We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice near central station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good choice near central station”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Friendly check in. Hotel and its facilities explained by the receptionist. The bedroom was very satisfactory. Bathroom with shower only had under floor heating which was great - even in July! The evening light buffet meal was of a good standard. A limited choice, but hey hoo the facility is not meant for fine dining. The buffet breakfast was well presented, plenty of choice. Hot items were however a bit cold. That was the only negative during our 2 night stay. Would use this hotel again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JohnEDINV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    453
    128
    55
    23
See reviews for
140
648
120
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

With an excellent train connection from the airport to Oslo center, the hotel's location around the corner from central station (where one can find an excellent and reasonably priced wine shop) is perfect for travelers doing things on their own. The room was large and comfortable, but the bathroom was a little strange with no shelves and no shampoo or conditioner. However, the food made up for the bathroom deficiencies -- an outstanding breakfast, nice afternoon tea, and abundant, light evening meal all included.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flg1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The staff are excellent, food excellent, site great, really near town centre.
However the designer rooms fail miserably, first no place to do your make up ladies, nor to layout your bottles etc. Not enough space to hang your clothes. Lighting in the bathroom blinding if trying to make-up. Shower soaks the bathroom floor, the towel hangers just above the loo what a really stupid place. No where to hide cases. Clearly a designer's dream provided you do not have to use it! In our room the basin's drain was partially blocked and the lighting switcherie bizarre. Despite the room we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Wonderful food is included, evening meal and fantastic breakfast!! Really. However got charged a HUGE amount for 2 apple ciders at dinner without prior consent. NO SIGN anywhere at the drinks!
Ask prior to moving in How to convert bath to shower, there is no indication anywhere of how to do this, or where.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
104 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Overall, I would recommend the hotel and say that it was above average, but it was rather pricey and I would check before staying again to make sure I got a bigger room.

It's always hard to judge a hotel in a new place in a foreign country without a gauge of what can be expected for the price you pay. I know Norway is notoriously expensive and I was expecting to pay decently for the location, but the room I had was fairly unimpressive. It was clean and neat, but quite small. The bathroom was also small but exceptionally modern and very nice. I was hoping for a little more room for what I paid. Having said that, the lobby, breakfast area, and evening reception areas are all some of the nicest I've seen in a hotel. The breakfast included in the hotel rate was probably the best hotel breakfast I've ever had included, there were small fruit smoothies of 2 different types. The location was very good, a short walk from the central train station and pretty much everything in downtown Oslo.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights during business. Very clean hotel, comfy beds, friendly staff, easy connection to bus etc right outside the hotel to commute. Else the hotel is very central down town Oslo to you can walk to everything down town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 952abbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It's totally unbeatable, because it's close to everything you could possibly want and need on a vacation: the train station, the biggest shopping malls and the best shopping streets in the city centre, a whole lot of great bars around Youngstorget, and all the biggest concert venues; Rockefeller, Sentrum Scene and Oslo Spektrum. Right outside you can easily take a bus or tram to Aker Brygge, Grünerløkka and Majorstua.

The second best thing was our room. It was the biggest I've ever had in a hotel, even though it was a standard room with twin bed. We asked for a room with a bath tub, so I'm not sure if it was bigger because of that, but from now on we're gonna do the same every time we stay in a hotel (and I'll strongly recommend it!) The bathroom was very nice and separated from the toilet, which was great. Our bed had big pillows and a good mattress, so we also slept very well - almost too well, so we didn't get up in time for the room to be cleaned. Some days we noticed that the house keepers had been there, because some of our trash had been taken, but not all of it, and our bed had not been made. I wish they could have done their job a bit better, because it eventually became annoying.

When it comes to the breakfast, my girlfriend really loved it, but I thought it was poor. As I'm allergic to rye, there was no other bread options than white bread, and the organic cereals tasted like cardboard.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pernillemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#10 of 100 in Oslo
768 reviews
Grand Hotel
#13 of 100 in Oslo
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Address: Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer complimentary breakfast buffet and free WiFi included in the price. You will also see that we offer fresh fruit, coffee and tea all day long in the reception area, afternoon waffles or homemade pastries and a light evening meal served in our 7th floor lounge, this also has a nice adjoining room-top terrace. If you want to work-out you are free to use our well-equipped gym. The hotel is situated within walking distance from the Airport Express train, the central station, shops and restaurants.Our entrance is inside the Folketeateret passage were you will also find several restaurants and a theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing