We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value - Oslo, Norway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Ranked #11 of 101 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, great value - Oslo, Norway”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel was one of the highlights of our trip. The front desk reception staff are courteous, pleasant, helpful and professional. Although the rooms are small by Canadian standards, they are well appointed and the bathroom is large and spacious.
One of the surprises was the vast assortment at breakfast, Another surprise was the snack table laid out between 3 pm and 6 pm in the Lounge on the 7th floor and the supper from 6 pm - 9 pm. Supper included an entree, as well as soup, sliced meats, cheeses, fruit, salads and dessert.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is definitely a first class operation. It is within 5 - 7 minutes to the Train station / Bus Station, from which all forms of transportation arrive and depart. Because of its location, we were able to walk everywhere...City Hall, the Opera House, the Cruise terminal, the Akershus Fortress.

Room Tip: Request the 7th floor as it is the same floor as the Lounge for afternoon snack and Supper
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonMac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear RonMac2013,

Thank you for leaving us such a wonderful feedback from your recent stay at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret. Your comments truly inspire us to continue personalizing each and every guest stay. It was absolutely our pleasure to have you with us.
Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home-away-from-home next time you are in Oslo.

All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    458
    130
    57
    23
See reviews for
142
660
122
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I've been staying at this hotel for my past few trips to Oslo and Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret is always a welcoming place to stay.

The staff are so friendly and always helpful, the breakfast is great and the afternoon dinner is a good option when you don't want to pay a lot at a nearby restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x0M0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear x0M0x,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such great feedback. We truly appreciate your enthusiasm.
It is great to read that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. It is the true Clarion Collection hospitality that we try to deliver all our guests.We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I would comeback back if it had not been for the nightclub located in the same building as the hotel. I visited the hotel no a wednesday, but still there were a extremly loud DJ show until 03.00 and it affected all rooms in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Per B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Per B,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We really appreciate your comments. There was a music festival going in Oslo last week (Øya festivalen). Unfortunately, this did have an impact on a few of our rooms during night hours, but the majority of our rooms were not affected at all. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay.
We hope that you will afford us a second chance the next time that you are in Oslo.
Please reach out to me directly prior to your next arrival so that we can make sure it is a flawless experience. wilhelm.hartwig@choice.no

All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Do not have anything to point my finger at !

Perfect service,perfect room and the location is supreme if you want to explore in oslo. Have already booked a New room when im going back to oslo for buisness later this month .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Tor-Christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Tor-Christian,

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful review with us! We are extremely happy to hear that you had such a memorable stay with us.
Everybody at the Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret are looking forward to welcome you back.

Best regards

Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a great hotel in a perfect location in Oslo. Easy walking from train station and to all sites. Chic and unique but well priced. The dinners were fantastic and the breakfasts perfect. Great deal for an expensive city. Standard rooms are very small for 2 people used to space, we upgraded and were very happy. Be careful of the nightclub that swings noisely till 3:30 a.m.! Ask for a quiet room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Janis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Jan1234562014,

Thanks for the feedback. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share. There is a Music festival going in Oslo this week (Øya festivalen). Unfortunately, this can have an impact on a few of our rooms during night hours, but the majority of our rooms are not affected at all. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay.
We hope you will come back to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. Here are my opinions.

What's good:
- Location: it's in the middle of downtown, easy walking distance to Karl Johans Gate, the train station, and lots of other places.
- Breakfast, afternoon tea, and dinner are included in the fare. Breakfast was very good. Quite a large selections of food: fruits, cheeses, breads, eggs (scrambled, boiled, sunny-side-up), cold cuts, bacon, sausage, various cereals, coffee, tea, etc. etc. We're pleased.
- We did not have the chance to try the afternoon tea but we had 3 dinners there. They were simple dinners, but we found it to be very convenient and saved us the hassle of having to find a restaurant and stuff ourselves.
- Within 5 to 10 minutes walking of the train station, even when we had to drag our luggage.
- The front desk staff and cafeteria serving staff were friendly and cheerful. Most of them spoke perfect English.
- The bed and bed linen were comfortable.
- The room was clean

What we did not like:
- The hotel does not have an entrance on the street. Its front door is inside a big building so it was a little confusing at first to find it at first when the taxi dropped us off. There was nobody at the door to help or anything. When we checked in, we were given a room on the 7th floor, 713. It was so small and had only 1 chair, so one of us had to sit on the bed. The room was hardly bigger than the bed. And there was no storage space at all. We later went to the front desk asking for an upgrade and changed to a bigger room, which had the same size bedroom, but an additional sitting room. That made a big difference. But later we found out from another couple that they had the same reservation but had the kind of room we changed to to start with. And they arrived later than we did. We were also told by another staff member that room 713 was the smallest room in the hotel and it was really too small. We were puzzled why the receptionist assigned the 2 of us to that small room which would probably be OK for 1 person.
- The room hardly had any storage space at all. We laid out suitcases on the floor.
- The towels were very stiff
- To no fault of the hotel, there was a construction site outside one end of the building where the hotel resided. It was pretty ugly.
- There is no central AC. This is probably not a problem most of the year. But we happened to be there in August when the weather was hot and humid. One staff member later told us honestly that the hotel does not have central AC, only a ventilation system, which does not really cool the place down. We tried to leave the windows open, but it did get quite noisy so that was not an option. When we first called the front desk to ask how we could turn the AC down, she said because of the hot weather, the hotel's power was running low so it could not cool the room down. She never told us there was no AC. We wish she were more honest and told us the truth like the other staff member did.

Overall, our stay was OK after the room change/upgrade. But I would not stay there again if we come to Oslo in the future.

Room Tip: Room 713 is very very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rulian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Rulian F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I would first like to personally apologize that your stay was not as seamless as it could have been and hope to have the opportunity to discuss this further. I would be grateful if you would contact me directly at wilhelm.hartwig@choice.no

Best regards
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxboro, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a great stay. The best thing about this hotel is the food. They have breakfast in the morning downstairs and then in the lounge upstairs they have food in the afternoon which was described as a snack but is really a full buffet. And it's all free except for drinks. My one complaint is that the room was very hot because we couldn't open the window more than a crack and there's no AC or fan.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Anand R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Anand R,

Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful review with us! We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us, and that you enjoyed the food. We are extremely proud of both our breakfast and our ''light'' evening buffet - off course free of charge for all our guests.
We apologize for any inconveniece you might have experienced because of the weeklong heatwave over Oslo. We have to admit that this weather is rather unusual.
We hope that you will return to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret again in the near future.

All the best

Wilhelm Hartwig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 101 in Oslo
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#10 of 101 in Oslo
791 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 101 in Oslo
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Address: Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 101 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer complimentary breakfast buffet and free WiFi included in the price. You will also see that we offer fresh fruit, coffee and tea all day long in the reception area, afternoon waffles or homemade pastries and a light evening meal served in our 7th floor lounge, this also has a nice adjoining room-top terrace. If you want to work-out you are free to use our well-equipped gym. The hotel is situated within walking distance from the Airport Express train, the central station, shops and restaurants.Our entrance is inside the Folketeateret passage were you will also find several restaurants and a theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing