We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Devil is in the details”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Ranked #11 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Fancy interior details are in abundance in this rather new hotel, but sadly they don't always contribute to an improved suitability. My room was quite nice at first glance, but after having tried to settle for the weekend, I found that it was tragically impractical. Almost no storing place, a hopelessly slow TV set, and bad lightning (applies for the entire hotel). The blond girl at the front desk didn't do much to improve the general impression: grumpy and uncompromising. The breakfast was nice, even though they ran out of bacon, juice and butter ... The location is perfect, but I'd try another Choice hotel first.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
2  Thank Stian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 821 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2010

I booked for two nights at the beginning of December 2010 but because of an enforced change in travel plans (due to UK weather problems) we were very happily forced to stay here for three nights.

Before booking, I researched every hotel in Oslo and this one soon became my number 1 target. On the flight to Oslo a native Norwegian told me the Folketeateret would be her choice if she didn't already live in Oslo. That made me think I had made the right choice and having spent three nights there I am still of the same opinion.

Ok, it's not the cheapest place in Oslo but it certainly is not the most expensive either. Rather than rate this on outright cost I would prefer to rate the Folketeateret for actual value for money and my verdict is 9/10.

The hotel is just 5 minutes walk from the main shoppng area and also 5 minutes walk from the Spektrum arena - from our point of view that put this hotel in the perfect position.

The Folketeateret has an upmarket boutique hotel feel from the moment you walk into reception. It is so nice in the reception area that many guests just relax there by the fire and help themselves to the free drinks machine - the hot chocolate is really recommended to combat the cold outside!

The hotel room was also really nice. Ours was on the sixth floor and whilst it didn't have a picture box outlook from the window (just a rather dismal view into a courtyard) we weren't there to take in the view from the hotel. As hotel rooms go, this was pretty nice and just as I read elsewhere, the beds here are fantastic. The heating system was more than efficient and the heated floor in the bathroom was an added bonus.

Whilst in our room we could hear some distant noise from a music club and whilst it was not my personal taste in music it was not loud enough to prevent me from having a very good nights sleep.

The area around the hotel seemed very safe, certainly it was well lit and always seemed to be busy so I doubt it would be that attractive to the criminal elements you read about in reviews for other hotels. There are a number of seven 11's nearby so you can get supplies just about anytime you need.

The hotel breakfast was plentiful and varied and the evening buffet was actually better than I expected. OK, it might not be a gourmet meal but there was plenty of choice and only the most fussy eater would have a problem. My wife is a vegetarian and we both enjoyed a very hearty meal at the buffet. Considering the meals are included in the price of your room I found this added a couple of ticks to the value for money column.

I ventured up to the lounge for the advertised afternoon session of hot drinks and baked goods/waffles. This was pretty much a waste of time; the drinks machine up there is not nearly as comprehensive as the machine in reception and I didn't see any baked goods or waffles on offer during my visit. My recommendation would be to grab a muffin or a current bun from the breakfast buffet and save it for the afternoon but get your drinks from the reception machine.

The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. I can't fault them at all and thank them all for making our stay even better, especially Bjorn the night receptionist, who assisted us with a couple of problems on arrival and gave us some handy advice.

The wifi in the hotel was really good and fast. It's a slight hassle having to go through the process of registering each time you want to use the internet but the scratch cards you need for free access are readily available from reception.

Due to travel delays we arrived in Oslo too late to get the express train into town from the airport. We had to get a taxi and it cost an eye watering £130 - thank goodness it was covered on our insurance! On our way back to the airport we walked to the central station (which took about 5 minutes). The airport express train cost about £20 each and was really fast and dead easy - It goes every ten minutes, you walk up to a machine, swipe your credit card and get on board, it really is that simple! If there are two of you just swipe your card in two seperate machines and do the same to exit at the other end. For train times check out the train operators website at www.flytoget.no

We will definitely stay at the Folketeateret when we next visit Oslo. The 360 camera tour on the hotel website gives you a very accurate insight into what you can expect - check it out for yourself and I hope your trip to Oslo is as good as ours.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank The-Bray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FolketeateretOslo, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences at the hotel. We are very glad that you liked the hotel and that you wish to come back to us, Bjørn especially. Name dropping is always exciting and he was very happy that you appreciated his service. You are more than welcome back to us!

Best regards,
Johanna Furenbäck
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We stayed for 1 weekend at the end of November '10 for my 21st birthday and would most deffinetly be returning in the near future...
The people and the atmosphere make you feel like you are right at home.
Breakfast and Evening Meals were fantastic and no hidden charges anywhere!
All through the day they make you feel very welcome and satisfied with free hot drinks machine and sweet snacks and fruit to keep your energy going in the cold :)
Right in the middle of the best, most beautiful city we have ever been to and a bus/metro ride away from everywhere (although being in this Hotel doesn't feel like you are in the hustle and bustle but more like peace and quiet)
The hotel is in the perfect location and i couldn't think of a better place to spend a weekend away...so relaxing but still so much to do!! never a dull moment...
We hope to return soon!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmega1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We checked in satuarday afternoon in this charming new hotel in the heart of Oslo.

The check in was quicke and very serviceminded and proffesional, and took only a few minutes.
We got a fantastic room in the 7th floor.
The staff was friendly and serviceminded and we did not miss anything at our stay in this hotel.
We can truly recomend to stay here for any occations.

Very pleased guest

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svein1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FolketeateretOslo, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2010

Dear "Very pleased guest",

We thank you for a fantastic review! We are glad to hear that our concept of giving "the little extra" to our guests it appreciated and acknowledged. Hope to see you again!

Best regards,

Johanna E Furenbäck
Front desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

General norwegian hotel service. (Pretty good, but not like Asian hotels in the same price range.)

Modern, nice design in the rooms. But they are small.

Close to the main railwaystation in Oslo, t-bane(metro), shoppingmalls and 10 min tot he main street, Karl Johan,

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eztini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We were @ Folketeateret in Aug. and it was simply fantastic. Staff was so good, nice and friendly, the amotsphere is charming and cozy. We had a beautiful junior suite with a very nice terrace. The location is very convenient, close to everywere, and the lounge with free evening meal is an excellent value. We will come back for sure. And Kate Moss is always in the door, wich is pretty glamorous ;-)) Also a cool gym downstairs quite well equiped (nobody used it, was great)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juanmajv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FolketeateretOslo, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback from your stay and you very velcome back to us! We and Kate Moss will be here for your return. Have a great fall!

Best regards,

Johanna E Furenbäck
Front desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

This hotel is only blocks from the train station which is very convenient since I arrived by train and took the airport train from the station to the Oslo airport. I liked the look of the rooms - mine was purple and black - everything had its place and they made maximal use of the space. Only problem was that there didn't seem to be any AC. I tried to turn the thermostat down but finally just had to leave the windows open to cool off the room (it was the end of Sept and luckily I was on the 6th floor). I asked at the desk and they said to use the thermostat. When I said it didn't change the temperature in the room, the woman at the desk didn't seem to believe me. But I have a thermometer on my travel alarm clock so I know that the temperature didn't change. Breakfast was good and the light evening meal included in the room rate was plenty for me.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanPasadenaCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FolketeateretOslo, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2010

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review and your comments about the heating regulation in the room. We do not have aircondition, but airflow. Still, it should work to regulate from each room. Dissapointly it did not work successfully in your room and we will take action.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Oslo.

Best regards,

Johanna E Furenbäck
Front desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
381 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Address: Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £130 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer complimentary breakfast buffet and free WiFi included in the price. You will also see that we offer fresh fruit, coffee and tea all day long in the reception area, afternoon waffles or homemade pastries and a light evening meal served in our 7th floor lounge, this also has a nice adjoining room-top terrace. If you want to work-out you are free to use our well-equipped gym. The hotel is situated within walking distance from the Airport Express train, the central station, shops and restaurants.Our entrance is inside the Folketeateret passage were you will also find several restaurants and a theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing