We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy & Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Trendy & Friendly”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Great location, lovely room with nice decor and terrace, a bit small, but hey, I did not go for a superior room. The staff whas very friendly, and if you what an authentic, very good Italian meal, head next door to the Cantina Cortina. I am going to Oslo tomorrow, and guess what, I'm gonna give the hotel a call and ask for another night at the Folketheateret, my new favorite in Oslo...:-) Nils W, Norway

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NilsFromNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    467
    132
    58
    24
See reviews for
150
674
124
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Spent one night here on a business trip to Oslo - the hotel is only two blocks from the train station (be sure to take the train to/from airport) and is very close to all of the main shopping and attractions. The staff was extremely helpful and welcoming. We had to leave early in the morning and they had a breakfast sandwich ready for us at departure - a very pleasant and tasty surprise! They also offer coffee, tea and fruit in the lobby - very nice. The only disappointment was the room itself. I just didn't like the modern red and grey decor - too dark for me. Also - they don't have bars of soap or shampoo - just a dispenser. I couldn't get the blowdryer in the bathroom to work either and they didn't have one at the front desk available for use.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dysphorichousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FolketeateretOslo, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear Guest from Chicago,

We thank you for taking the time posting a review about the hotel on Tripadvisor. We are constantly striving to get even better when it comes to service and the product itself. Glad to hear that you enjoyed our "Early Bird" breakfast. This is an option for you who travel early from the hotel. We wish to offer a sandwich and juice as an alternative for those who don't have the time for the "regular" breakfast.

Until next time, we wish you a great and hopefully white Christmas!

Best regards,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Folketeatret is a great change to the typical business hotels. Design could be discussed, but comes out quirky in a good way and a nice change to the all the others.

Highlights are that the normal rooms are fine and the ones on 3rd floor have a tiny balconee for smokers, if you are so inclined.

If you upgrade to the the top 3 floors, you can get great value for money with nice 2 level rooms with a big nice balconee, perfect for relaxing and enjoying a night cap.

The dinner buffet is not amazing, but good for the price - Especially when traveling alone and you can't be bothered finding a restaurant.

The morning buffet is really really good, very nice quality for norwegian standards.

Even gym is incl. in the price.

Wifi very good and free if you are bonus member.

Last but not least, only two minute walk to the metro.

Stayed here 5 times - only one time small dissapointment, when finding a used cup and bottle from the previous tenant. All in all good for a change of 'scenery' and extra 'luxury' at low cost.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steenvagn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FolketeateretOslo, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear Guest from Copenhagen,

Many thanks for this fantastic review. We are happy to hear that you found your stay with us a bit different from other hotels and "luxurious". Your comment about cleaning has been forwarded and we will do our absolut best to make sure this won't happen to you or other guests in the future.

We hope to see you at the hotel again shortly.

Meanwhile, we wish you a fantastic winter and Christmas!

Best regards,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I loved the interior design and the service. Fresh, sexy and roomy.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aceman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FolketeateretOslo, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear Aceman74,

Many thanks for your fantastic review about our hotel! We hope to see you as a guest with us again shortly.

Best regards,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Showboxes roomw and the Wifi keeps going down every 5 minutes, beside they change it on a daily basis. Although the front desk reps were very helpfull I felt that the money paid is nor worth at all. The breakfast was okay, however when the food is gone, is def GONE. I had a situation where I asked for them to prepare some fried eggs for me and they said We ran out fo eggs. On a positive note, the location is perfect. Avoid it if you can.

Room Tip: Take the train from oslo Airport, It's 2 stops to central station. Cheap, clean and reliable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaureanoKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FolketeateretOslo, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for giving us feedback from your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that we did not fulfill your expectations this time. Without me knowing what room type you had this time, I can recommend you asking for a superior or delux room if you would come back to us. We have in total 8 room categories and they are all different in size and design. None of our rooms are single rooms with single beds, the smalest rooms we have, still have 1,40 sentimeter wide beds.

We hope that you will give the hotel another chance and come back to us again shortly.

We wish you a great winter!

Best regards,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammerfest
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This hotel is situated a few minutes walk form the main street, Karl Johan. It is close to some great shopping malls, and restaurants. The rooms are really nice and clean, with comfortable beds. The breakfast was good,.and the staff friendly. The only negative I have to point out, is that the check in and -out took way too long time, as there was only one receptionist, who had to answer the phone, and at the same time handle the guests. But, if you want an overall good hotel, without all the noice and fuzz that you get from the hotels at the main strees, this is the one!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammerfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FolketeateretOslo, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear Guest from Hammerfest,

Thank you for your positive review about the hotel. Our location is always very appreciated for guests who are unfamiliar with Oslo since we are right in the city center - close to almost everything. Regarding your comments about the reception - we will take this with us and do our best that this won't happen again. During hectic days we always have extra staff in the reception to serve our guests the best possible service.

We hope to see you at the hotel again and wish you a great autumn,

Best regards,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

loved this hotel for its location and trendy design. ideal for city centre, you can walk almost everywhere. also, being a clarion collection hotel, it offers an evening buffet and although it's not a 5-course fine dinning experiance, it represents excellent value and is substantial enough not to have to go for a dinner elsewhere. not many things are free in this expensive city, so make use of it. the only downside for me was a breakfast room. very dark and not a pleasant place to start your day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paprastai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FolketeateretOslo, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time posting a review about our hotel on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is important to us since we always strive to become even better.

Regarding our breakfast area, the restaurant is newly built and opened in the beginning of Ocober. We are still trying out some concepts in this area and we are happy for the new and more up to date design and comfort. I will take your comments forward to them regarding the atmosphere - our goal is of course that this space should give you a great start in the day.

Hope to see you as a guest at the hotel again shortly,

Best regards,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Thon Hotel Opera
#8 of 102 in Oslo
2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#11 of 102 in Oslo
821 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Address: Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer complimentary breakfast buffet and free WiFi included in the price. You will also see that we offer fresh fruit, coffee and tea all day long in the reception area, afternoon waffles or homemade pastries and a light evening meal served in our 7th floor lounge, this also has a nice adjoining room-top terrace. If you want to work-out you are free to use our well-equipped gym. The hotel is situated within walking distance from the Airport Express train, the central station, shops and restaurants.Our entrance is inside the Folketeateret passage were you will also find several restaurants and a theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing