We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it”

Statholderens Mat & Vinkjeller
Ranked #47 of 1,465 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scandinavian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Lae
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worth it”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I wouldnt say this is expensive considering we only paid slighty more for a family pizza at Peppies than the main meal here. In a top restaurant in Australia, I expect to pay the same if not more. Food was awesome and the staff and service was at the highest standard. It was a pitty we turned up late without a booking as the kitchen didn't have time to do the 10 plate dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dubjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    49
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
911 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Great service, Excellent Beer, Excellent to Very Good food”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The service was excellent. We arrived without reservation and they fit us in to a crowded restaurant. They are clearly set-up for wine pairing to food, but had a local beer list that proved to have some excellent Norwegian beers on and they helped pair it with food. I only did two courses and the starter Potato Leek soup was EXCELLENT. The main course Arctic Char was very good. The bread to start the meal and with the meal was excellent a couple different kinds

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we've had in years”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Expensive (like everything in Norway!) but worth it. A better meal than some we've had at celebrated "celebrity chef" restaurants in the US.
Had the 10 course tasting menu with wine selections. Charming cellar setting; excellent service. On the same block as our hotel (Thon Panorama). Walking distance from Aker Slott Fortress, Norge Bank, Train Station, Opera House...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manningjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
644 reviews
448 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Highly recommended! Excellent value, fine dining, great service.”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

You can pay (a great deal) more in Oslo, but the 10 course tasting menu offers the foodie an excellent overview of Norwegian fare with many ethnic influences. You will not be disappointed here. Service was excellent. When in Oslo, make sure you dine here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waterloonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wine and service”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We enjoyed Our 10 course meal with the more expensive wine menu.
Delicious combinations of taste and prepared with utmost care and ingeniousity.
Very good waiters. Knowledgable, fast and undisturbing with super follow up of our requests.
Nice interior of the restaurant in the cellar of an old building.
Expensive, but the visit to this restaurant was well worth the bill.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pappatilto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Statholderens Mat & Vinkjeller also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Statholderens Mat & Vinkjeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing