We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and quiet location on walking distance from the centre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saga Hotel Oslo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saga Hotel Oslo
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
173 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good and quiet location on walking distance from the centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Nice hotel with a great service. Not the huge brand style hotels like SAS but small and with style. Hotel parking available for free! (saves you at least 20 Euro a day) and just 10 min walk to Vigeland park and 15 min to the royal palace in the city center.
Comfortable room with good bed and lots of pillows. Nice bath room.
Good breakfast and very friendly staff
An excellent place to stay in Oslo

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    233
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
99
363
48
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napoli
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Boutique hotel in Oslo, modern furniture, nice ambiance, located in a quiete are in the city. But: the room are too small, the bathroom is even smaller, you cannot move in it. When you take a shower the floor become completely wet, not adequate. They do not have a fitness center (should I run in the snow..?)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Giuseppe68Napoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sagahoteloslo, Public Relations Manager at Saga Hotel Oslo, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Giuseppe68Napoli,

Thank you for your feedback. A single room is not always as big, I agree. All our sigle rooms have 1,40 meter wide beds so the rooms should be bigger that most single rooms in our price range. They are around 12 sqaure meters big. An upgrade to a double rooom would fixed the problem for you if this was the biggest issue, easy for us to fix:) We are trully sorry that the room did noe meet your expectations.

In case of the shower. We have daily maintance and I would be really thankfull if you would tell us what room you where in. Not just tell it here at Tripadvisor, but to the reception so we could fix it right away. If you remember, could you tell us in an E-mail: post@sagahoteloslo.no ? That would be great!

We just bought a new hotel near by and we will, if possible, build a fitness center here for all our guest at Saga Hotel Oslo. Just 250 meters walk, then you are warm and ready to start the session.

We would love to take care of you once again, in a bigger room and with fixed shower.

Have a great weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
309 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed here three nights, & enjoyed it. Close for walking downtown (maybe 15 minutes through the park), located on a nice residential street. A few small restaurants & shops around the block. The hotel is stylish, attractive, clean, with friendly, helpful staff. Nice selection at the buffet breakfast. My room was had a single bed -- which happily was quite a large single bed, & extra long (so very comfy). High ceiling -- room was on main floor. Was very quiet the first night - not a sound to be heard from anywhere. The second morning, (a Sunday) someone overhead started walking around at 7 a.m., unfortunately -- but no outside noise. Some areas for improvement: combination of no slippers AND no bath mat (may be first hotel I've been in that did not have a bathmat) made for cold feet Also no lotion, etc. Relative to what you get in many other world cities, this accommodation is grossly overpriced, yet for Oslo, it's considered at budget-minded accommodation (said a local with whom I was meeting). [One thing to keep in mind when you're there -- double-check your door locks when you leave, push the handle down and really make sure. I was glad I have this habit - as once when it should have been locked, I gave the handle a good turn, & to my surprise the door opened.]

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WItravelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sagahoteloslo, Kundeansvarlig at Saga Hotel Oslo, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear WlTravelingirl,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We love feedback.

We agree, the singel bed is 140 cm queen size, and quite big for a single person. We love that you liked the bed. We do have bathmaths in our superior room or suites, unfortunately the single rooms does not. It is also aminites in the upgraded rooms, such as extra shampoo, conditioner and lotion. We use heating on the floor and a extra towel for single and double rooms.

In case of the closing and locking your door. It takes 30-60 seconds for the door to lock automaticly. This is for safety reasons, small children and also guest walking around in theire sleep. It will for sure lock automaticly.

One more thing: We do open a new restaurant medio March 1st. This is called St. Raw. We are happy to welcome you again some other time to try this out.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

The reception team and management provided the best service I have ever had in 30+ years of traveling throughout Europe and North America. Every visit has brought a smile to my face. The service at the Saga Hotel is unpretentious, yet when I looked closer I experienced remarkable people!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kvb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

The Saga Hotel is located to the west of the city and is relatively quiet. It is a bit of a walk to downtown but the tram is easily accessible. The hotel is nicely furnished and very comfortable. Wonderful breakfast. On the negative side, the room was very small and the bathroom smaller yet. The shower doors had to be folded back against the wall in order to use the sink. The hotel prides itself on being green which is great, but they have gone too far. The shower was so inadequate, taking a shower became an ordeal. My sheets became soiled and when I asked for fresh ones, I had to argue with the receptionist as they don't change sheets all that often. It seemed to be a personal issue with her. The hotel does have an elevator. The hotel was expensive even by Oslo standards. When we came back to Oslo after our trip north, we changed hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms on side street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aspiring1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

I chose to stay at the Saga Hotel based on all the great reviews here on Tripadvisor. They're well deserved. I'll start with the one negative issue. When I arrived at the Saga Hotel they had no record of my reservation (which I made via Expedia). Even with my printout and confirmation number, there was no trace of my reservation. So I had to wait a while for the desk staff to sort things out. Eventually I was given a room, but a slightly lower grade than the one I'd booked. Anyway, eventually things were sorted out and the hotel made amends so no hard feelings. But I would definitely advise everyone to phone the Saga before you arrive to confirm your reservation. In all my travels, this has never happened before.

The hotel itself was a real gem, though. Very stylish and pleasant. The room was fine, although it overlooked the parking lot which could be a bit noisy. The staff were super friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was the best *by far* I encountered during my three week vacation in Amsterdam, Berlin, Norway and Iceland. A really beautiful spread.

So I would definitely recommend the Saga. In a really nice neighbourhood, too. I'd absolutely be happy to stay there again (but call first!).

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the parking lot can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRBinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Don't be confused with other Saga hotels, this is very different. A very friendly welcome, and staff really helpful. If you have stayed at city centre hotels you will know that 1/ they are costly in Oslo, and 2/ end up being impersonal, small rooms and overall disappointing - normally because they know there will always be demand. The Saga is non of these. Rooms are good size, all the amenities you want. Work is being done to make the experience even better, like a new restaurant. There is a bar and breakfast room, and a nice lobby for work, internet and aircon in rooms. The Saga is what I would call a 'boutique hotel' - excellent for business travelers, as well as couples or visitors to Oslo. Walk to town centre was easy. Good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richday99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#24 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Hotel Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Hotel Oslo

Property: Saga Hotel Oslo
Address: Eilert Sundts gate 39, Oslo 0259, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saga Hotel Oslo 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Saga Hotel Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing