We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good Service, at a Price”

Ruffino Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #5 of 1,446 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ruffino is an authentic Italian restaurant that smells, tastes and feels Italian. The menu includes a large selection of antipasti, home-made pasta dishes, seafood and meat dishes, as well as dessert favourites like fondente, tiramisu and gelato. All dishes on Ruffino's menu are available as children's portions for half price. The restaurant is located in Henrik Ibsens gate, close to the Royal Palace and Karl Johans gate.
Boston. MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service, at a Price”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I went to Ruffino recently after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. The food was good and the service very good.

We started with a salad which was small, simple, and way over priced. The pastas were very good as was the desert. The pastas could have been warmer.

Wine, ouch, but this is Norway. A bottle of house wine was about $80.

I was there on business and was not spending my money. If I was, I would have sought out other options. Oslo, and Norway, are notoriously expensive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,025
    368
    68
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eccellente”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My girl and I had a wonderful time at Ruffino. The service was world class and the seabass starter was really extraordinary. They are very proffesional, but we also felt like we were invited into an italian family. I dont know if the restaurant is managed by a family, but I wouldn't be surprised if this is a family run restaurant with generations of experience. We will be back very soon and we will gladly recommend Ruffino to anyone who plan an evening out in Oslo.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
112 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good surprise in Oslo”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We went to Ruffino restaurant in Oslo and it was an excellent choice. The restaurant was near our hotel and we decided to go walking even without having booked before. The restaurant was full but we got a table. This is a family restaurant and the service is very attentive. The food was very good and I recommend the Tiramisu as dessert. It is made of really Italian "mascarpone chesse", very light and tasteful. Nice place, nice food, nice service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Umnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Customer Service is Possible in Norway!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had spent the weekend north of Oslo and decided to spend a Sunday in Oslo before we flew out. We had visited Oslo two years ago so it wasn't our first time in the city. We wanted some Italian food and after a little searching landed on Ruffino Ristorante. We went around 5 pm, shortly after they opened. As we walked up to the restaurant we realized we were probably under-dressed for the restaurant but we wanted Italian and didn't have a change of clothes so we thought what the heck. Our server, Alessandro, was hands down the best server I've had in Norway period. Norway is not known for good customer service and after spending a couple of months in the country I can attest to their general lack of customer service.

Not only was he friendly and attentive to us but he knew his stuff. After we accidentally ordered 2 wrong drinks (totally our fault) due to our lack of attention to detail on the menu. Alessandro recognized we made a genuine mistake and immediately took the drinks, make a recommendation and got the new drinks no questions asked. Alcohol is very expensive in Norway so this was an extremely kind gesture on his part. We also found out everyone who works there is Italian which I think helps with their knowledge of the menu and drink, we were a big fan of that.

The food was seriously delicious and the portion sizes were perfect feeling satisfied without being full. Most of their pasta is made from scratch with the exception of their spaghetti pasta. Overall, for us just coming in off the street, the service and food was incredible. It was one of the best restaurant experiences we've had in Norway. Kudos to Alessandro and Ruffino Ristorante for an excellent Italian food experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEATTLE
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

While on business in Oslo for 5 days, I visited 3 of the top 10 (in Trip Advisor) restaurants and Ruffino was by far my favorite. It’s a family owned business, so there is great attention to detail, from the food to the service to the ambience. I came solo, which at times can be uncomfortable especially at an upscale restaurant but the owner and his son went out of their way to make me feel welcome. The truffle ravioli was decadent and the chocolate fondant was to die for, and I can’t wait to visit Ruffino again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank LORI H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruffino Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Ruffino Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing