We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good who wants to save some money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Kampen Hotell
Ranked #77 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We had Apartment in this hotel. I wasn't delighted that entrance in the room is directly from the street. Street is calm and sound isolation is good so no problem for sleeping. Our double bad was made of 2 single that were sliding a bit on marble floor one from another.
In the bathroom I found many black hairs.....also I wasn't happy to clean them.
In the kitchen there are no pots, spoons, etc...we bought plastic plates, frozen pasta, pizza.. in supermarket (close to the hotel) - microwave was great! If you want to avoid expensive restaurants of Oslo it's good option.
Close to the metro, Munch museum, botanical garden...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sindelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed here in May of 2011 and was charged 3200 dollars for one night through Hotels.com. I was desperately looking for a room as there was a shipping fair in town and most hotels were taken. I was surfing on Kayak which gave me a price of 3200 NOK (Norwegian Crowns) which translates to around 600 dollars which is still a complete ripp off for this place. Hotels.com ends up charging me 3200 DOLLARS for the night on my AMEX card. I have disputed the charge 3 times but Hotels.com claims they are correct, although the price was displayed in NOK,. An honest owner of this hotel would have questioned the price I was given. Clearly honesty is not a high priority here. Now I am taking Hotels.com to court. And STAY AWAY from this place!

Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
5  Thank Milli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Visited Oslo on a flying visit but was pleasantly surprised with the facilities at the hotel vis-a-vis cost! It is newly built. I lost my luggage keys and was promptly helped by staff of the hotels at 11 in the night. Conveniently located with metro 150 meters away!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salgy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Nice people at the reception, warm atmospheres, I was traveling with my sister's family (2 kids 1y,5y), we all stayed well, room very silent and practical.
The Hotel is close to a museums and park, in few minutes you can reach the city centre.
A would define the hotel essential because you get exactly what you need.
Breakfast was good

Room Tip: internal room are very silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My boyfriend and me have spent the last three days visiting Oslo for the first time and stayed at this hotel. It is a very nice place to stay in. Clean, comfortable bed, quiet, with all the facilities that you need in your stay. The staff was polite and helpful. The location is ideal as it is only 15 minutes walking from Oslo town or you can use the subway and it is only tow quick stops. The Munch museum is also in the surroundings so you can go just walking. The room has a double door, is warm and has kitchenette equipped. The shower is nice also. We had a very nice stay in this hotel and we highly recommend it to other visitors as the value quality-price is totally fear.

Room Tip: The last floor rooms have a large balcony which is very very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

First bad impression is the awful parking price (210 nok=$45.). Try to park on the street: after 5pm, it's free until 9am. If you want to pay with your Best Western travel cards, it took them 7 days (1 week) to finally find out how to do it !?The apartment was clean and comfortable. Lots of noise coming from the street even if they advertise soundproof room. It was warm in the 2 bedroom-apartment with too heavy comforters and no air conditioning working because of the date (September 28th) so you have to open the windows (noise and pollution). The whole apartment is dark and the lighting is very bad. High pile dark rugs in the way. There is a TV in each bedroom with no chair. No TV in living/dining space. No pots and pans, dishes and silverware; you have to rent them for extra$. No oven. Forget about cooking. The safety box is not secured to anything. To top it off the internet was bad and no water pressure in the shower. The breakfast was good. The subway and groceries nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazylab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Nice hotel in most aspects, but lacks a few things that's important to me. The breakfast offering was sparse and the Internet connection in my room was VERY slow, which made it hard to work.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oslo
Gamle Oslo
Norwegian Hotel
Norwegian Hotel
#66 of 102 in Oslo
18 reviews
Sentrum
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#38 of 102 in Oslo
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
P-Hotels Oslo
#86 of 102 in Oslo
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kampen Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kampen Hotell

Address: Kjoelberggata 29, Oslo 0653, Norway (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kampen Apartment Hotell)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £63 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Kampen Hotell 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Kampen Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing