We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern rooms but bad location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Ullevaal Stadion
Ranked #49 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2010

We stayed in this hotel within 2 weeks of it opening. Because it was so new, our cab driver couldn't find it, and when he did, we were very disappointed. It feels very isolated, and there's not much you can walk to from it. There is a metro supposedly nearby, but it didn't sound very convenient to us.

We arrived at the hotel at 1:30 a.m. after a long flight and bus drive. We were told at Reception that the computer was updating and that they wouldn't be able to check us in. Needless to say, I wasn't happy about that, and the man finally stopped the updating to get us checked in. The room was modern and clean, but the Free Wifi that was supposed to be available in the hotel did not work in our room. They suggested we use it in the lobby, but it's very loud and uncomfortable in there so that didn't seem like a good option.

We requested to be transferred to another Thon Hotel that could provide us with Wifi in our room like we paid for. The woman in Reception told us she was trying to find us something, but then proceeded to do nothing until we finally asked her again 40 minutes later if she had made any progress. Only then did she make some calls and find us another room.

For one of the first guests, we were sorely disappointed in this hotel. The service and location were terrible. Public transport in Oslo is very expensive, so spend a little bit more money and get somewhere closer to the center of the city. And if you do decide to stay here, call and confirm that the Wifi is working before you book.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacq2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngvildAA, Reservation Manager at Thon Hotel Ullevaal Stadion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2010

Dear Guest,



We are very sorry that you were not happy with the stay in our hotel. For your information did we have problems with the delivery of our WiFi internet in all the rooms and we got this fixed two and a half weeks after opening, but I am very sorry that it did not work during your stay. I have talked to the receptionist that was working when you asked to switch hotel, and she had sent out an e-mail to other hotels when you asked her the first time, but had not gotten any answer and started making calls when you asked her again. But I agree that it should not have been necessary to ask her twice, and I apologises for that. When it comes to the location it is not much we can do about that, but the subway is only 2 min. walk from the hotel and takes you to the city centre in 7 minutes. We are also close to the woods and beautiful recreational areas and would be a very good hotel for guest who are searching for both an urban and a natural experience. But I understand that we where not the right hotel for you propose.

Hope that you had a nice stay in Oslo despite this and that you are left with good memories from you trip.



Best regards,



Ingvild Aasvangen

Reservation manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Thon Hotel Ullevaal Stadion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Thank amalieovangen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannes_go1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1969Aries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Marie F, Kundeansvarlig at Thon Hotel Ullevaal Stadion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HVH007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Marie F, Kundeansvarlig at Thon Hotel Ullevaal Stadion, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: ta flybussen fra Gardermoen. det er enklest og billigst om man ber om det hos hotellet.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trond E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Marie F, Kundeansvarlig at Thon Hotel Ullevaal Stadion, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Erik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Marie F, Kundeansvarlig at Thon Hotel Ullevaal Stadion, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Nydalen, Oslo
3.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Linne
Thon Hotel Linne
#62 of 102 in Oslo
147 reviews
2.0 mi away
Scandic Vulkan
Scandic Vulkan
#25 of 102 in Oslo
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Oslo Alna
3.3 mi away
Soria Moria Hotel
Soria Moria Hotel
#28 of 102 in Oslo
197 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Hotel 33
Quality Hotel 33
#46 of 102 in Oslo
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Ullevaal Stadion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Ullevaal Stadion

Address: Sognsveien 77c, Oslo 0855, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £100 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Ullevaal Stadion 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is the natural choice if you like to stay in calm area close to Oslo City Center. Or if you are going to watch a football match at Ullevaal Stadion or are planning to attend a seminar at the Ullevaal Business Class. The hotel is also close to the University of Oslo, Blindern, and to four main hospitals in Oslo Easy access to public transport makes it easy to get from the hotel to Oslo City Centre,a distance of only 8 minutes, with its shopping districts, tourist attractions, bars, restaurants and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thon Hotel Ullevaal Stadion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing