We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was very impressed .......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Kampen Hotell
Ranked #77 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at the Best Western in Oslo for 2 nights. After reading some of the reviews on here, I was a little hesitant about what we would find. However I was very pleasantly surprised! On arriving at the hotel was very clean and modern looking and had a good air of quality about it. The reception staff were more than helpful and check in was quick and easy. We had room 6009 which is on the top floor and had a balcony that over looked the main road. The double glazing is amazing though and you cannot hear anything at all outside. The room itself was very comfortable with a super king sized bed. The bathroom was spotless with a powerful shower. There was a kitchen area with a fridge, oven, microwave and hot plate. There was a tv and dvd player. What more can I say!!! Excellent place and would definitely recommend it. By the way, breakfast at 99 krone was great value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnneMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

The hotel is cca 20mins walk from the Central Station and not far from the Toyen metro station, so the location was not bad at all. The hotel is build next to quite busy road but the windows isolated the noise pretty well. The room was quite big, clean, small kitchen and sofa..fair enough to stay in this place even for a few more days. I haven´t tested their restaurant so I cannot comment the meals they offer. Wifi is free and works well.

Room Tip: If you want really guiet room you would rather ask on the reception if they can give you a room loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pavla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We got in late and had prebooked this place early in the day. I should have read the reviews better. The hotel was about 15 minutes or so outside of the city. We had to pay extra for our bedding on top of an already overpriced hotel. We traveled all over Scandaniava and this was the poorest quality property we stayed out and cost us the most! The beds were uncomfortable and there was consent noise in the hall all night. This was last October so I am not sure if management has changed but I would not recommend this hotel for a family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonKel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nice and clean room equiped with more than we needed (smal kitchen). Modern designed forniture. Nice terrace too. About 15 miutes walk to the center of Oslo. Also connected with bus and metro. If reception personal would be just a little more talkative, it would be really excellent!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juricaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

A little bit out from the city centre, so the hotel was available and not fully booked when everything else was, but the prices were very high, although being an apartment there was a microwave, sink, fridge (but no minibar), but it did have coffee and tea making facilities. There was some confusion on checkin as we had booked two rooms, but that was soon sorted.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drakeekard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

The reception staff were helpful and the hotel looks pretty clean and not far from the centre, also near the Munsch museum. The big no no for me though was the room with the air con not working and a fan shuffling warm air around it was hard to sleep, also the large kitchen had no cutlery, plates or cookware so what's the point??
The outside door lock was broken just the hole where the handle was.
A shame really as these are all fixable.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DibDibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel three nights in two different rooms during an unusually warm week in Oslo. There was no a/c in either of the rooms we stayed in. Though our rooms were said to be on the third level, they were really only 1 story (at most) above street level. I did NOT feel comfortable sleeping there with the window cracked open all night. Unfortunately, there was no air circulation, only one portable fan, and the bathrooms smelled mildewy, so we had to have the window open when we were there. I wonder if it is a "sick building", because I had terrible headaches and allergy problems the whole time I was there, which subsided after leaving the hotel.
Also, I found it awkward to walk from the bedroom through the "living area" to the bathroom at night because the floor in each area was at a different level (by only an inch or three). I don't know why they made walking between rooms unnecessarily hazardous. It was weird because the only place that didn't have a "lip" was in the bathroom. It would have been useful to keep water in the shower area and not over the entire bathroom floor.
The hotel location was convenient to the T-bane, the restaurant was pleasant, the desk staff was nice to us, but I don't think I can recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytravelerkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oslo
Gamle Oslo
Norwegian Hotel
Norwegian Hotel
#66 of 102 in Oslo
18 reviews
Sentrum
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#38 of 102 in Oslo
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
P-Hotels Oslo
#86 of 102 in Oslo
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kampen Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kampen Hotell

Address: Kjoelberggata 29, Oslo 0653, Norway (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kampen Apartment Hotell)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £64 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Kampen Hotell 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Kampen Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing