We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but no friendly service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frogner Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oslo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frogner Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 21 Oslo B&B and Inns
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great location, but no friendly service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Were staying for a week-end visit. Location is fantastic next to Vigeland parken.
However upon arrival very unpersonal reception, no-one there. An envelope with our names, but no human being. Room was nice and spacious, but bathroom was very small and smelled badly (for 1195 kroner, not acceptable). No-one to discuss with, even upon checkout! Sad because the place has good potential.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skigasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is not a B&B – it’s a room in a private home. So this means no reception, no common areas, no décor, no maps or info about Oslo available, no sign outside.

We had a small attic room, low ceiling, very, very basic – what I would expect at this price point. This room does not have a kitchenette (or much of anything else besides a bed). Unfortunately, the bathroom is 3 flights below the actual room. It was not fun running back and forth; in particular, it was perilous to navigate the slippery, curving staircase (especially in socks, since they make you take your shoes off at the door). As mentioned in a previous review, they don’t take out the trash. I don’t need full cleaning service, but I think trash removal is a pretty basic necessity.

Cecilie and her husband seem like nice people, but not really cut out to be hosts. Their attitude was businesslike rather than friendly, and even when they did ask how our day went or something like that, it seemed like they really weren’t interested in what we had to say! When we asked for directions, they weren’t always able to give us clear answers.

If they would only spend time on a few inexpensive touches that would make this place feel more inviting, laid out some brochures, maybe some restaurant suggestions…and take the time to get to know guests a little and chat with them sincerely, I think that would make a big difference.

The big plus here is location – easy to get to by public transport, located in a very nice neighborhood, and right by the beautiful Vigeland Park.

Room Tip: Would not recommend the small attic room (Room 2)
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KaterinaSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oslo hotels

Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Overwhelmed by the variety of accommodations in Oslo, I decided to look for a B&B instead. One of my main criteria was the location, because I didn't want to cruise the city to get to the touristic spots. Having found out that this B&B is a few meters away from the tram station was one of the decisive factors, plus the pictures in the website looked very nice. There are two ways to get to the B&B, one is taking tram 12 direction Majorstuen at the main train station. The other option is a bit longish depending on your perspective. If you are arriving from the airport go to the National theater (one station after the main central station), take the subway direction West (away from the city center) and go for one stop to Majorstuen. Get off and take either tram 12 (2 or 3 stops to reach the B&B), bus 20 or walk for 10-15 minutes.
OK back to the B&B. I originally reserved room 1 for 4 nights, but because of the floods, our plans changed and Cecilie was very nice and added another night to our reservation. This room is very spacious and has a kitchenette, that came in handy to preserve items for breakfast; a (dining) table, chairs, and night stands. To get WiFi we had to ask the owners, it was OK and worked most of the time. There is a "convenience store", a bakery and a supermarket around the corner from the B&B. The bathroom is also huge and we were provided with clean towels and sheets at the beginning of our staying. No toiletries were provided but it didn't bother us because we had our own. After asking for it we got a city map. This is not the typical B&B and you won't see maps and touristic information lying around. It felt more like a real house where you are renting a room. I was left with the impression that the owners are Norwegians and are helped by a Filipino couple during the day, but everything worked very smoothly. Cecilie had made it clear during the reservation process that we had to pay upon arrival, and so we did. We told them our approximate arriving time and were relieved to hear that they'd wait for us until we arrived. We didn't buy breakfast at the B&B and instead went to buy goodies at the bakery and at the supermarket (KIWI). This is what we didn't know. I wished we had known
some of these things but it doesn't change our overall assessment of the B&B and we'll certainly go back. a. The room was not cleaned during our stay, but we threw away the garbage every day to prevent the accumulation of fruit flies, b. We had to take our shoes right at the entrance, sure I do it at home, but it's quite challenging if you are carrying a backpack, c. Room 1 and the connecting room 2 are in the attic, to get there you have to go up 2 flights of stairs, d. The room only has one window, which is quite inconvenient if the city is being hit by a heat wave, e. It became obvious when we got there, that some of the walls are too low and it's easy to bang your head when you go to bed. f. Vigeland's park is extremely close, and g. Although the exterior looks quite deteriorated, the interior is very nice :) Almost forgot, there is no reception.

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 are in the attic; room 3 seems to be in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imaltzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

This B&B has what you expect from a good B&B. Excellent central location. Friendly and welcoming landlord. The breakfast is good, but simple. Ther's no lounge or sitting-romm, and no tv in the room. But the room is spacious and ther's good and free wifi in the room, so brng your computer. I'd stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank at_Bergen_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

I stayed two times in this bed&breakfast. First time I traveled as a couple, second time I was in Oslo for work. I returned to Frogner b&b, because to my opinion this is a very comfortable place. The location is very nice with the Vigeland park at the opposite of the street. Trams and busses stop in front of the house and, even though it is centrally situated, Frogner is a chic and relatively quiet area.

The rooms and bathrooms are spacious, especially the one at the second floor, and very clean. I was happy with the small kitchen and the wireless internet, although the connection downstairs was much better than upstairs.

The family that owns the house is friendly, interested and hospitable. I would definitely recommend this bed&breakfast to everyone who is looking for a comfortable stay in Oslo for a very affordable price.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonoor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

Overall, we would definetely recommend this b&b because of its great location (just in front of Vigeland Park, in a large family house in the upmarket Frogner district) and its reasonable prices (around Euro 120 per night with breakfast, still affordable and quite mild considering how ridiculously expensive Oslo is).
Our room was very large (on the second floor) with a spacious bathroom and a kitchenette, and the breakfast (which is ok, although nothing special) was served daily directly in the room.
Coming to the downsides of this place, well... we are sorry to say that but they don't do anything to make us feel at home, or not even welcome guests. There is no decoration in the room, you don't have any access to areas of the house outside your room and the only concern of the landlady seems getting the money, speficying very clearly that she does not accept credit cards almost before even saying hello. No tips on the city, no "how are you today?" or any other conversation with the guests outside the bill, no personal interaction at all (that is what we really like of b&bs and also the main reason why we prefer them to hotels). To be honest, it is even dubious that they are a real authorised bed and breakfast: nothing is written outside, no signpost, no name, nothing.
To sum up, go for it if you are finding a reasonably priced accommodation in a good location in Oslo, but don't expect anything particularly warm, cosy or romantic as you could expect from a good bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giorgionet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

Worst bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in. Very unfriendly staff and owner. Just there to make money and clearly no hearth for the tourism industry.
Rooms are newly decorated, but not very attractive

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HansEindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#24 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frogner Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogner Bed & Breakfast

Property: Frogner Bed & Breakfast
Address: Kirkeveien 5, Oslo 0266, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Oslo
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frogner Bed & Breakfast offers high standard accommodation in a cosy and relaxing atmosphere. We are a small and reasonably priced alternative for tourists and business people who are looking for pleasant and welcoming accommodation, on a short- or long term basis.Our house is centrally located on the west side of Oslo, in the fashionable residential area of Frogner. Directly across the street is the famous Vigeland Park, a beautiful sight with its sculptures and rose gardens ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing