We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saga Hotel Oslo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saga Hotel Oslo
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Quiet and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Clean, small, quaint, nice neighborhood. We stayed for seven nights in August 2013. The staff was helpful and friendly. Cleaning staff did an excellent job; we sometimes didn't put the clean my room sign out until the middle of the afternoon but the room was cleaned when we returned. Great buffet breakfast available daily at no extra cost.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    238
    45
    12
    5
See reviews for
101
368
50
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Our family of two adults and one teenager stayed in the Saga Hotel for two nights in August. We arrived early in the morning and were happy to be able to leave our bags while we explored Oslo. When we returned to check in, everything went smoothly. We found our room to be clean, comfortable, and quiet. The room offered plenty of space, even with the addition of a cot. The bathroom was spacious too. We appreciated the quiet location in a residential neighborhood. We used the reliable tram system each day and found the nearby stop made it easy to negotiate our way. The breakfast was delicious. It had a large selection of items and everything was fresh and of good quality. On our last morning we needed to checkout before the breakfast room opened. The desk offered to pack something for us. We appreciated having some items packed and ready for us, although the take away breakfast was meager and minus any of the delicious bread items we had enjoyed in the breakfast room. We enjoyed the Saga Hotel Oslo and would be happy to have the chance to return for another stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My family of 4 stayed at this hotel for 6 days, checking in and out as we traveled around Norway. The hotel let us keep our bags there for a couple days as we traveled to Bergen which was such a relief.
We stayed in a suite as we had 4 people staying in one room and it was fantastic. The beds were super comfortable with soft duvets. The hotel is in a great location but in a residential area so it was extra quite which was wonderful. It was just like home. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We would definitely recommend this hotel for any one coming to Oslo!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCM232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We were a group of four traveling together. Booked our reservations online a few months before arrival. Reserved two rooms, one with two single beds and one with a double bed. Beds were comfortable and rooms were very clean. Check in was quick and easy! Stayed at the Saga for two nights in July 2013.

The hotel is within walking distance to shopping stores, bakeries, restaurants, the Royal Palace and many other interesting venues. We enjoyed walking around the neighborhood and exploring the area. Parking on premises is limited but free of charge, however there are plenty of free of charge options on the street.

The rooms are good size, very clean and the Reception staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is well presented and full of choices. The lobby was a nice place to regroup every evening to make plans for next day before going back to bed. We used the complimentary coffee bar located in the lobby multiple times while getting ready to leave on our next adventure.

I will definitely recommend this hotel to the most picky of my friends and family. I would certainly stay here again on a future trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ready2board
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

A good time to visit Oslo. Train ticket from airport valid on public transport for over an hour. Tram 19 from Nationaltheatre 10 minutes. Ingelborg on reception fantastic - room was great - quiet and easy access to centre. Breakfast is tremendous - varied and fresh. No hesitation staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet, large room. I found the staff accommodating and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Companion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We had no idea the hotel was as big as it is until we saw the other guests at breakfast. It is peaceful, in a residential neighborhood but still close enough to walk to interesting sights. The staff at the front desk recommended restaurants in the neighborhood and we were very pleased with them. Lovely breakfast array as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Small hotel with a nice atmosphere. Quiet neighbourhood close to the Vigeland park and just a short walk to the city centre. Nice rooms, except it was a big cold and we didn't find and adjustment for the temperature. Very good breakfast. Great service. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#24 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Hotel Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Hotel Oslo

Property: Saga Hotel Oslo
Address: Eilert Sundts gate 39, Oslo 0259, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saga Hotel Oslo 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saga Hotel Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing