We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very stylish hotel”
Review of Saga Hotel Oslo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saga Hotel Oslo
Ranked #5 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This hotel is a good mix of stylish decor and homeliness. We had a suite (i.e.bigger than the average European room) which was great. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were excellent.Good location in a quiet neighbourhood within walking distance of the city centre.

Room Tip: Go for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ardyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed here with a friend in late April. Very nice experience although the room was small -- especially the bathroom. Loved the neighbourhood and the easy commute into town. The Oslo pass was suggested by the hotel staff and it was so worth it. All transport, some museums included. But the best thing was the staff. From the desk to the breakfast room they were amazing -- even serving breakfast early when we had a train to catch. This is a good place. Just fix the bathroom.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank joanne7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I stayed in both a single room (208) during the week, and a junior suite (409) at weekend.

The single room was compact but perfectly fine and had a stone balcony outside its full-length opening windows (though didn't appreciate the cigarette-stubber out there). The decor was tasteful, and bed comfortable. The compact bathroom (shower room) was well-designed except for the lack of shelf in there, but the desk/ bed side shelf in the room was fine for my couple of nights. My conference partner stayed at the Radisson, whose impersonal rooms in its vast 22 floors were no better equipped, but much less tasteful. There was no tea/ coffee in the room, but it was always available complimentarily from the ground floor lounge. Breakfast was well stocked and with a good selection, and included. There was a little noise from the midly busy road outside at this first floor level, but sitting on the balcony was worth that cost as I always carry ear plugs for travel anyway. Really good balance of price and facility - but with a tasteful cozier feel.

The junior suite at the weekend was a haven of quiet in room 409 at the back roof-space as it has no adjoining rooms. There was some garden noise from neighbours since celebrations were taking place on the weekend we visited, but the three Velux roof lights were good at keeping noise out. The suite was obviously larger with the usual set-up there of two beds next to each other with separate duvets. The room was slightly odd in that the bed was in the little full-height space available, whilst the sofa and desk were beneath the sloping eaves (which cover 2/3 of the room). So banged my head a few times, but again a nice comfortable room. The bathroom was pretty much the same size as the single room with no bath - just as shower. That seemed odd as the eaves provided plenty of room for a bath were the bathroom partition walls moved - and that's one recommendation to the hotel. But again, the price was good for such a peaceful, and tasteful room with good floorspace (if much less head space). The bathroom here had a small shelf which still didn't really suit two people, but it was fine and we coped using space outside the bathroom. The desk space was similar to the single room, though in here having little head height - remember when getting up from its chair. There was space in the mini-bar fridge for a carton of milk, though it was hardly used since (with the travel kettle) since the ground floor lounge provided drinks without needing to request/ order them. The wardrobe in the junior suite was no bigger than the single room - and it was just adequate for a sole traveller. But in the junior suite once my partner had joined me, we did end up a bit short of space. There were plenty of wall hooks for coats though.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us. We'd been to Oslo before so knew that it was a slight walk out of the very centre of the city - but I cannot imagine anyone without mobility impairments feeling that it was far from the Royal Palace or main shopping/ cafe streets. In fact, it was well-placed between those locations and Frogner Park in a lovely tree-lined neighbourhood and its bordering tree-lined neighbourhoods. There is a small local park area nearby - and the trams 11 and 19 were both running (with partial replacement by buses at this time of visiting) to the nearby tram stop. Some great cafes and bars roundabout (but not within hearing distance). We both were happier in this location than previous visits staying right in the centre or near the central station. We walked from the hotel to the North entrance of the Nationaltheatret rail station for the commuter train (single price NOK-90) and express train NOK-170 (about 3 minutes different in travel time, but the express is more frequent) to Gaerdemon airport - with wheelie bags. But then we are used to living in a city where walking a mile or so is no big deal. The bus down to the contemporary water front also passes nearby, though we walked.

The service in the hotel was good - and though there were no safes in either room, there was always a friendly face at the front desk to take anything like laptops for safe storage. The only weakness with service during my stay of a total of 5 nights over 2 rooms was that when breakfast was at its busiest, the tables became scarce by not being cleaned up fast enough - but this was minor. I didn't notice any gym, but would far prefer to run in the nearby neighbourhoods in any case.

I'd recommend this to the traveller who is not intimidated by smaller hotels, and doesn't expect the kind of ingratiating deference one gets at 'top-class' hotels. But if you can open your own door, work a Nespresso machine, serve your own breakfast, then this is a great place. I think it'd good value. We'd both return here.

Room Tip: Travelling alone room 208 is one of the singles with a balcony at the road-side of the hotel. For pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngloAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Good business hotel. Modern, comfortable, nice rooms and a good location in a quiet residential neighbourhood not far from one of the main shopping streets. Good breakfast. Also very competitively priced for Oslo, where most things are quite expensive.

The room I was given was very cold, 15deg (in May) and the heating/AC did not work. I arrived late and therefore chose not to change rooms, though this issue made the stay be below expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sagahoteloslo, Public Relations Manager at Saga Hotel Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Alex P,

Thank you for your feedback. I´m happy that most things were positive.
The good part is that heating is i quite easy problem to fix.
It´s actually a heater in every room under the windows. The AC is runned automatically and set to 21,5 degrees. Hopefully the temperature was a bit better when you wake up?

In this sort of cases it`s very important to ask our receptionists. They could have turned up the heating for you or told you how to do it. Meanwhile we know that we did not tell you about the heating when you checked in, so in the future we will inform the guest at our infostand in the elevators.

Thanks again for you feedback. Have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Located in a quiet part of a lovely city. Only a short walk to the palace and main street, well connected with a tram stop nearby. Very functional, clean rooms, well equipped and a good size. Importantly, the bed was comfy too. All staff helpful and speak good English. Find the lift if you can, cunningly disguised with a city view painting lol. I'd stay again. Not cheap but then again nothing is cheap in Norway by comparison with other countries. Beer £10 a glass!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I echo all the positive reviews of other members. I loved the neighborhood location - just far enough from the center to be cozy and quiet, but just close enough to easily walk to all the sights/restaurants. It's really rare to travel and stay in a neighborhood that feels homey yet be in a hotel - they've got something really cool with this.

Modern room, very quiet, comfy bed - all was great. Nice breakfast spread. Friendly and helpful staff. Price was great - especially for Norway. Couldn't ask for anything more!

Close to the Frogner Park as well - my single favorite attraction in Oslo.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYC_ADK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We spent five nights and appreciated the calm and quiet of this hotel's location. Our room was attractive but oddly configured with a sharply slanted ceiling that threatened to knock us out if we moved too quickly. The bathroom was tiny and missing a shelf for toiletries. The missing shelf was replaced after we asked twice.

We enjoyed the walk into the tourist center and also found the tram system worked well. One drawback of the hotel is the shortage of good restaurants in the immediate area.

Breakfast buffet is good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvalent9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel
#11 of 102 in Oslo
411 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#19 of 102 in Oslo
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Hotel Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Hotel Oslo

Address: Eilert Sundts gate 39, Oslo 0259, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £74 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saga Hotel Oslo 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Saga Hotel Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing