We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok hotel, but nothing more”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gaustad Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gaustad Hotell
Ranked #84 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ok hotel, but nothing more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Good size rooms and nice staff, but nothing to do in the neighbourhood. Only suitable for visitors to the hospital. You have to take the tram 10-20 minutes to have a meal in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nordboer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    21
    21
    7
    12
See reviews for
15
25
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We went to Oslo on the 27 August 2011 and spend one night in Gaustad Hotel.
The location is very nice, it's next to the tram station(no 17 and 18). It's so close that you can wait at the reception and look through the window at the station! When we arrived in the hotel a nice norwegian girl told us that unfortunately they don't have any more double rooms for us(I called 4 weeks in advance to secure one). They offer us triple room(3xsingle bed) As we were still not happy I decided to talk again with the girl. After some negotiation she offered us a free lunch next day :-) That make us accept a double single room(2 single beds put together) as we know food is very expensive in Norway.
Room - very nice and clean with a TV(most of the tv station are in english with norwegian subtitles so you can easly watch a movie in the evening). Bathroom very nice (but you can wait up to 5-7min till the hot water will arrive ;-) which is not a big problem.
Bed and the whole duvet cover+pilow - much better that the one I have at home! One of the most cormfortable bed I ever slept :-) Food: nice and tasty (eat as much as you can). Good bread, nice fruits. Reception: very helpfull, helped us find a way to ski jump Holmenkollen, kept our baggage for whole day for no fee.

Overal: very happy, hotel is 25 min from the center but the tram service is every 10 min so it makes a lovely place to have some rest.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The Gaustad hotell is located at the last tram stop of tram lines 17 and 18. The trams are located opposite central station. It takes approx. 15/20mins to reach the hotel which is directly beside Rikshospitalet.

When we first entered the hotel I actually thought we were in a wing of the hopspital as there were wheelchairs in the corridor and a disinct smell of disinfectant. We got checked in and went to the room where again that distinctive hospital smell was present.

The room was very clean yet the panic buttons located above the bed and in the bathroom weren't the most inviting.

The plus sides of this hotel are the breakfast and the staff. Breakfast serves up a good selection of hot and cold food and it's very tasty.

The staff are very helpful and friendly. On the morning we arrived we had just missed breakfast by 15mins but kitchen staff made us up a very generous breakfast plate which was gratefully apprectiated.

Also, the staff on reception were very helpful with directions, local info etc.

I am unsure as to whether I would recommend this hotel. While it was clean and provided good service, the whole hospital feel of the place wasn't my cup of tea.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Based in Rigshospitale in Oslo, therefore kind of tricky to find. Search for Rigshospitalet. Gaustad is opposite the main entrance at the hospital.
Very clean room with super beds, clean bathroom. Good breakfast and nice personal.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Annaresor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

After nearly 20 hours of travelling, we finally arrived at Oslo Sentrum about 6:30 pm on a Friday night. We knew to take Tram # 17 or 18 because of TripAdvisor help but had a little trouble finding the tram stop(only a minor delay). Anyway, the tram stops within 25 feet of the front door of the hotel and it is the last stop on that line. Yes, the hotel is next door to a hospital, yes, it is outside of the busiest part of the city; but to us, that meant that it was clean and quiet. We got to the desk about 7pm and were too late for the regular dinner. We were disappointed but the desk clerk said there were cold cuts available for 39 NOK(not bad for all you can eat). We made it to our room and found it clean and comfortable with a TV and a mini fridge. The beds were much more comfortable than they looked. We expected twin beds pushed together to make a "double" but they were more roomy than expected. One surprise was the shower that has no rim to keep the water inside the shower area. As we travelled through the country, we found that this is common practice. We thought we were the only guests in the hotel; it was so quiet but the next morning, breakfast was very crowded, including a group from a tour bus! Breakfast had plenty of food: eggs(boiled and scrambled), various whole grain breads(Norway has the BEST breads!), several fruits, coffee, tea, juices. Plenty! That evening, we made sure to get to dinner on time (5-6:30pm) and had shrimp scampi along with meatballs and I think some other hot entrees and the cold cuts with cheese like the night before. Dinner was about 130NOK which I feel was reasonable for all you can eat shrimp and for Norway. Since we were to leave early the next morning, before they opened for breakfast, they prepared a plate for us the night before, since breakfast was included in the room price. This hotel turned out to be perfect for our needs! We were always within 15 minutes from any part of Oslo we wanted to visit! The only drawback for us was the limited time that the restaurant was open for meals.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travlingigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Lysebu
#30 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Soria Moria Hotel
#53 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamle Oslo
Norwegian Hotel
Norwegian Hotel
#72 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Ulleval Hotell
#82 of 100 in Oslo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Thon Hotel Gyldenlove
#57 of 100 in Oslo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaustad Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaustad Hotell

Property: Gaustad Hotell
Address: Sognsvannsveien 20, Oslo 0372, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaustad Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaustad Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing