We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel”
Review of Saga Hotel Oslo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saga Hotel Oslo
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I echo all the positive reviews of other members. I loved the neighborhood location - just far enough from the center to be cozy and quiet, but just close enough to easily walk to all the sights/restaurants. It's really rare to travel and stay in a neighborhood that feels homey yet be in a hotel - they've got something really cool with this.

Modern room, very quiet, comfy bed - all was great. Nice breakfast spread. Friendly and helpful staff. Price was great - especially for Norway. Couldn't ask for anything more!

Close to the Frogner Park as well - my single favorite attraction in Oslo.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYC_ADK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

575 - 581 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

We spent five nights and appreciated the calm and quiet of this hotel's location. Our room was attractive but oddly configured with a sharply slanted ceiling that threatened to knock us out if we moved too quickly. The bathroom was tiny and missing a shelf for toiletries. The missing shelf was replaced after we asked twice.

We enjoyed the walk into the tourist center and also found the tram system worked well. One drawback of the hotel is the shortage of good restaurants in the immediate area.

Breakfast buffet is good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvalent9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Great hotel with friendly staff located near Frogner in Oslo. All depending on where you want to go - it is still located somewhat central in Oslo. Money well spent on a slightly larger room. Bathroom is still a bit small. Breakfast is good and served in the basement with enough space for the guests to sit without "fighting" for a table (like some other hotels). It is a 20 minute walk (or a short taxi-ride) to Aker Brygge. We will be back. Another plus is that they do have free parking:-)

Room Tip: Add a few bucks to get a slightly larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorwayPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Loved the Saga....even though the room was quite small...and the bathroom way too small....the design and furnishings were lovely and the staff could not have been more helpful. Was was also delightful was to be out of the center and in a residential neighborhood...we saw a part of Oslo that we would otherwise never have visited. Yet we were in walking distance of Vigeland Sculpture Park and just around the corner and down the block for a quick tram ride to the center. It was quiet and peaceful...if only the room was slightly larger. The biggest negative was the bathroom room....no shelf space and a tiny pre-fab shower that was very hard to maneuver in. But overall, I'd recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aretha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This was a great location for visiting the city. The hotel was in a quiet location but within easy reach of the centre of town, either by walking or tram. There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room which was a shame but as we were on the first floor (which was actually the ground floor) there was a drinks facilities in the lobby which was round the corner from our room, so at least we could get to these easily (just had to make sure you were suitably dressed before getting a drink). Great nights sleep as double bed was comfortable and we had separate quilts. Rooms were modern but on the small size. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Not a big hotel but staff were very friendly, polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Ground floor (which they call 1st floor) was surprisingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

I was surprised from the high ranking of this hotel. It is a very nice hotel, but its simply too far from the city center - around 15-20 minutes walk, and around 30 minute walk from the central station.
Breakfast was good, as in most hotels in Oslo,
Room was on the small side and so was the single bed ,however the room was indeed nice.

Next time I will stay closer to the city center ,the best area is somewhere in the middle between central station and the royal palace

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sagahoteloslo, Public Relations Manager at Saga Hotel Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Dear Nadav,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel.

I agree with you, if the central station is the City Center, we are a 25 min walk away. But only 10 min walk from the main street Karl Johan, The Royal Palace and the sculpture park called "Vigelandsparken". We enjoy the quiet streets around, giving you very nice sleep quality in Oslo. Away from the noice and traffic down town.

If you want to go shopping the largest shopping street is only 200 meters away, called Bogstadveien. The tram 19 and 12 is just a short two minutes walk from the hotel, they will take you to the National Theatre in 5 minutes and Central Station in 7-10 minutes.

We are proud of our breakfast, thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed it. Did you taste our homemade scrambled eggs and the pancakes?

The single beds at Saga are actually quite large if you compare single beds in Norway. We only have 1,4 meters wide single beds, the normal width are around 1 meter. If you want something bigger we can offer you our double bed, 1,8 meter wide.

At most we hope that you enjoyed Oslo and thanks again for giving us a review.

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Nice hotel, just outside city centre (15-20 min walk to the Karl Johan street), but close to the west end shopping street "Bogstad veien". Also close to the Oslo Micro Brewery bar with some of the best beers in Norway! Hotel is quite new with classic 4 star quality, but beds are to soft for me. Breakfast is very good and above average, WiFi (free) is also good as well. Free parking, which is unusual for a Oslo hotel, but it's because it's a bit away from city centre.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtbNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Grand Hotel
#11 of 103 in Oslo
438 reviews
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#18 of 103 in Oslo
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Hotel Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Hotel Oslo

Address: Eilert Sundts gate 39, Oslo 0259, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £88 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saga Hotel Oslo 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Saga Hotel Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing