We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walking distance to most Oslo attractions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saga Hotel Oslo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saga Hotel Oslo
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Walking distance to most Oslo attractions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

In spite of this hotel being located slightly outside the main downtown area of Oslo, the location is actually quite perfect, especially if you want to avoid public transportation. The Royal Palace is just a couple blocks away, which is your gateway to the rest of the downtown attractions like Karl Johans Gate, the National Museum, the Opera House, and others. A slightly longer walk in the opposite direction leads to the lovely Frogner/Vigeland Park and its incredible collection of statues. If you continue walking past Frogner Park (and you don't mind a fairly long walk), you can even access the Bygdoy Peninsula attractions, such as the Norwegian Folk Museum, the Viking Ship Museum, and the Fram/Kon-Tiki Museums.

The accommodations are nice, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The complimentary daily breakfast was quite good with a number of food options, which helped mitigate the eye-popping cost of food in Oslo. Take an apple or two with you for the road.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the Saga Hotel, and we'll probably stay there again on our next trip to Oslo.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globalzeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    233
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
99
363
48
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Very nice hotel located in a quiet residential district north of the royal Palace. The rooms and facilities are recently renovated and the rooms are clean and reasonable size by European standards. For those that like to walk this is probably a good location although access via public transportation from the airport takes a little creative navigation. It is located some distance from many of tourist sites in central Oslo and for many this will necessitate use of the street trams or taxis. The breakfast is served in the basement and feels a little like eating in a bunker. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidUmstot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I don't often write reviews any more as I stay away in Europe quite frequently now and just don't get the time, but the Saga is well deserving of a first class review. It's in a lovely quiet, classy area of Oslo but walking distance from the town centre. I walked to the hotel from the National Theatre station in about 15 minutes and in the evening walked to the Royal Palace. There's plenty of good restaurants too.
Check in was very friendly and hassle free, my room was clean and well presented and the crowning glory was the breakfast, really first class. Bacon, eggs and sausage as you would expect but then fresh prawns, cold meats, fish and salad, wonderful bread and preserves and a huge array of herbal teas. I will definitely be staying here next time I'm in Oslo.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Misterfrostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Oslo has a little hidden treasure called Saga !!! This beautiful boutique hotel is not to be missed if you are going to Oslo. The rooms are pure luxury from the decor to the most exquisitely comfortable bed. Great little bar and lounge off of the reception area. Friendly and ultra service oriented staff rounds out the experience. I will go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StLuciaRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My partner and I have just spend four nights here in a 'superior room' and really enjoyed it. Some huge pluses and one or two niggles....
On the positive side:
- attractive period exterior and modern interior
- great location in lovely leafy neighbourhood - easy to walk to some key sights and trams stop close by
- staff friendly and helpful - know about local transport and nearby restaurants (and which offer Saga guests discounts)
- hotel was quiet - no traffic noise nor sound from nearby rooms
- breakfast excellent in both quality & quantity
- our room a decent size with a comfortable bed
- great wifi
But less positively:
- our room had 3 large windows and 3 small - small windows had no blinds nor curtains. This is June is Norway - it's light nearly all the time! The hotel offered us another room (they'd clearly heard it all before) but we couldn't be bothered so we rigged up our clothing to block out the light at night. Not ideal....
- room supposed to have an iron but there was only an ironing board. No irons available apparently. I'd normally not care but we were caught in a torrential storm and wanted to iron our clothes dry.
- twice one night someone tried to break into our room - fortunately unsuccessfully. Might or might not have been the hotel's responsibility.
- the only English language TV news channel was 'down' our entire stay - no big deal but would have been a plus.
While details like these are important in a hotel of this quality and price, don't let our niggles put you off the Saga. I'd certainly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Room 409 is on the top floor, a good size and well decorated but a) light streams in small uncurtain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinC132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Though the hotel is a bit out of the center of town, it's no more than a 10 minute walk to many great areas around Oslo. Rooms are modern and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious; a great start to each day. I'd certainly stay here again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin77494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The location is very nice - close to the city center and walking distance to Vigiland and some Marka starting points. Also nice atmosphere. the service was very inefficient. One reception person was often not aware of requests made earlier to another etc ...
Breakfast is excellent even though the breakfast room is a little small.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WizoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SagaHotelOslo, Guest Relations Manager at Saga Hotel Oslo, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear WizoTravel,

Thank you for your review. And we agree, we did have some new staff when you were staying at our hotel. They have now been working for some months and are ready to welcome you once again with better routines. I hope the comfortable bed, aircondition and our first class restaurant made the stay allright. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#24 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Hotel Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Hotel Oslo

Property: Saga Hotel Oslo
Address: Eilert Sundts gate 39, Oslo 0259, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saga Hotel Oslo 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Saga Hotel Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing