We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, nice location, great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Saga Hotel Oslo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saga Hotel Oslo
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, nice location, great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Saga Hotel is a great find. Good location (just minutes to city centre and Akker Brygge), nice rooms that are well-furnished, great breakfast and excellent staff (helpful with recommendations in Oslo). Quite residential area and hotel is clean, efficient and has a nice sense of style. In a return to Oslo, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    238
    45
    12
    5
See reviews for
101
368
50
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Saga hotel is wonderful. My girlfriend and I stayed for three nights in July. Although the room was a bit small and our window faced a gravel parking lot, everything was very clean and well run. The front desk was very helpful when offering sightseeing advice, the breakfast was above average, and the location is in a quiet and clean neighbourhood. The number 19 tram takes you direct to downtown in 10 minutes. Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Don't get room 102. It is right next to a gravel parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SACRAMENTO, US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Second stay at Saga Oslo in 2 consecutive years. Small well run clean quiet hotel in residential area of Oslo(near embassies and Palace). Easy to walk everywhere or get transportation. Great breakfast

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Darrow H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We had booked a triple room rather than having a separate room for our daughter, so it was a bit crowded for the 3 of us. But it worked, it was clean, comfortable, and had free wifi. There is a small bar in the lobby, where we had drinks with a Norwegian friend, and a restaurant in the cellar where they serve an excellent buffet breakfast, which is included in the room price. At night, the breakfast room becomes a sushi restaurant which we did not try, but we were told that it was quite good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnepDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

With its rather up to date Nordic deco, this hotel boasts a nice atmosphere away from the city center. The place is therefore well suited if you are looking for a quiet part of the city. To get to the center, One has to like walking slightly up or down small hills (approx 15 minutes)... Or take the city bikes (free cards available at reception) or the nearby tram.

The staff is young, charming, and always helpful!

Beds could be a bit more comfortable (too soft for me) and the bathroom a little larger...Breakfast indeed excellent although served in the basement

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ulysse5London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BD3856
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location - quiet neighborhood close to public transportation. We would stay here again should we find ourselves in Oslo. Management says the hotel is air-conditioned, but temperature settings are controlled by the hotel, not the guest. Our visit was in June, and the nights were quite warm. Our room was VERY warm and the down comforters on our beds certainly didn't help. Also, we had a room request that had been confirmed via e-mail that was not honored at check-in - although this matter was corrected with minimal hassle. Breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BD3856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Really great hotel with a slightly quirky decor. Nice quiet location but easy access to city centre and close to an amazing park. The best thing about this hotel.... the amazing sushi restaurant downstairs - superb food and service. Really enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: Go to the sushi restaurant downstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkavanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#23 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Hotel Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Hotel Oslo

Property: Saga Hotel Oslo
Address: Eilert Sundts gate 39, Oslo 0259, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saga Hotel Oslo 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saga Hotel Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing