We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel, poor services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Kampen Hotell
Ranked #77 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 25 April 2009

We booked our junior suite the internet at 113 euro per day. The appartement was large but much free space was wasted in the corridors, so the bedroom was small, the bathroom was small, and the living room with the sofa unfold to a double bed was inexistant. The new furniture is bulky and made of bare wood so it is easy to hit your feet and knees into the tiny space. I agree with the former two reviewers on everything. The breakfast is very poor, wi fi was not working, so we had to steal a weak connection from the neighbourhood, and room service didn't seem to clean the room, just take out garbage and look for toilet paper - they didn;t even replace shampoo, so we had to ask in the reception.
But the hotel is brand new, in excellent condition and clean, thought i was staying in a friend's new trendy and a bit cold appartement, there is free parking around (a big problem in Norway), Metro and a Shopping Center just accross the avenue. The kitchen is fully equiped with everything one needs for a longer stay. There is a balcony in every room, and big windows let the sun in, but maybe the room will be hot in the summer.
If they just upgrade breakfast, the hotel will be superb.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STttttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Kampen Hotell
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2009

This BW Kampen Hotel opened its doors in 2008. It is a designer hotel, which means that it tries to incorporate modern architecture and client’s comfort. And indeed, with regard to the large rooms it succeeds. Each appartment has a wardrobe with safe, a kitchen with frigidaire (not a minibar), dishwasher, micro wave and cooking utensils, a bathroom with shower and washing machine, a bedroom with a large and excellent double bed, and a living. Both bedroom and living have an LCD-TV. All rooms in Kampen hotel are centrally heated and there is no individually adjustable airconditioning. Although our room was situated at a rather busy street, the windows are very soundproof. Rooms are very clean, which applies to the whole hotel.
The hotel is situated just outside the city centre, but metro and bus are within 100 mtrs. and to the city centre it is only two stops by metro. The bus brings you to one of the most interesting parks in Oslo, the Vigeland Park with the Vigeland Museum as its main attraction. I think there is no park with so many statues, some of them very beautiful in my opinion. Within 500 mtrs. of the hotel there is an excellent, cosy restaurant called Bistro Kampen. It looks like an old-time café and an exquisite home made meal is served here.
Breakfast is frugal, on Sunday rather bad (slices of cheese probably from the day before, some slices of meat of the same quality, jam and marmelade were not refilled). Really good are the six kinds of milk products and the fresh, sometimes still warm, bread. Dinner is not served in this hotel.
Staff is very kind and helpful.
There are some disadvantages: first of all the waste of energy! Every day the dishwasher is put into working for two or three cups and dishes and a few glasses. As hotelguest, there is no way to regulate the roomtemperature. So, although through the day the temperature in the room was very agreeable, at night it may be too warm.
Night and day there is much light in the corridors, which is not switched on/of by way of a sensor. Whereas in the sitting area in the living a light is really missed.
For those who bring their own laptop, there is free internet, for those who do not, there is no internet available. This is against the policy of most Best Western Hotels I visited.
Pros are: the size of the rooms, the overall cleanliness of the hotel and the price. We paid an average of 113 euro per night in this 4 star hotel. If you book for a midweek through their website, it is only about 96,00 euro per night.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwmpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2009

This is was my second stay at the Kampen Hotel (first reviewed below).
I still agree with everything I said in my previous posting, and can further add that the restaurant is still not ready. They had expanded the breakfast area somewhat, and now you could prepare your own sandwhiches for breakfast. Despite this, I'd still say the breakfast is the main weakness of the hotel. Also, the decision to put the breakfast tables into the lobby is somewhat strange, as whenever someone enters the lobby a lot of cold air co-enters and significiantly reduced the temperature of the room.
Rooms are nice, clean and have a really modern touch. The toilets are extremely small, but they provide you with small things like toothbrush etc.
I paid 900 SEK ($100) for the room, and this is definitively good value in Oslo.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

This was the first time that the hotel accommodation actually exceeded our expectations. It looked like a former 3-star hotel is getting one more star. Everything in the hotel seemed to be new. The garage was under reconstruction as well but we had no problem to park our car there. Despite ongoing reconstruction we had no trouble with disturbing noise. We got a room on the highest floor. It has a kitchenette (electric kettle, glass cooktop, microwave, big fridge and dishwasher) fully-equipped for small cooking (there was no colander for pasta but we managed). There was flat TV with DVD player, free internet connection, iron with ironing board but no hairdryer. I didn´t ask for it as it was too cold to go out with a bare head anyway. The bed was rather high but comfortable. Bathroom was pretty small but big enough for one person. It could have been a bit warmer but I guess that´s how it is in hotels in general.
The hotel is located right next to the subway station (called Toyen) 2 stops from the downtown. You can go even on foot.
Breakfast was good but very simple. It might be insufficient if you want to stay longer. In that case it would be more convenient to use the kitchenette.
Final note: you won´t find big Best Western or Kampen hotel sign on the hotel´s facade. The actual sign says Apartment hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Hekabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wimib81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank cristianabadiali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: À partir du 3 eme niveau pour bénéficier d'un balcon (le mieux étant évidemment d'essayer d...
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank misaki94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oslo
Gamle Oslo
Norwegian Hotel
Norwegian Hotel
#65 of 102 in Oslo
15 reviews
Sentrum
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Solli
#30 of 102 in Oslo
948 reviews
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#40 of 102 in Oslo
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kampen Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kampen Hotell

Address: Kjoelberggata 29, Oslo 0653, Norway (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kampen Apartment Hotell)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £67 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Kampen Hotell 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Kampen Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing