We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Pool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel 14/2/2014

They upgraded us to a premium room, and gave us a bottle of champaign as it was Valentines weekend.

Room was awesome 724

Food was again, awesome

Staff were again really nice!

Would stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fearonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    467
    132
    58
    24
See reviews for
150
674
124
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Travelling back to UK from Geilo we had an early morning Oslo flight. Hotel short walk (even with bags) from Station and it couldn't have been nicer. Came down to check out at O'silly o'clock and there was a sandwich and coffee waiting for us, just the job.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumski56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one night – and that was enough. We expected more.
Our standard room (costing 150 euros) was facing into a sad looking courtyard. Double bed could had been bigger and TV didn't worked but it was fixed fast, in 15 minutes. Some lights didn't worked.
We chose to stay here because of the afternoon snack, evening meal and breakfast that was included in room price. Good way to save some money in a pricy Oslo.
Now afterwards, we think that the afternoon snack and evening meal was more like a joke.
What did it include? Well, afternoon snack: lukewarm and chewy pancakes (like those that can be found in any grocery stores) with strawberry and blueberry jams. Evening meal: things that looked like leftover from breakfast, such as cold cuts and salad stuff. So called spring rolls turned out to be fried cabbage rolls that weren't crispy at all. Tomato soup was tasty. Desserts were good, too: walnut cheese cake, brownies and chocolate cake with raspberries. Breakfast was okay, nothing special.
We liked the idea that lounge was open for everyone but like in many other hotels here they charged for drinks. Only water, tea and coffee were free of charge. They could had served at least one glass of soft drink, beer or wine with food.
The lounge itself looked like a canteen and music was played too loud. Kitchen door remained open and the lounge was filled with cooking sounds and smells. We felt we are staying in youth hostel.
Other downsides: coffee served free of charge in lobby tasted horrible. Luggage room didn't feel safe. Anyone could had picked any luggage there. Room door didn't get locked automatically. One has to show the key card to the door not only when entering but also when leaving the room! And no-one told about this. It was just written in the back of the key card. Bath amenities were poor: only body soap.
All in all, this was very average hotel that suits budget travelers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelboysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was undoubtedly the highlight of our short weekend trip to Oslo. Despite the amazing reviews, I was still blown away by the value and quality once I got there. The breakfast was taken seriously with plenty of options to indulge foodies and great consideration given for gluten and lactose intolerant hungry people. The "light" evening meal also felt like a feast. I don't usually eat at hotels and this one was better than most restaurants on town. If you have this kind of service then you know the rest will also be to your liking.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The hotel states that is walking distance from Central Railway Station, which it is, although trudging through slippery slush and snow with suitcases took some perseverance. But once there we were pleased with the immediate environment and decor. We were efficiently checked in. The room was just a standard one, so understandably it was small with no street outlook, but very smartly and appealingly decorated. A nice touch was the fluorescent sheep on the wall which faded after the lights were turned out. The shower had no door - why do they do that? - so the water splashed out onto the floor. Also no shampoo provided. These are not major problems.
The hotel is quite near the main drag of Oslo, but a bit less conveniently near to the port area especially an issue in cold snowy weather.
One of the nice things about Clarion is the inclusion of a "light evening meal" - the menu rotates through the week and really the term "light" is unnecessarily modest - we were more than satisfied with the quality and quantity of what was available. The lounge where it is served is warm and cosy. Breakfast (in a different location) was also very fine.
Comfortable and welcoming experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baudolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars Erik S, Resepsjonssjef at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing us here on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at our hotel.
To read your review plastered a smile on all our staff - be sure all of us read all the reviews we get. To know you had an enjoyable stay when staying makes us all very happy.

Welcome back any time.

Sincerely,
Lars Erik Stavik
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I have spent nearly 50 days in this hotel on business in the last 6 months and so I am probably more qualified than many others in commenting on this place.

The key USP of this hotel is the food - the sumptuous breakfast spread and the light evening meal - however for someone who has walked in to the restaurant on 50 different morning I can say that the variation in food is absolutely zero. In fact I can walk in blindfolded and know where the omlettes would be where the smoked salmon would be etc.

The light evening meal once again is good for occasional leisure travel who can save some money in a extremely pricey and gastronomically starved Oslo - but for frequent guests it is as unappealing as the breakfast. The cooks probably need a few lessons. Only good thing is the desserts.

The level of professionalism you expect from a business hotel is completely absent. Inspite of staying so many days in the past few months and nearing Platinum status (the highest grade) I have not had a single upgrade so far. The standard rooms are horribly cramped and you have to go to at least Superior grade to have some breathing space.

The loyalty program is one of the worst I have experienced with literally no benefits (all I get as a Gold member is one free soft drink a night!)

The art decor feel might appeal to some but the hotel is located in a drab part of Oslo where the immigrants and homeless congregrate

The less it is said about the laundry the better. I have run out of energy complaining about it to the manager of the hotel Lars Erik but haven't seen any improvement so far.

Having said it all I know that the hotel will keep earning good reviews primarily due to its location and free food service - but my next business trip will probably find me in Radisson

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the street. Try the lounge on the top of 7th floor - can be accessed from the di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelust72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Very nice hotel in the heart of Oslo. The hotel has a nice atmosphere and the room had perfect temperature, ensuring a good night's sleep. Not the biggest room, but clean and functional. The hotel is located in the center of Oslo, and if you are going to a concert/show you will find great venues like Rockefeller, Oslo Spectrum, Sentrum Scene within walking distance. Have a nice stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Erling W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars Erik S, Resepsjonssjef at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Erling,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor.
And you gave all some great tips for what to do when staying at your hotel - please contact us for any recommendations for shows or concerts showing in our surrounding arenas.
I am happy you had a good night sleep and could use our hotel as a base for your trip to Oslo.

Welcome back.

Sincerely,
Lars Erik Stavik
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Thon Hotel Opera
#8 of 102 in Oslo
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#10 of 102 in Oslo
821 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Address: Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer complimentary breakfast buffet and free WiFi included in the price. You will also see that we offer fresh fruit, coffee and tea all day long in the reception area, afternoon waffles or homemade pastries and a light evening meal served in our 7th floor lounge, this also has a nice adjoining room-top terrace. If you want to work-out you are free to use our well-equipped gym. The hotel is situated within walking distance from the Airport Express train, the central station, shops and restaurants.Our entrance is inside the Folketeateret passage were you will also find several restaurants and a theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing