We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy
Ranked #34 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel is just a few steps away from the National Gallery museum, 5 minutes (on foot) from the National Theatre (one of the main metro and train stations), the Parliament, the Royal Palace and others.

Bedrooms are large, breakfast is very good. The only not-so-good service is the light meal in the evening, which could be a little bit better (other hotels from the Clarion Collection Hotel have better night meals), but still it is better than going out and spending a lot of money on a restaurant (yes, Oslo is quite expensive).

Highly recommend it, specially for the location (and breakfast)!

Room Tip: You have rooms facing the streets and rooms facing a backyard (and other rooms). The rooms facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rui A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

The Savoy Hotel of many years, maybe a hundred, is now part of the Clarion Group. It is a Km from the main train station. We walked there as we had very light luggage, through the main wide shopping avenue, named Karl Johan Gate. I believe Gate is like street, in Norwegian. For the first half, it is pedestrian only. Not difficult to find. The hotel is an old mansion renovated to be a hotel. It has a restaurant, a bar, a large room, named Vivaldi Room.

The rooms are not large, small by N. American standard, but plenty roomy compared to hotels in Paris, or London, Rome, or Madrid. Clean, simple decoration, the bathroom has heated slate floor, what a treat. It comes with kettle and coffee and tea, which is not common In Europe either
Linen are fresh and sparkling clean.

What is surprising is that afternoon tea and supper is free at the large Vivaldi Room. It can accommodate 40 seated, in various shapes and sizes tables. It is self served, buffet style, with offering of fish, potatoes, steamed vegetables. A very stable Norwegian diet. Plus, salad, picked beets, chick peas and raw vegetables. Also a cheese platter, fruit and small cup cakes . Coffee and tea. There is wine, to be tallied to one's room.

Breakfast is included and is served in the dining room. Again it is buffet style, but the offering is an immense variety of hot and cold food.

The hotel is full most of the time, we could not extend our stay for another night. The clientele are mostly business people. There were no young people, or young couples, I believe it is a favorite place for business visitors.

The receptionists were cheerful, friendly and very helpful. They are knowledgeable about Oslo, how to get about, etc.

We did not dine at the restaurant, but I could see that there are 2 years of Michelin Guide recommendations to the restaurant. Our friends had made arrangement to dine out.

For sure we would return, when the occasion arises .

Room Tip: There are ghosts sighted on the fifth floor, especially room 518. Try not to book this room. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mimi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I could have put a grade of 4 but when we arrived, we got a room that was not done which is not the ideal start I must stay. Anyway we soon got a new room which was OK even though the bathroom was a little tiny. If you come with luggage, the elevator is not really practical. We enjoyed the breakfasts and free evening lunch. Staff was also very nice and informative about what to do and where to go. We did enjoyed a good Indian restaurant nearby and the fun "ice bar".
The hotel is very well located and you can do almost everything by foot which is great be it visiting or shopping (although prices are not good if your money is euro).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jboule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here two nights when I was at a course with my work.
Nice hotel, old but good standard.
Very good service from the staff!
Breakfast and "kveldsmat".
Had a really nice stay and will defiantly check this hotel if I get a new stay in Oslo!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathrine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The lobby of this hotel is really nice, and I liked the restaurant and the area where they serve the evening meal. The service was great; the breakfast was delicious; and the evening meal was good and helped me save a lot of money.

I really liked the location of the hotel. The National Gallery is right across the street. I walked to the Nobel Peach Prize Center. There's a couple of trams that stop in front of the hotel, and the trams go to the Central Station. From there, it's easy to walk to the Opera House, and it's easy to take the metro to the Munch Museum and the tram to the Vigeland Museum.

Overall, I didn't really like this hotel because I didn't like the room decor. It just wasn't my style, and it's not the hotel's fault. Plus, the building is old, and I felt like it needed some renovation. I also didn't like the mattress they had on the bed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wolfpackgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We did choose this hotel because it was very central to main city..
The hotel had good and big rooms.. but the corridors and elevator was really small..
Breakfast was great, but they could get better on refilling and cleaning of breakfast area.
The dinner in the evening was also ok and included in the hotel room price.

Room Tip: Choose third floor, room 320 to 324
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The hotel is old but very well maintained. Not a great location, but it is well located. Good rooms and breakfast.

Everthing is very clean. The staff will help you.

They offer a afternoon meal, it is a good meal.

You can walk to the city, it is near the National Art Gallery of Norway, many pubs and restaurants. You have to walk two or three blocks to the metro station.

It is clean, the rooms are regular size, you will have Internet and space for your luggage.

The breakfast is also ok, nothing special, cheese, ham, fish and great scandinavian bread. It is a good breakfast overall. But the afternoon meal is better.

Room Tip: the elevator is small, if you take the first floor you can go by the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZeroC00L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy

Address: Universitetsgata 11, Oslo 0164, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#22 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#28 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £120 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a convenient location in the heart of Oslo, Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy offers a free evening buffet and 2 restaurants. All of the air conditioned rooms have free Wi-Fi access.All rooms at Hotel Savoy are decorated in a minimalist style and comfort. They are all equipped with a cable TV, work desk and private bathrooms.Guests can enjoy affordable gourmet dishes at Restaurant Eik, which has been awarded the Bib Gourmand honor by the Michelin Guide. Restaurant Fjord serves sea food. Savoy Bar is the perfect venue for a drink in the evening.Laundry services and currency exchange are provided for guests’ convenience. Tea and coffee are available anytime on the 2nd floor.Oslo’s main street, Karl Johans gate, is a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The Royal Palace is situated 650 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Savoy
Clarion Collection Oslo
Clarion Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing