We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Saga Hotel Oslo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saga Hotel Oslo
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Arrived late at night but brief impression was of an impressive small hotel. Staff were excellent, very helpful. The room I had was spacious and well decorated, the service at the small bar friendly and the breakfast selection great. Location is in a mainly residential area, a 500m walk to the nearest public transport. I checked out and left bags there in the morning and returned in the afternoon when I was made to feel welcome again. Got reception to call me a taxi and to printout documents whilst I used their wi-fi. It's not cheap, but nothing in Oslo is! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N_McL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    246
    52
    13
    6
See reviews for
104
381
52
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Saga was very clean, nice and quiet hotel. The breakfast was delicious and personnel helpful. Location was perfect for us. I will stay in this hotel next time again and really recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiina12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Hotel is very quiet. The staff is very friendly. Breakfast is a huge buffet and was delicious. The room is clean and very cosy. The hotel is located at 5 minutes by walk from center city (royal palace, national theater). All the taxis know the place. I strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The building is very nice, maybe a too over produced, it would have been nicer to have more of the original bones of it. The room we had was ok-sized, but the beds were on the small side and separated, the arrangement of the furniture of the room didn't leave much space to put things and the bathroom, though big and good, also had no proper surfaces to leave your stuff. There were no amenities in the bathroom (but there was soap).
Internet was very good.
The breakfast was fantastic, really good, full of options.
The location is good, not far from the center and quiet. The staff is friendly but not the most efficient. We asked how to get to the Viking ship museum and got an answer that involved several buses and trams. Just walking a bit and taking one bus was enough. They did not had spare umbrellas either. However, they do sell the Oslo pass (very nice option) and have maps (that you should take yourself).
All in all, for the services we got, it felt a bit expensive, but Oslo is really expensive so maybe it is ok in comparison.
There is only one annoying point of this hotel: the ventilation system of the room. The air is being refreshed constantly via some kind of device over which you have no control, and it is like sleeping on an airplane, really really dry air that is uncomfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ec_grs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have stayed in this hotel two times, while visiting my sister for her birthday, and it is a nice small hotel with big, clean, nicely decorated rooms.
The breakfast buffet is okay, and the breakfast area was a bit small, and a bit crowded on our last visit. Stil i would stay here again, and recomend it to anyone visiting Oslo.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visitorguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Choose as one of the best in Oslo by Tripadvisor. Summary: 3* hotel in quiet neighbourhood of Uraniaborg about 15 min walk from National Theatre station.
It's located in old, renovated building which gives some charm to it as it well done from point of interior design.
Otherwise it is typical 3* hotel with limited amenities, but economical price.
Breakfast was typically Scandinavian-bland, but coffee came from espresso machine.
Individual wi-fi access code provided to me didn't work on my iPhone and unfortunately hadn't time to change it.
But I was little bit shocked in the morning when discovered that plastic bed mattress is covered only with sheet and not cover (see picture)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, UK
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A great hotel situated in a quiet area and within easy walking distance to some excellent restaurants and bars. The rooms are all well designed with excellent bathrooms. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. Staff are always helpful.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#23 of 100 in Oslo
1,495 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Grand Hotel
#13 of 100 in Oslo
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Hotel Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Hotel Oslo

Property: Saga Hotel Oslo
Address: Eilert Sundts gate 39, Oslo 0259, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saga Hotel Oslo 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Saga Hotel Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing