We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth its rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Ranked #10 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Its one of a the nicest design hotel during my Scandinavian trip. Front desk staffs were courteous at all time and helpful to share they local knowledge. I like most is the design of the lobby whereby someone like me from the Tropic would certain appreciate a cup of hot drinks after a cold & wet day out! The layout of my room were quite well planned with generous room area and glad to have a window overlooking Storgata. Amenities were somewhat lacking whereby I was expecting more and the only missing part for this hotel is the vehicle dropping area which is located at the rear end of the building. Not that convenient for families travelling with kids & luggages.

However the location quite well situated with a Tram & Bus stop nearby, good restaurants are aplenty within the building, money changer & local coffee store is just next to it. Also there is a mini market nearby for some shopping (caviars!)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 1,693 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good location right in the centre, very nice and helpful service. Our room was extremely small, too smal really, but the bathroom was comfortable.
The breakfast was excellent(!) with everything you could possibly ask for in a nice, rather dark, but comfortable large room which doubles as a very good restaurant in the evenings. We really enjoyed our morning meal there.
Also, the hotel provides tea in the afternoons; and a great early supper meal, which for us was really our evening meal. We took it on the outside terrace and it was very good.

Room Tip: Try to go for a bigger room. Everything is already compact but the smaller rooms are just too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank castorLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very central being near to the reataraunt a and cafés in central Oslo.
We chose a standard room on this occasion and were pleased with the high degree of comfort.
There were some odd feature such as no draws to put clothing in, thigh there was plenty of hangers and no tea and coffee in the room but 24 hour free tea and coffee I the lobby.
The breakfast was simply a feast of not only American/English breakfast items but Scandinavian items such as fish meats breads etc and all for free.
There was free afternoon coffee and cake plus a free light evening meal. If one wanted there was no need to spend any money on food but that would mean missing out on some good Restaurants.
Front desk service was good and the beds comfortable.
Really, why go anywhere else?

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The location is good, there is plenty of space in the rooms, the hotel serves evening food between 6 and 9 pm, I think it is nice to not have to eat at a restaurant every night, as I usually are in Oslo for business.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Vilde T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Superb and friendly service, great location, stylish rooms, excellent breakfast and very good evening buffet which is included in the room price.
Been thinking about it and can honestly say that I can't find anything negative to say =)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Nice location , excellent breakfast, room was a bit small, maybe go for a superior next time. Staff friendly, great roof terrace. WIFI Spot on.
Slightly alarming were the amount of Gypsies outside on main street, although they were friendly enough, maybe because of the Drugs they were openly passing round.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank MonacoRouguetrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Well having stayed in Oslo numerous times in the past, this was the first time i opted for one of The Clarion Collection Group - they have around half a dozen hotels in the central Oslo area - i based my decision on two things price & extras such as the complimentary light evening meal - which is very handy as Oslo is famed for it's expensive food & drink when eating out.

The room was small - but for a single traveler just stopping 2 nights it was adequate. Was surprised not to see a wardrobe or a few draws in which to place clothes - (but they do provide coat hangers and hooks on the wall)

The mattress was very soft - this is common for Oslo - but for someone like me who prefers a strong stiff mattress - i dont get the best of a nights sleep.
Another thing to consider is you dont get full quilts to cover the bed - just large enough to cover the person

Room was very quiet & you could not hear other noise outside of the room.

The evening meal was fair & simple but really you only have one choice which is varied each evening - but even if you dont like the main course - the bread is really nice.

Staff were really friendly & good & based on that i would recommend this hotel to anyone & would strongly consider staying here again on my next visit to Oslo.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel
#11 of 103 in Oslo
435 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 103 in Oslo
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Address: Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £131 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer complimentary breakfast buffet and free WiFi included in the price. You will also see that we offer fresh fruit, coffee and tea all day long in the reception area, afternoon waffles or homemade pastries and a light evening meal served in our 7th floor lounge, this also has a nice adjoining room-top terrace. If you want to work-out you are free to use our well-equipped gym. The hotel is situated within walking distance from the Airport Express train, the central station, shops and restaurants.Our entrance is inside the Folketeateret passage were you will also find several restaurants and a theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing