We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saga Hotel Oslo
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Hotel Boersparken(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$423
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic Solli(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic Holmenkollen Park(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$238
US$218
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Radisson Blu Hotel Oslo Alna(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (887)
Filter reviews
887 results
Traveller rating
525
280
56
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
525
280
56
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal palacesushi restauranta quiet residential areaboutique hotellovely boutiquefrogner parksmall hoteltram stopgreat breakfastshort walkcity centreshopping streetbreakfast room iswithin walking distancebreakfast selectiontwo blocksnespresso machine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
548 - 553 of 887 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We started a week long trip through Norway & Sweden at the Saga Hotel Oslo, and the hotel was easily one of the the best parts of our stay in Oslo. The neighborhood was great, the staff was super friendly, and the breakfast was just fantastic. I wish I had the recipe for their lefse, because it was the best we had at the places we stayed in all of Norway! The hotel is well located, just short walks to the palace and Frognerparken, and still walkable to the center of town. We loved everything about the Saga Hotel Oslo, and hope to come back and stay there again. Tusen takk!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Having walked just 10mins into town we appreciate how well placed the hotel was in this quiet neighbourhood - the staff are charming and always with a smile and very helpful - great breakfast and very comfortably designed rooms. We write this 6 days later having travelled across southern Norway - the Saga hotel was the best overall and the cheapest and anybody who complains about details like soap dispensers has missed the point - we would recommend the Saga in a heartbeat! Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivekaNeave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I've stayed for a weekend and was disappointed by the fact that the room I have reserved online was not available when I arrived. Instead of an upgrade, I got a downgrade. Good thing the reception on duty was very polite and nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clayton_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sagahoteloslo, Front Office Manager at Saga Hotel Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Clayton,

We are sorry for your trouble this weekend. Actually we hade a problem with the former guests who broke a bedleg and therefore we had to give you another room. We where fully booked and could not give you any other room. I trust my colleagues deleted the upgrade and gave you the price you deserve. As a small and the only independent hotel in Oslo we always do whats best for the customer, but sometimes unforseen things happend and for that we are sorry.

Hopefully you enjoyed the rest of the hotel, a one star rating is never positive and a big disappointment for us, but if you ever return we will hopefully give you the room you orderd and truly deserve.

Have a nice summer:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Based on other reviews I was expecting a lot more from this place.
First this hotel is not central especially for those arriving by train.
My room was facing a busy road and was noisy despite double glazing.
I am not a fan of the all in one soap/shampoo dispenser, especially in a hotel claiming to be 4 stars. Sorry, but it is purely a cost saving measure (despite claims of being friendly to the planet)
And then we get to the minibar....how can you charge 35KR for a tiny tin of pringles or a small bottle of water?
Sorry but I won't be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldTraveller1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sagahoteloslo, Front Office Manager at Saga Hotel Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear WorldTraveller1007,

Thank you for your feedback.

You are correct about a bit increasing traffic in the area just now. One street near by is redirecting it`s traffic up our street due to maintanance. This will just be a passing problem. If you compare us to the noise down town we still are at a quiet location, but still, you were affected, and we can understand your problem. Next time a hotel on the outside of the town would have been an idea if quietness is most important? A city hotel have to have some traffic, and we are lucky to be away from the worst areas.

We are situated a 15 min walk from the City Center. The Central Trainstation is about 20 min walk from the hotel. 10 min with tram #19. Take one more station with the train, to the National Theatre, then it`s just a 10 min walk or 5 min with tram nr 19. I have to be honest, beeing located near the Central Trainstation and have a quiet street outside is a bit of a problem in most towns.

Regaring the Shampoo, we had small bottles before, but the content is the same and we wanted to contribute to the enviroment as most Norwegian hotels do. We started up with dispensers in 2012. We have small bottles in the reception, you would have gotten this for free if youasked the receptionist.

Hopefully you enjoyed the things we actually used a lot of money trying to be a four star hotel. Comfy beds, the breakfast, coffee machines in every room, free coffee at the lounge 24 hours, aircondition (most Norwegian hotels do not have AC), design and a personal touch.

In case of the prices in the minibar; Norway is a highcost country for many travellers. I can`t argue about that in any way. I still want to thank you for your stay and your feedback. We would welcome you again at any given time.

- The staff at Saga Hotel Oslo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Boutique hotel in quiet residential, embassy district. Great location, tram 50m away. Modern, smart decor. We had superior room which was quite spacious. Breakfast room in basement area very pleasant, conducive to chatting to other guests if so wished. Great breakfast selection. Reception staff friendly & helpful. Wifi very efficient in guest rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandpeg1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews