We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel Ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy
Ranked #27 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Gran Canaria
1 review
“The Best Hotel Ever!!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days in May 2009. Everything was just perfect. Very nice rooms and the service was outstanding. Everyone smiled and gave us the best service we have ever experienced. We recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    254
    108
    28
    12
See reviews for
74
197
67
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2009

This is a bit odd looking hotel, from a lobby/bar and from a room perspective, because decoration is special, at least. However, staff is really friendly, location is downtown, breakfast is complete and healthy, and the best: included in the price you have not only the breakfast, but a light evening buffet in the loft that it's worth for money (taking into account how expensive Norway for a non-Nordic citizen is).

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capa_9777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

I picked this hotel at first because of the location. It is centrally located between the pier and the train station, both within walking distance.
When I checked in, I was not feeling good because of the long flight and my feet hurt from the walk through the airport, then to the train, then to the hotel. Instead of brushing me off when I told them how exhausted I was, the front desk girl upgraded me to a bigger room for free with a big bath tub to soak away my sorrows.
There is also free breakfast, free afternoon snack and free lite evening meal. Internet access is also free either through your laptop on the computer in the upstairs lounge. There are even free movies on the flat screen in the lounge.
On my second night there, I came down with the flu and was very sick and the staff gave me ice packs, headache pills and made sure I was ok. When I finally got better, they had the cleaning lady come give my room a once over.
When I went to check out, I didn't have a printer and couldn't get my boarding pass. The girl at the front desk was able to go above and beyound and print it out for me.
They made me feel like part of the family.

As a tip to save money, buy an Oslo pass, they come in 24/36/ and 72 hour passes and get you free transportation on everything even the ferry and into almost all musuems. What isn't free with the card is discounted but with the card I never paid for anything.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaBoyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

Returned for the second time this year. Stayed 5 nights. Only thing different was that service might have improved a little bit. Was greated with a smile, check in fast and my room was upgraded without hesitation. Stayed on the fifth floor with a view towards the backdoor - great, quiet in the night. Internet WLAN fast. New doors with a kind of key card which you just held towards the locker, and the door would open. Newspapers provided at the door (almost) every morning. Only problem was that they didn't refill the minibar every day. Breakfast and supper - ok service and choice. The restaurant i supposed to be one of the best in Oslo, but didn't try it. 5 minutes walk from the airport express train (get off at the National theatre).

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocHeitmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2009

Last August with my wife and our 3 children we spend 4 days in Oslo in Clarion Savoy.
The Hotel is in great location, next to the National Gallery. and 200 meters from main street, Karl Johan.
Because the whole family shared one room, we slept in the couch which wasn't that comfortable and to be honest is one of the very few things that we didn't like. The other , lets say it negative remark, is that the room we had was in the corner of the building in the first floor just above the intersection of the tram! It was a little bit noisy .
IN general the Hotel is very clean, the rooms the same, big bathroom, changing towels when it was requested and staff was very helpfull and gentle in all levels.
Breakfast was close to excellent, with great variety of fruits, musli, jogurt, special organic section of fruits and of course the non healthy stuff, like bacon, scrabled eggs etc (!)
One of a kind the special variety of salmon, which we were more than pleased to eat every single morniing.
Excellent atmosphere in the breakfast area which i think is operating like a sofistike restaurant in the afternoon.
In the price also was indluded a free light evening meal in the last floor, with free internet access aside and with a small variety of cookies and salad. Some of the Hotel guests were overwhlelmingly eated there every single night!
I would definitely suggest to anyone visiting Oslo to stay in this Hotel, which by the end had a very good price.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank abat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2008

First of all, the hotel's location is superb - only a few minutes away from Oslo's main street. The hotel itself is very easy to find, but look closely for the entrance - blink and you'll miss it. The reception area is tiny, only one person was working at the reception so prepare to stand in line.

During my visit there were some maintenance being done - there were people doing paint work so the corridor smelled like fresh paint - but fortunately the smell was not noticable in my room.

The hotel was fully booked so I got a single room - which was the tiniest room I've ever seen. It had a single bed, a minibar which also served as a bedstand - and a chair. That's it. The bathroom was so small that I kept bumping my elbows. Also, there were no towels in my room and I had to enquire at the reception to get some. The staff was very helpful and promptly provided me with the towels I needed.

Even though the room was absolutely tiny, it was very cosy and very clean - and I did not mind hanging out there for several hours. There was some noise from traffic but not too bad.

If you are a business traveller and needs to get some work done during your stay, make sure you get a bigger room. I cannot imagine it being possible to work in the kind of room I had.

Also worth mentioning; the hotel provided a novel at the bedstand for people who hadn't brought their own reading material - a nice touch which I haven't experienced before. There were also a children's book but I cannot image any small kids ever staying in a single room of that kind.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Tiny room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doodle80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2007

I stayed 4 mights at the Savoy, mainly chosen because of the free supper included, a nice toucThe hotel building is great, but inside they have modernised it in a way that is wrong to the original athmosphere of the building. My room was also quite boringly decorated, not to say "cheap", but the bathroom was nice and spacy, with both a tub AND a separate shower cabinet. The loft where they serve supper was delightful, and open all day to relax in. Many guests brought their lunches their to eat and to have their free coffee, great way to save money. Breakfast was good, and breakfast room had great location with views to the street outside and the national gallery. The staff was also nice. All in all a pleasant stay, but nicer decor would add extras to this hotel.

  • Liked — Supper at the attic
  • Disliked — The decor in my room
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hufsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Hotel Bristol
#13 of 102 in Oslo
1,318 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#11 of 102 in Oslo
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy
Address: Universitetsgata 11, Oslo 0164, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#22 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#28 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a convenient location in the heart of Oslo, Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy offers a free evening buffet and 2 restaurants. All of the air conditioned rooms have free Wi-Fi access.All rooms at Hotel Savoy are decorated in a minimalist style and comfort. They are all equipped with a cable TV, work desk and private bathrooms.Guests can enjoy affordable gourmet dishes at Restaurant Eik, which has been awarded the Bib Gourmand honor by the Michelin Guide. Restaurant Fjord serves sea food. Savoy Bar is the perfect venue for a drink in the evening.Laundry services and currency exchange are provided for guests’ convenience. Tea and coffee are available anytime on the 2nd floor.Oslo’s main street, Karl Johans gate, is a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The Royal Palace is situated 650 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Savoy
Clarion Collection Oslo
Clarion Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing