We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2010

General norwegian hotel service. (Pretty good, but not like Asian hotels in the same price range.)

Modern, nice design in the rooms. But they are small.

Close to the main railwaystation in Oslo, t-bane(metro), shoppingmalls and 10 min tot he main street, Karl Johan,

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eztini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

810 - 816 of 1,598 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2010

We were @ Folketeateret in Aug. and it was simply fantastic. Staff was so good, nice and friendly, the amotsphere is charming and cozy. We had a beautiful junior suite with a very nice terrace. The location is very convenient, close to everywere, and the lounge with free evening meal is an excellent value. We will come back for sure. And Kate Moss is always in the door, wich is pretty glamorous ;-)) Also a cool gym downstairs quite well equiped (nobody used it, was great)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juanmajv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FolketeateretOslo, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback from your stay and you very velcome back to us! We and Kate Moss will be here for your return. Have a great fall!

Best regards,

Johanna E Furenbäck
Front desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

This hotel is only blocks from the train station which is very convenient since I arrived by train and took the airport train from the station to the Oslo airport. I liked the look of the rooms - mine was purple and black - everything had its place and they made maximal use of the space. Only problem was that there didn't seem to be any AC. I tried to turn the thermostat down but finally just had to leave the windows open to cool off the room (it was the end of Sept and luckily I was on the 6th floor). I asked at the desk and they said to use the thermostat. When I said it didn't change the temperature in the room, the woman at the desk didn't seem to believe me. But I have a thermometer on my travel alarm clock so I know that the temperature didn't change. Breakfast was good and the light evening meal included in the room rate was plenty for me.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanPasadenaCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FolketeateretOslo, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2010

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review and your comments about the heating regulation in the room. We do not have aircondition, but airflow. Still, it should work to regulate from each room. Dissapointly it did not work successfully in your room and we will take action.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Oslo.

Best regards,

Johanna E Furenbäck
Front desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

brilliant hotel centrally located near the shopping centre and cathedral and easy to reach the main attratctions of oslo.The room was dark but ultra trendy and the iron was a bonus and I used it too.....The bathroom was clean and trendy with dark tiles.The added bonus was the coffee,tea or chocolate in the lounge with fruit all day and the breakfast and evening buffet were good too - we didnt need to spend any money on food or drinks all weekend and along with the Oslo Pass was well worth the money.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
1  Thank michele065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FolketeateretOslo, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2010

Dear Michele,

We thank you for taking the time to send us some feedback from your stay and thank you for a lot of positive notes. We are happy to hear that you appreciated the iron in the room and the afternoon coffee/tea, fruit all day and the including evening buffet. All our rooms have iron and an ironboard and the afternoon coffee and evening buffet is part of our concept here at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret - "Vi byr på" (eng. translation "It's on us" or "It's included").

You are more than welcome back to us and we wish you a good fall!

Best regards,

Johanna E Furenbäck
Front desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

I can not understand some of the reviews give by others, because some of them are the total opposites of my own experience. Maybe somebody just had a bad day and therefore everything gets negative? I just cant believe that it was that bad. Anyway, my experience was a great one. The hotel entrance is nothing to yell wow about, but once you get closer to the main entrance where the huge lady-sculpture is (WOW by the way!) it all changes. We got a friendly welcome by the receptionist and when we asked where to go for a late night snack she even had sandwiches for us. She said they were cheese and ham so we did not expect much, but in fact one had spanish ham with strawberries and salad, and the other brie cheese with fresh orange. They were amazing! And we got them without paying anything extra. The room was the sixe that you can expect from a hotel in the city center, and the bathroom was very spacious. I got a wow-effect again when I walked in since the room was really well designed. The funniest thing was the jumping sheeps that you could count up on the wall after turning the lights of (you have to see for yourself). The bed was quite tall, and very very comfortable. And in addition to the normal pillows there was 2 massive ones that was perfect when wanting to read or watch tv in bed. The minibar had the normal selections, plus a healthy choice of dark chocolate. Flat screen tv of course wich blended in with the design. The rooms are a bit dark, but that is a positive thing in a room where you sleep. I prefer that to some of the sterile hotel rooms that feels more like a hospital room than anything else..

The hotel is situated just a few meters away from the shopping area, which makes it easy to go back to the hotel with the things you buy. And it is also close to bars and restaurants. The breakfast is fantastic, even when you arrive just before closing time like we did. It has all sorts of healthy (and unhealthy) choices, and the room it is served in is unique. The designer has done a really good job with this hotel!

The evening meal was more that I would expect for something that is included in the price, and there is people constantly cleaning the tables and serving drinks as well. The food is placed on a buffet, and there is also a small dessert and coffee included. The room was a good place to relax in as well, with a cozy lounge and balcony one floor up.
In total the hotel experience was outstanding, and I would reccomend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in a fancy design hotel in the middle of Oslo.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissTravelFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This was my favorite hotel ever. The room was large by European standards and had an extremely comfortable bed. The bathroom was roomy as well and the shower had ample hot water and water pressure. Breakfast was varied, healthy, and filling. They provide a snack (chocolate croissants the day we partook) from 3-5pm, and an excellent dinner from 6-9pm. The price was right, since we didn't have to buy any food the entire time we were in Oslo.

The only thing they may want to change if they ever remodel is to give the showers a door - I noticed the water would creep out onto the rest of the floor, as there was nothing to hold it back. We just threw a towel on the ground and were fine - it didn't take away from the quality of our stay at all.

The location is good, too - we were able to walk to all of the places we wanted to visit, or walk to the ferry for those a bit farther away.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuroraCeleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Read this warning review and you won't regret it. Stay far, far away! I have nothing good to say about this hotel. From the moment, we walked in, the disappointment began. We have been staying in hotels for the last 2 months. So why is this the worst hotel we've stayed at in Europe?

1. Front desk staff -- We arrived around noon and was told after a long wait that there was no room available. The front desk clerk didn't even try to look for a room. The hotel is terribly understaffed. The worst part is that they don't want to help you. It seems like an incovenience when talking to them. Worst customer service period. Plus there is usually only one person up front so be prepared to wait a while for anything.

2. Room -- Smaller than my room in my London flat. Like a failed W Hotel clone. We had a "room" that was barely larger than our double bed. We got exactly 1 pillow and 1 set of towels though we were a party of 2. Staying on the 5th floor (out of 7), you can forget about sleeping. The bass and awful sounds from the club below don't stop till after 2am - even though we were almost at the top floor. Front desk staff had no alternative for us.
Toiletries=none. They have the do it all "soap" dispenser for hair, body, face, etc. Terrible. We paid $300+ for this nonsense.

3. Storage room -- There are no bellhops. Everyone stores their luggage in a communal room so don't bring any valuables. They do offer small safes but not that useful.

4. Food -- The free dinner type meal is a waste of time. It was not good and felt like a poor dormitory cafeteria.

5. Conceirge -- None. Can't be bad if you have none I guess.

In conclusion, stay far away from this hotel. I would NEVER book this again nor recommend this to anyone. Please don't fund this horrible excuse for a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Cmonkey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FolketeateretOslo, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2010

Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that we didn't provide you the service and quality you expected. You have given us some important notes for the future and we will learn from them.

Best regards,

Katri Inkerø, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#10 of 102 in Oslo
872 reviews
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
370 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Address: Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £134 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer complimentary breakfast buffet and free WiFi included in the price. You will also see that we offer fresh fruit, coffee and tea all day long in the reception area, afternoon waffles or homemade pastries and a light evening meal served in our 7th floor lounge, this also has a nice adjoining room-top terrace. If you want to work-out you are free to use our well-equipped gym. The hotel is situated within walking distance from the Airport Express train, the central station, shops and restaurants.Our entrance is inside the Folketeateret passage were you will also find several restaurants and a theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing