We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Hotel Boersparken

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Boersparken
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great value and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Compared to what I paid in Bergen, this hotel was terrific value and in a brilliant location. It is just a 10 minute walk from the railway station, 5 minutes from the opera house and right in the heart of Oslo. My room was quite compact but spotlessly clean and had everything I needed including free Wi-fi and BBC News 24

The building is a quadrangle so if you have an inner room there is nothing to look at but the hotel room windows opposite so if I went again I would ask for a room on the outside.
Breakfast is canteen buffet style but had a great choice, minimum fuss and I could get a proper cup of English tea, hot tea cold fresh milk so I was off to a good start for the day. There are no mini bars nor food items in the rooms but they do offer complimentary tea and coffee 24 hours a day in the canteen and chilled food and drinks for sale at reception. One unusual addition to the chilled retail offer was condoms, lined up alongside the fruit juices. Are they a dish best served cold?

If going to Oslo again I would book this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the outside of the building not overlooking the quadrangle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pomtiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    752
    392
    99
    35
See reviews for
311
588
193
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Location:
The hotel is very convenient located just a few steps away from the Central Station and close to the Opera too. In front of the hotel is the small building of Oslo Stock Exchange. Although there may be homeless people around the hotel, even drugs consumers I didn’t notice a real danger when returned in the evenings (actually long days during northern summer).

Reception:
One of the nicest guys I’ve ever met, very friendly, glad to help you with an advice if needed – when I checked in, they apologized for the noise coming from some maintenance works at the floor in the reception area and gave me a room at the 8th floor with Opera view – actually I couldn’t hear any noise at all. Permanently you’ll find for free oranges or small juice bottles on the tables within the reception area. There is also a self service refrigerator with juices, beer or sandwiches at reasonable prices.

Room:
Generally speaking the room (#803 mine) was in a very decent condition, very clean, roomy enough. Window glasses were a little bit darker, which helped against the powerful light during late hours (actually night!). One weak point: the room didn’t have a closet or some shelves to store you clothes on, which could create you some troubles in managing the space adequately. Bathroom had only shower, but was ok, very clean, permanent hot water. Shower steam had to come across the room to be evacuated outside. The second weak point: windows couldn’t be opened more than those from a top floor from a skyscraper or at least I didn't know on how, but I doubt.

Breakfast:
Breakfast area is very fancy, glass ceiling, ordinary and tall chairs. Breakfast itself, although the same every morning gave me plenty of choices from small mini fresh fruit salads to marinate and tomato fish, several types of cheese, salami and bread, fresh vegetables, milk and coffee, etc. You can even find a dedicated small corner with bio food. Free coffee available all the time.

City:
The city is a typical Northern country's capital, not too many tall buildings, but it is spread over a vast area, it is a green city and quite safe.

City attractions not to be missed:
- Royal Palace (although I couldn’t visit it) – understood you need a reservation in advance even with months;
- City Hall – entrance for free;
- Aker Brigge area and second plan as well – lots of restaurants there, etc
- Akershus Fortress
- Definetly, the Holmenkollen Ski Museum & Tower and the simulator
- Norwegian Museum of Cultural History – very intersting, with live demonstrations and traditional dances;
- National Opera
- The Polar Ship Fram Museum – you are allowed to go on the ship and even inside it – incredible!
- The Viking Ship Museum – very impresive!
- Vigeland Sculpture Park - educative
-Oslo fijord mini cruise – the 2 hours one – really worth it!

Day trips:
I recommend going to Drobak & Oscarsborg and Fredrikstad

Prices:
It’s a very, very expensive city, but not all items cost very much. However, the highest prices hit exactly there where tourists are interested of: food and drink, and services (i.e. transportation). Better to buy a pair of shoes than eating a pizza and drink a grass of wine. Examples at a conversion rate of NOK 7 for EUR 1

- one pizza in Aker Brigge – around EUR 25 and one beer – 0.6 pint – EUR 14
- one steak – starting from EUR 40 – just the meat;
- one ice cream – EUR 4
- 0.5 bottle of still water – EUR 4
- one bottle of wine in a pizzeria - average EUR 100
- Public transportation ticket – valid one hour – EUR 4
- Public transportation ticket – valid one day – EUR 10
And so on…

But coming back at the hotel -> definitely I do recommend this hotel – for the best price/ quality balance. Good job, guys!

:O( - forgot to take pictures...

Enjoy Oslo!

Room Tip: Opera view room from a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristi_Ionescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Easy to locate from Station after airport transfer. Walking distance - saved taxi fare.
Friendly check in. Late - but free tea/coffee available at all times.
Comfortable room, quiet (or were we so tired we didn't hear anything?) and a great buffet breakfast. Some renovation work going on but did not intrude on stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisBurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, CA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

This hotel was close to the train station, one block somewhat of a questionable neighborhood but probably safe in the daytime. The convenience to the train station and other local transportation was very good. The hotel was under renovation at this time so the use of the computer was behind the front desk, awkward, and sometimes noisy during the day. The staff was very nice and the last two nights we were on the seventh floor with a lovely view of the Opera House. When the construction is finished will should be a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Recommend rooms on the higher floors overlooking the Opera House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerlinSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

From 6th floor the view was nice over the "sea" to the opera. Room was comfortable but there weren't a minibar, safety or even closet for your things.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Unikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

At first we got a room with a window at the inner courtyard and next to the elevator. Very noisy. Booked 6 months in advance to get this room. Not a very client friendly policy. It was solved quickly and we had a better room. Staff is great and helpful. Breakfast is better than in more star hotels. The only problem is the junks in the street. Quite a lot and we found needles in several places around the hotel. The owner should contact the mayor and tell him hotel guests do not like junks in their neighborhood. But even in parks and shopping centers we found drug and alcohol addicts. Dealing and using. 5 police cars within 900 meter at the central station but did not bother about the junks. Must be a big problem for Oslo and will prevent us from coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for a view on the Opera building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJN34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

Excellent hotel !!! In the center of the city - 200 m west of the train station - Close to all attractions - Clean - Very friendly and helpfull staff - Very good breakfast with warm foods also ALL that in very reasonable price for the expensive Norway. 100% suggest it

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoisGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#24 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#20 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Oslo City
Scandic Oslo City
#32 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Boersparken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Boersparken

Property: Comfort Hotel Boersparken
Address: Tollbugata 4, Oslo 0152, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Oslo
#24 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Boersparken 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Hotel Borsparken is in a great location in the centre of Oslo, 2 minutes from Oslo S. You can work out free of charge in our Crossfit hotel-gym which covers an entire floor. Discover an affordable and modern hotel in the middle of the action - welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Hotel Boersparken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Oslo
Comfort Inn Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing