We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy
Ranked #33 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Booked last minute and was really happy with the hotel, from helpfulness of staff, quality of room (not many bells and whistles, but clean and spacious), and food (good breakfast but also the bonus of an evening buffet to help keep costs down).

Location is about a 20 minute walk from the Central Station (or 3 tram stops), and next door to the national museum where you have The Scream amongst other Munchs to peruse at your leisure.

I would definitely stay again and would have no hesitation in recommending this to others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for your nice review! It is so nice to hear that you had a great time staying with us!

We hope to see you again soon :-) Hava a great week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

it was a cold january weekend, we stayed in a superior room, on the second floor. Room was small, but nice. I loved the interior in the superior rooms and common rooms. Bathroom was abit cold though. And hairdrier werent the best as usual in most hotels. Therese was amazing to correspond with via email! Making sure everything about our reservation go smoothly! We only had breakfast on the hotel but it was nice. If you want a table in the Eik restaurant, I recommend you make reservations early. I did sence some "ghostsly" activity even though I did not set foot on the fifth floor. Nothing bad though. All in all I would stay at this hotel again, and would recommend it to others. They even had some toys in the vivaldi room that made our 4 year old very happy!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Rune K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for your review! :-)

We hope to see you again here at Hotel Savoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at the Savoy for a night whilst travelling in Norway. The location was very good, and the hotel was recommended to us by some Norwegian friends on this basis.

You’re a short walk to the tourist information office, Karl Johans Gate (the main shopping and bar/restaurant street), Aker Brygge waterfront and National Gallery.

The room itself wasn’t luxurious, but clean, spacious (with a work desk and sofa) and ideal for a city stay, with satellite TV and free wifi.

The room rate included free afternoon tea, an evening meal and breakfast, all of which is welcome in a city as expensive as Oslo. The afternoon meal was served from 6pm, and we found all tables were full when we arrived at 6:30pm on a Sunday night. Fortunately a couple offered to share their 4 seater table with us. There wasn’t a massive selection, and it was all self-service (even clearing your own plates and cutlery), but that’s not a problem if you just want something quick to eat without paying extra.

I have no problem in recommending the Savoy if you’re looking for a mid-range hotel in Central Oslo.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CallumLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your stay, and we hope to see you again :-)

Have a great 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This hotel has a central location only a few blocks from Karl Johans gate, and not far from the royal castle. The breakfast was just great, I really enjoyed the selection and the quality of the breakfast buffet. We had a family room at the fifth floor, small windows (dark room) and rather boring design.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nemi_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

They do not have twin rooms, the have either a double bed or two single beds pushed and held by wall fixings so that it might aswell be another double. the carpets looked grotty but at least the food was more than exceptable

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
1  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is a small hotel. Breakfast and evening buffet included in price. Both were very good (food is VERY expensive in Norway, so this means avoiding costs of eating out in evening). Room was OK, warm, comfortable bed. Staff were friendly and helpful (all spoke excellent English). Location very good - right next to National Gallery. About 3 mins walk from Nationaltheatret station.

NOTE: you can get the train direct to this station from the airport, no need to change.

Only oddity for me is in the breakfast room, having to eat breakfast beneath huge "art" photo of part of a female nude with a fishhook stuck through her skin - very odd choice, and not sure what message it is meant to send to female guests?

Room Tip: Couple of tips: some first floor rooms (200s) are directly above the Eik Bar, which plays music till...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you so much for your review. It is good to hear that you had a nice stay :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The title says all of it: the Clarion Savoy offers a nice accomodation in the center of Oslo. My single room was not to big but absolutely ok, TV and wlan are standard. Breakfast is nice and rich, the evening buffet is very nice (enjoy the soups!) and takes place in a very nice athmosphere. The hotel-staff is very friendly and helpful. It was my third time at this hotel and maybe not the last one.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy

Address: Universitetsgata 11, Oslo 0164, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#22 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#28 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £111 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a convenient location in the heart of Oslo, Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy offers a free evening buffet and 2 restaurants. All of the air conditioned rooms have free Wi-Fi access.All rooms at Hotel Savoy are decorated in a minimalist style and comfort. They are all equipped with a cable TV, work desk and private bathrooms.Guests can enjoy affordable gourmet dishes at Restaurant Eik, which has been awarded the Bib Gourmand honor by the Michelin Guide. Restaurant Fjord serves sea food. Savoy Bar is the perfect venue for a drink in the evening.Laundry services and currency exchange are provided for guests’ convenience. Tea and coffee are available anytime on the 2nd floor.Oslo’s main street, Karl Johans gate, is a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The Royal Palace is situated 650 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Savoy
Clarion Collection Oslo
Clarion Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing