We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely return!”
Review of Saga Hotel Oslo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saga Hotel Oslo
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
poole
Level Contributor
219 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Definitely return!”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This was a truly excellent boutique hotel, with friendly helful reception staff, very clean, excellent breakfast bar and reasonably priced. They also had excellent Nespresso coffee available all day! We had a superior room which was large and extremely comfortable with a good sized and well lit bathroom, hair dryer and appropriate mirrors. The large double bed was amazingly comfortable .
The hotel is situated in a quiet residential area of Oslo but with three good restaurants close by. Buses to all parts of the town are within 3-5 minutes walk. Be sure to buy an 'Oslo Pass' from the hotel which entitles you to all day transport on buses and trams and entrance to all museums and places of interest.

Room Tip: Our room was room 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    242
    48
    12
    6
See reviews for
102
372
51
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
126 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Lovely hotel- excellent rooms (on ground and 3rd floor. Bathrooms fine apart from the water from shower in what was essentially a wet room went all over (and towels a bit small). Single beds narrow but very comfy. Breakfasts fantastic- which was great given the price of everything else in Oslo- we made sure we had a large breakfast to negate the need for a good lunch....
Only gripe- our rooms weren't fantastically cleaned each day- our dirty cups were left each day (and one of our rooms didn't get tea/coffee making facilities)
Oh- and mind the carpet on the outside steps- not properly fixed- and I fell very badly cutting my head open when I fell- not the coolest arrival

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
623 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed 3nights in a superior room. It was well designed with a very comfortable bed and a reasonable size bathroom with a shower. There was not much shelf space in the bathroom. The room also had 2 easy chairs and a desk and chair, but no safe. Lighting was good. The wardrobe was adequate. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided but free tea and coffee were always available in the comfortable stylish lounge. The hotel also had a small cosy bar. Breakfasts were very good and we never had problems finding a cleared table. The staff were very friendly and provided us with good information on where to eat. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the modern furniture and fittings have been well chosen. The hotel is easily accessible on #19 tram and is well located between the Royal Palace and the Vigeland park.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side street or looking towards the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peach P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This hotel is a good mix of stylish decor and homeliness. We had a suite (i.e.bigger than the average European room) which was great. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were excellent.Good location in a quiet neighbourhood within walking distance of the city centre.

Room Tip: Go for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a friend in late April. Very nice experience although the room was small -- especially the bathroom. Loved the neighbourhood and the easy commute into town. The Oslo pass was suggested by the hotel staff and it was so worth it. All transport, some museums included. But the best thing was the staff. From the desk to the breakfast room they were amazing -- even serving breakfast early when we had a train to catch. This is a good place. Just fix the bathroom.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank joanne7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I stayed in both a single room (208) during the week, and a junior suite (409) at weekend.

The single room was compact but perfectly fine and had a stone balcony outside its full-length opening windows (though didn't appreciate the cigarette-stubber out there). The decor was tasteful, and bed comfortable. The compact bathroom (shower room) was well-designed except for the lack of shelf in there, but the desk/ bed side shelf in the room was fine for my couple of nights. My conference partner stayed at the Radisson, whose impersonal rooms in its vast 22 floors were no better equipped, but much less tasteful. There was no tea/ coffee in the room, but it was always available complimentarily from the ground floor lounge. Breakfast was well stocked and with a good selection, and included. There was a little noise from the midly busy road outside at this first floor level, but sitting on the balcony was worth that cost as I always carry ear plugs for travel anyway. Really good balance of price and facility - but with a tasteful cozier feel.

The junior suite at the weekend was a haven of quiet in room 409 at the back roof-space as it has no adjoining rooms. There was some garden noise from neighbours since celebrations were taking place on the weekend we visited, but the three Velux roof lights were good at keeping noise out. The suite was obviously larger with the usual set-up there of two beds next to each other with separate duvets. The room was slightly odd in that the bed was in the little full-height space available, whilst the sofa and desk were beneath the sloping eaves (which cover 2/3 of the room). So banged my head a few times, but again a nice comfortable room. The bathroom was pretty much the same size as the single room with no bath - just as shower. That seemed odd as the eaves provided plenty of room for a bath were the bathroom partition walls moved - and that's one recommendation to the hotel. But again, the price was good for such a peaceful, and tasteful room with good floorspace (if much less head space). The bathroom here had a small shelf which still didn't really suit two people, but it was fine and we coped using space outside the bathroom. The desk space was similar to the single room, though in here having little head height - remember when getting up from its chair. There was space in the mini-bar fridge for a carton of milk, though it was hardly used since (with the travel kettle) since the ground floor lounge provided drinks without needing to request/ order them. The wardrobe in the junior suite was no bigger than the single room - and it was just adequate for a sole traveller. But in the junior suite once my partner had joined me, we did end up a bit short of space. There were plenty of wall hooks for coats though.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us. We'd been to Oslo before so knew that it was a slight walk out of the very centre of the city - but I cannot imagine anyone without mobility impairments feeling that it was far from the Royal Palace or main shopping/ cafe streets. In fact, it was well-placed between those locations and Frogner Park in a lovely tree-lined neighbourhood and its bordering tree-lined neighbourhoods. There is a small local park area nearby - and the trams 11 and 19 were both running (with partial replacement by buses at this time of visiting) to the nearby tram stop. Some great cafes and bars roundabout (but not within hearing distance). We both were happier in this location than previous visits staying right in the centre or near the central station. We walked from the hotel to the North entrance of the Nationaltheatret rail station for the commuter train (single price NOK-90) and express train NOK-170 (about 3 minutes different in travel time, but the express is more frequent) to Gaerdemon airport - with wheelie bags. But then we are used to living in a city where walking a mile or so is no big deal. The bus down to the contemporary water front also passes nearby, though we walked.

The service in the hotel was good - and though there were no safes in either room, there was always a friendly face at the front desk to take anything like laptops for safe storage. The only weakness with service during my stay of a total of 5 nights over 2 rooms was that when breakfast was at its busiest, the tables became scarce by not being cleaned up fast enough - but this was minor. I didn't notice any gym, but would far prefer to run in the nearby neighbourhoods in any case.

I'd recommend this to the traveller who is not intimidated by smaller hotels, and doesn't expect the kind of ingratiating deference one gets at 'top-class' hotels. But if you can open your own door, work a Nespresso machine, serve your own breakfast, then this is a great place. I think it'd good value. We'd both return here.

Room Tip: Travelling alone room 208 is one of the singles with a balcony at the road-side of the hotel. For pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngloAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenahgen
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Good business hotel. Modern, comfortable, nice rooms and a good location in a quiet residential neighbourhood not far from one of the main shopping streets. Good breakfast. Also very competitively priced for Oslo, where most things are quite expensive.

The room I was given was very cold, 15deg (in May) and the heating/AC did not work. I arrived late and therefore chose not to change rooms, though this issue made the stay be below expectations.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sagahoteloslo, Public Relations Manager at Saga Hotel Oslo, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Alex P,

Thank you for your feedback. I´m happy that most things were positive.
The good part is that heating is i quite easy problem to fix.
It´s actually a heater in every room under the windows. The AC is runned automatically and set to 21,5 degrees. Hopefully the temperature was a bit better when you wake up?

In this sort of cases it`s very important to ask our receptionists. They could have turned up the heating for you or told you how to do it. Meanwhile we know that we did not tell you about the heating when you checked in, so in the future we will inform the guest at our infostand in the elevators.

Thanks again for you feedback. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#24 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Hotel Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Hotel Oslo

Property: Saga Hotel Oslo
Address: Eilert Sundts gate 39, Oslo 0259, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saga Hotel Oslo 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Saga Hotel Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing