We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Nearby Hotels
US$210
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$328
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$451
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Citybox Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Comfort Hotel Boersparken(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$551
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$228
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic St. Olavs plass(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,736)
Filter reviews
1,736 results
Traveller rating
987
515
143
63
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
987
515
143
63
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskate mosscentral stationlight dinnerclarion collectionfree evening mealfloor loungeincluded in the pricefantastic breakfaststorage spacesuperior roomhotel breakfastbreakfast and dinnercold meatsan expensive citytea coffeethe hotel offerssmall room
Filter
Updating list...
505 - 510 of 1,736 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Do not have anything to point my finger at !

Perfect service,perfect room and the location is supreme if you want to explore in oslo. Have already booked a New room when im going back to oslo for buisness later this month .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Tor-Christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Tor-Christian,

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful review with us! We are extremely happy to hear that you had such a memorable stay with us.
Everybody at the Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret are looking forward to welcome you back.

Best regards

Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a great hotel in a perfect location in Oslo. Easy walking from train station and to all sites. Chic and unique but well priced. The dinners were fantastic and the breakfasts perfect. Great deal for an expensive city. Standard rooms are very small for 2 people used to space, we upgraded and were very happy. Be careful of the nightclub that swings noisely till 3:30 a.m.! Ask for a quiet room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Janis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Jan1234562014,

Thanks for the feedback. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share. There is a Music festival going in Oslo this week (Øya festivalen). Unfortunately, this can have an impact on a few of our rooms during night hours, but the majority of our rooms are not affected at all. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay.
We hope you will come back to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. Here are my opinions.

What's good:
- Location: it's in the middle of downtown, easy walking distance to Karl Johans Gate, the train station, and lots of other places.
- Breakfast, afternoon tea, and dinner are included in the fare. Breakfast was very good. Quite a large selections of food: fruits, cheeses, breads, eggs (scrambled, boiled, sunny-side-up), cold cuts, bacon, sausage, various cereals, coffee, tea, etc. etc. We're pleased.
- We did not have the chance to try the afternoon tea but we had 3 dinners there. They were simple dinners, but we found it to be very convenient and saved us the hassle of having to find a restaurant and stuff ourselves.
- Within 5 to 10 minutes walking of the train station, even when we had to drag our luggage.
- The front desk staff and cafeteria serving staff were friendly and cheerful. Most of them spoke perfect English.
- The bed and bed linen were comfortable.
- The room was clean

What we did not like:
- The hotel does not have an entrance on the street. Its front door is inside a big building so it was a little confusing at first to find it at first when the taxi dropped us off. There was nobody at the door to help or anything. When we checked in, we were given a room on the 7th floor, 713. It was so small and had only 1 chair, so one of us had to sit on the bed. The room was hardly bigger than the bed. And there was no storage space at all. We later went to the front desk asking for an upgrade and changed to a bigger room, which had the same size bedroom, but an additional sitting room. That made a big difference. But later we found out from another couple that they had the same reservation but had the kind of room we changed to to start with. And they arrived later than we did. We were also told by another staff member that room 713 was the smallest room in the hotel and it was really too small. We were puzzled why the receptionist assigned the 2 of us to that small room which would probably be OK for 1 person.
- The room hardly had any storage space at all. We laid out suitcases on the floor.
- The towels were very stiff
- To no fault of the hotel, there was a construction site outside one end of the building where the hotel resided. It was pretty ugly.
- There is no central AC. This is probably not a problem most of the year. But we happened to be there in August when the weather was hot and humid. One staff member later told us honestly that the hotel does not have central AC, only a ventilation system, which does not really cool the place down. We tried to leave the windows open, but it did get quite noisy so that was not an option. When we first called the front desk to ask how we could turn the AC down, she said because of the hot weather, the hotel's power was running low so it could not cool the room down. She never told us there was no AC. We wish she were more honest and told us the truth like the other staff member did.

Overall, our stay was OK after the room change/upgrade. But I would not stay there again if we come to Oslo in the future.

Room Tip: Room 713 is very very small.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rulian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Rulian F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I would first like to personally apologize that your stay was not as seamless as it could have been and hope to have the opportunity to discuss this further. I would be grateful if you would contact me directly at wilhelm.hartwig@choice.no

Best regards
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a great stay. The best thing about this hotel is the food. They have breakfast in the morning downstairs and then in the lounge upstairs they have food in the afternoon which was described as a snack but is really a full buffet. And it's all free except for drinks. My one complaint is that the room was very hot because we couldn't open the window more than a crack and there's no AC or fan.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Anand R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Anand R,

Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful review with us! We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us, and that you enjoyed the food. We are extremely proud of both our breakfast and our ''light'' evening buffet - off course free of charge for all our guests.
We apologize for any inconveniece you might have experienced because of the weeklong heatwave over Oslo. We have to admit that this weather is rather unusual.
We hope that you will return to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret again in the near future.

All the best

Wilhelm Hartwig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We just spent a couple of nights there - the hotel is old and dumpy and lacks amenities such as - no conditioner, no body lotion, no safe in the room.
while the location is central, the street itself is terrible, and the view is of a dump.
no air conditioner either, and the room is stuffy. the only to open a window to get any air is to climb on the sofa and try not to break anything because the windows that open wide are close to the ceiling.
breakfast is nice - buffet style and generous.

Room Tip: supposedly we received a great room, but the view was of a dump across the street. it's quiet, but the area is not great.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Ma G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I would first like to personally apologize for your less than perfect experience with us. There is never an excuse for guest dissatisfaction, and this is certainly not indicative of the service philosophy we endevour to work by. I can assure you that I will go through your comments with my team of managers to make sure that this won't happen again.We hope that you will afford us the opportunity to redeem ourselves and show you the level of true Clarion Collection service that you deserve.
Please reach out to me directly prior to your next arrival so that we can make sure it is a flawless experience. wilhelm.hartwig@choice.no

All the best

Wilhelm Hartwig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews