part of an energy saving program and are part of the Norwegian EcoLighthouse environmental certification program (missed opportunity to highlight this more prominently on the website and in the description for each hotel)
- Missed opportunity to provide more specific details on individual hotel environmental performance, targets, CO2 emissions

CO2 Offset
- No option to offset CO2 emissions from stay

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EcoTravelCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    330
    94
    22
    13
See reviews for
188
246
45
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Thon Panorama in August this year. The staff was brilliant, and gave us a very warm welcome. The family room was comfortable, modern and very clean. Breakfast was excellent, and lots of it. I would love a repeat visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel was the best surprise (for hotels) of our Scadinavia/Russia trip. It was very clean and centrally located. It had the best breakfast of any hotel we stayed at by far.

We were probably upgraded, but we had a room with a balcony and a small kitchen, as well as a little seating area with its own TV. The bed area could have been closed off if one person needed to stay up and work/read/watch TV without disturbing the other.

The only negative for this hotel was that we requested a "box lunch" for an all-day train trip the night before the journey. When we left at 6:00 AM our breakfast hadn't been prepared due to poor communication from the night clerk. If you need this service for "Norway in a Nutshell" make sure everyone who needs to get the order gets it.

Otherwise a terrific hotel. And a good value for EXPENSIVE Oslo.

Room Tip: See "box lunch" above. And consider the upgrade to kitchen/balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Fantastic hotel, fantastic location and staff. If you stay for more than 3 weeks, you can ask for Business room, which has kitchenette facility.
Good rooms, well equipped, laundry facility, as well.
Location is a major advantage. Its very close to the train, bus and tram facilities to go anywhere in Oslo as well as Norway.

Room Tip: If you are traveling for over 3 weeks you can ask for room with kitchenette facility which helps you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myselfHyderabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st louis,mo
Level Contributor
171 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

the thon chain in oslo has about 16 hotels, This was afailed apartment complex so you get the luxury of an apartment for your room. The breakfast buffet was phenomenal.the hotel staff was great. It is a 5 minute awl from the train station

Room Tip: get good directions fro the train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jklein50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
95 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

a very charming place, staff very friendly and helpful, all super-organized, price QUALITY pretty good about it My hometown is unique, the atmosphere nice, neat and tidy, beautiful place on the plus access to the internet and food, I recommend

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oleczek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama is a very nice hotel, family friendly and located near the train station in a nice area of the city. We arrived in Oslo via train at 2245 hrs completing a Norway in Nutshell tour. The Thon Panorama is about 15 minute walk from the train station, and we walked dragging our luggage via Karl Johanns Gate. We departed by taxi because of the rain, and the fare to the train station about 110 NOK. The couple we were traveling with had to leave at 0400 (Thursday). They walked to the station and later said there were still a lot of people on the street. Our room (308) was perfect for us. It had no view, a minimum of furniture and pay TV. However, the locaton was good, we had a good nights sleep, the breakfast exceptional, the staff very friendly and helpful and we don't watch TV, There was a ping ping table and a fussball table for the kids. One night, we ate dinner at Kafe Celsius and the next night at Dovrestua, both within walking distance and good value (very subjective). I would stay at the Panorama again, and would recommend it to a friend.

Stayed 6-8 August 2013 and traveled with my wife and another couple..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank activeguy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas E, General Manager at Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Activeguy88

Many thanks for your review and nice feedback from your stay with us. Great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and beds and we hope to welcome you back again sometime soon.

With best regards,

Andre Hoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,014 reviews
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#24 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama

Property: Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Address: Raadhusgata 7b, Oslo 0151, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Oslo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#16 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama opened in October 2008, and is a professional business hotel that is also well suited for holiday travellers. The hotel has 118 spacious and modern rooms, including two penthouse suites. The interior consists of Scandinavian design with bright colours and wooden flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing