We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Molde, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a stay!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Superb and friendly service, great location, stylish rooms, excellent breakfast and very good evening buffet which is included in the room price.
Been thinking about it and can honestly say that I can't find anything negative to say =)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    453
    128
    55
    23
See reviews for
140
648
120
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Monaco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Nice location , excellent breakfast, room was a bit small, maybe go for a superior next time. Staff friendly, great roof terrace. WIFI Spot on.
Slightly alarming were the amount of Gypsies outside on main street, although they were friendly enough, maybe because of the Drugs they were openly passing round.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank MonacoRouguetrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Well having stayed in Oslo numerous times in the past, this was the first time i opted for one of The Clarion Collection Group - they have around half a dozen hotels in the central Oslo area - i based my decision on two things price & extras such as the complimentary light evening meal - which is very handy as Oslo is famed for it's expensive food & drink when eating out.

The room was small - but for a single traveler just stopping 2 nights it was adequate. Was surprised not to see a wardrobe or a few draws in which to place clothes - (but they do provide coat hangers and hooks on the wall)

The mattress was very soft - this is common for Oslo - but for someone like me who prefers a strong stiff mattress - i dont get the best of a nights sleep.
Another thing to consider is you dont get full quilts to cover the bed - just large enough to cover the person

Room was very quiet & you could not hear other noise outside of the room.

The evening meal was fair & simple but really you only have one choice which is varied each evening - but even if you dont like the main course - the bread is really nice.

Staff were really friendly & good & based on that i would recommend this hotel to anyone & would strongly consider staying here again on my next visit to Oslo.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wooloomooloo
Level Contributor
381 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

As far as I am concerned, this place deserves its accolades. Efficient and friendly staff, an amazing breakfast, and an included 'light' dinner that I found to be generous and tasty. My room was on the small side, but we'll-designed and comfortable. Interesting building, central location. Highly recommended!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank dr_iggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars Erik S, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear dr_iggy,

Thank you for your review and kind words!

Next time you decide to stay with us, please rememeber that we have 7 different room types to choose from, I am sure we will be able to help you find your favourite!

Hope to see you here again soon!

Kind regards

Linn Svendsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel was a real find. The rooms are standard issue European-sized rooms. That is to say, they are small compared to rooms in the US, and without much storage space. But how much time does a tourist spend in the room?

That said, the selling point for this hotel,at least for US visitors, is the complimentary light dinner served buffet-style. Do not be misled, this is a quality dinner with soup, entrees and appetizers. Since even a light meal for 2 at a mid-level Oslo restaurant will easily exceed $100 (yes, it is true, Oslo is an expensive place to dine out at a restaurant), this hotel is well-priced. Additionally, the breakfast buffet was also outstanding.

I had stayed at the Radisson Blu Plaza in Oslo for two nights when I arrived in Oslo for business reasons. But the Clarion would have been (and will be) my first choice. Staff was friendly and informative, and highly professional. This is not a knock against the Radisson (see my review elsewhere), where the staff and breakfast were also outstanding.

Easy walking distance around the corner from the central train station with access to bus and tram transportation right outside the door, I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Oslo.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BVCX122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars Erik S, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear BVCX122,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay, and thank you for your kind words! It is great that you found the breakfast and complimentary evening meal satisfying, I am happy to hear you enjoyed it!

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Linn Svendsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I worked in Oslo for quite a while and have tested most of the hotels located in central Oslo. Folketeatret is by far the best hotel I have stayed at. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The interior of the hotel and rooms is modern and exactly in my taste. The rooms are spacious and and the beds are very comfortable. The dinner buffé that is included has a very high standard.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars Erik S, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Luckot,

Thank you for leaving your review of our hotel with us, and thank you for your kind words!

We hope to see you here again soon!

Kind regards,

Linn Svendsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahti
Level Contributor
142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is an excellent hotel in central location. Professional staff, small but comfy rooms, and a super breakfast: Organic food available all the way tasting fresh and delicious. And this is the only place where I have found cod liver oil shots available : ). If you don't want to walk around looking for a dinner place, the breakfast place is actually a bar and grill with some delicious food and wonderful wine in the evening. Very nice indeed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#10 of 100 in Oslo
767 reviews
Grand Hotel
#14 of 100 in Oslo
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Address: Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer complimentary breakfast buffet and free WiFi included in the price. You will also see that we offer fresh fruit, coffee and tea all day long in the reception area, afternoon waffles or homemade pastries and a light evening meal served in our 7th floor lounge, this also has a nice adjoining room-top terrace. If you want to work-out you are free to use our well-equipped gym. The hotel is situated within walking distance from the Airport Express train, the central station, shops and restaurants.Our entrance is inside the Folketeateret passage were you will also find several restaurants and a theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing