We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally situated”
Review of Saga Hotel Oslo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saga Hotel Oslo
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The hotel is a short 30 minute walk from the ferry terminal and the station although it is also served by a tram from the station to within 400m. The area is safe, pleasant and quiet. The staff are pleasant,polite and helpful (our request for some food to take with us,. as we left before breakfast on our day of departure was met satisfactorily). Our room, on the ground floor, was a good size with a good sized bathroom and an excellent shower also with under floor heating. Breakfast was a substantial buffet with similar but not identical dishes each day. There is a coffee machine and kettle in the room and also a coffee machine in the communal lounge area.
We found the hotel to be within walking distance of many of the local museums although we took the T bahn to the Munch museum and Botanical Gardens.
If we could afford to visit Oslo again, it is very expensive, we would stay here again as it represents excellent value for money based on Oslo prices.

Room Tip: We stayed on a ground floor room along the Uranienborgvei side of the hotel which we found to be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 49-States-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

As many other reviewers have commented this hotel is clean, small and in a nice area.

The hotel is a ten minute walk from the Royal Palace and is close enough to the central area without having the noise that you’d associate with a hotel in a city centre. The bed was comfy and the staff very helpful.

The main sights of Oslo (Museums, Sculpture Park and Opera house) are all within a short walk. For those that like a longer walk (or a bus ride on No30 bus) the beach at Huk is a fantastic people watching spot.

There are a few bakeries/pastry shops within 5-10 minutes of the hotel which are great for breakfast.

Overall this is an excellent hotel and I would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenchenko8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Clean, small, quaint, nice neighborhood. We stayed for seven nights in August 2013. The staff was helpful and friendly. Cleaning staff did an excellent job; we sometimes didn't put the clean my room sign out until the middle of the afternoon but the room was cleaned when we returned. Great buffet breakfast available daily at no extra cost.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Our family of two adults and one teenager stayed in the Saga Hotel for two nights in August. We arrived early in the morning and were happy to be able to leave our bags while we explored Oslo. When we returned to check in, everything went smoothly. We found our room to be clean, comfortable, and quiet. The room offered plenty of space, even with the addition of a cot. The bathroom was spacious too. We appreciated the quiet location in a residential neighborhood. We used the reliable tram system each day and found the nearby stop made it easy to negotiate our way. The breakfast was delicious. It had a large selection of items and everything was fresh and of good quality. On our last morning we needed to checkout before the breakfast room opened. The desk offered to pack something for us. We appreciated having some items packed and ready for us, although the take away breakfast was meager and minus any of the delicious bread items we had enjoyed in the breakfast room. We enjoyed the Saga Hotel Oslo and would be happy to have the chance to return for another stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My family of 4 stayed at this hotel for 6 days, checking in and out as we traveled around Norway. The hotel let us keep our bags there for a couple days as we traveled to Bergen which was such a relief.
We stayed in a suite as we had 4 people staying in one room and it was fantastic. The beds were super comfortable with soft duvets. The hotel is in a great location but in a residential area so it was extra quite which was wonderful. It was just like home. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We would definitely recommend this hotel for any one coming to Oslo!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCM232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We were a group of four traveling together. Booked our reservations online a few months before arrival. Reserved two rooms, one with two single beds and one with a double bed. Beds were comfortable and rooms were very clean. Check in was quick and easy! Stayed at the Saga for two nights in July 2013.

The hotel is within walking distance to shopping stores, bakeries, restaurants, the Royal Palace and many other interesting venues. We enjoyed walking around the neighborhood and exploring the area. Parking on premises is limited but free of charge, however there are plenty of free of charge options on the street.

The rooms are good size, very clean and the Reception staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is well presented and full of choices. The lobby was a nice place to regroup every evening to make plans for next day before going back to bed. We used the complimentary coffee bar located in the lobby multiple times while getting ready to leave on our next adventure.

I will definitely recommend this hotel to the most picky of my friends and family. I would certainly stay here again on a future trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ready2board
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

A good time to visit Oslo. Train ticket from airport valid on public transport for over an hour. Tram 19 from Nationaltheatre 10 minutes. Ingelborg on reception fantastic - room was great - quiet and easy access to centre. Breakfast is tremendous - varied and fresh. No hesitation staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet, large room. I found the staff accommodating and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Companion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Hotel Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Hotel Oslo

Address: Eilert Sundts gate 39, Oslo 0259, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £77 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saga Hotel Oslo 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Saga Hotel Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing