We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very stylish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2012

The whole hotel is very stylish with a very urban feel to it. I was upgraded to a small suite and it was spotless. The bathroom was beautiful but there were a couple of lights on the mirror not working. The shower was of great quality. My bed was supercool, with some neon lights behind and underneath, which gave the room a night club-ish feel. They offer a light evening meal, which is simple but a very nice touch. The buffet breakfast is really huge and there was even a bottle with cod fish oil to help your omega 3 intake. Genius! The hotel is located only 5 minutes from the Central Station and is in a gallery where the Folketeateret (a theatre, of course) is located. I'll definitely be back on my next visit to Oslo.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PROTravelerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna F, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Dear Traveler from London,
We thank you for taking the time writing this review from your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the design and interior in your room.

Until next time - enjoy your autumn!

Warm regards,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 1,643 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

I stayed at Folkteatered only one night travelling for business. The hotel is close to the train station and bus terminal which can be reached by 5 minutes walk and is in an area with many reastaurants and pubs.
The hotel has been refurbished very recently and has the ambition of beeing an example of modern architecture which can be more or less appreciated.The statue of a traveler in the lobby is for example somewhat disturbing.
The staff where very fiendly and ready to help in any case. The only minor issue is that we had to ask for the free wi fi connection password while i would have expected to be informed at the check in.
My room was a standard single room small but clean and with a more than sufficient bathroom with a luxurious shower. However the main issue of the room was the complete absence of shelf or wardrobe where to put clothes. I was even wondering if i was not able to find it but there was none. It was the first time in my experiece of a seasoned traveller !
As far as the food I appreciated the light dinner served in the lounge with a reasonable choice of good quality dishes. Unfortunely I had not the possibility to eat breakfast as I had to leave at 7 am in the morning and as it was saturday the breakfast was served from 8 am which is strange because this would be justified on Sunday not on saturday.
In conclusion a nice place with some issues that in any case i would recommand for a short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MilanoSwimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna F, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Dear Guest from Milano,
Many thanks for posting this review from your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our concept of the complimentary evening meal served in our Lounge but I am sorry that you did not get the chance to eat breakfast. During the weekend we serve the brekfast from 08.00-11.00am as a part of our "sleep in" possilibilty for our guests. For those who leave the hotel before the breakfast opens, we offer an "early bird" option which is a juice and a sandwich that you can grab and go. I hope you got this with you from the reception.

We appreciate your comments since they help us in our strive to become better.

Hope to see you as a guest at the hotel again,

Best regards,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel september 21st-23rd...the room,though small by english hotel standards was clean, and well maintained...breakfast and a light evening meal was included in the price and both meals were great value...breakfast consisted of a full english and also some scandinavian dishes, if you eat well at breakfast you shouldnt need to spend much on food during the day as Norway is a very expensive city..light evening meal was also very well presented with a choice of a hot dish or a cold one....this hotel is very well situated near the train station.about 300 meters away...the saff were very helpful and friendly...check in was quick and easy...well situated to visit all attractions..oslo.catherdral...the royal palace..and the parliament building etc...plenty of pubs clubs and restaurants in the vacinity...i was very satisfied with this hotel and would recommend it to anyone travelling to oslo on a budget..i would definitely stay at this hotel again..we had a room on the 3rd floor and noise was not a problem

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dougmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna F, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback from your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us to others. To us, this is the best result we can get from you as a guest.

Again, thank you and we hope to see you at the hotel again shortly,

Warm regards,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed for 3 days last week and all was great. The hotel is easy to find, very close to the station and well situated for trams, taxi's etc and the rest of the city. The location offers great access to the theatre and a range of restaurants, cafes bars and shops.

I had a standard room and it was fine, nothing special but was perfect for a business stay. The hotel gym is great, nice feel to it and good choice of equipment. The restaurant attached to the hotel is superb with a fantastic breakfast buffet and in the evening the chef's n the open kitchen produce some really brilliant food. Overall the staff througout the hotel were friendly and very helpful.

I stayed regularly at the Radisson Plaza and this Clarion is far superior in every way. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna F, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Dear Guest from Dubai,

We humbly thank you for this amazing review from your stay with us. We are very glad to hear that we are your new choice of hotel in Oslo.

Until next time, have a great autumn!

Warm regards,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

What a great find, thanks to all the previous reviewers. As nearly everyone says the front of house staff couldn't have been more helpful, and the choice at breakfast is almost overwhelming!

I travelled with a friend and when I booked the room I specifically made a request for twin beds. When we went to the room we were presented with a double bed. The lady on the front desk was very helpful and managed to find a superior room (the last one) for an additional charge for the each of the nights we stayed, apparently unlike most hotels the doubles are unable to be split into twins. I have left a comment with the site that I booked the room saying that this should be made much clearer when booking a double room.

The complimentary evening meal was much better than I had expected and we ended up eating there most evenings, this made our whole stay in Oslo much more reasonable. The lounge area which is above the eating area is a lovely space, it's rare to stay in a hotel where there is a lounge area where you feel like you want to stay, so it was a shame that you had to leave by 22:00.

Finally, if I had to have a small grumble it would be about the room service, I thought the beds were made up to a very poor standard during our stay. However I could only give this hotel 5 stars, for someone who travels regularly to Norway and knows what an expensive country it is, this really was a fantastic find, and great value for money.When I am next on Oslo I will return and I sincerely hope the standards will be made.

Tussen takk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorgeChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna F, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Dear Guest,

We say tusen takk back to you for this fantastic review. We apologize for your experience with the poor standard of the room - this is not acceptable and your comments have been forwarded to the Housekeeping Manager who will take action.

Hope to see you at the hotel again shortly!

Warm regards,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Good locattion if not driving, central to most things

If you are bringing a car, ensure you park and be prepared to pay heaps or carry your stuff around the city!!

Reception at checkin-out were great

Really good breakfast, complex at hotel has restaurants etc. around it as well if you don't want to venture out, if you do go out then everythings in the city is close

What really put us off was the decor and room, bed was comfortable, wireless in room free but climate control and toilet floors heating made room really stuffy, in the end turned most things off!!

Lighting, painting, ambience was like something out of the 70's not our cup of tea but I amsure some will think it hip, chic or cool or a combination of all!

I would give 3.5 out of 5

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MadaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna F, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time writing this review from your stay at the hotel. Your feedback is important to us in our strive to become better.

We are sorry that the decor and design of the hotel was not for you - we hope that this did not ruin to much of your visit with us. Regarding the heating regulation in your room, the reception can help regulating from a central system and we would more than like to help you with this if you would stay with us again.

We hope to see you as a guest with us again shortly,

Until then, all the best!

Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Good location for business and pleasure. Kind and helpfull staff. The rooms feels new and fresh, all in all a very cool hotel. Cool Kate Moss statue right outside. Free evening meal and free cofee all day. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel
#11 of 102 in Oslo
398 reviews
THE THIEF
#3 of 102 in Oslo
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Address: Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £122 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer complimentary breakfast buffet and free WiFi included in the price. You will also see that we offer fresh fruit, coffee and tea all day long in the reception area, afternoon waffles or homemade pastries and a light evening meal served in our 7th floor lounge, this also has a nice adjoining room-top terrace. If you want to work-out you are free to use our well-equipped gym. The hotel is situated within walking distance from the Airport Express train, the central station, shops and restaurants.Our entrance is inside the Folketeateret passage were you will also find several restaurants and a theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing