We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cool to see”

Holmenkollen Ski Museum and Ski Jump Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
US$100.32*
and up
Private Shore Excursion: Best of Oslo 4-Hour Tour with Vigeland Park and Viking...
Ranked #6 of 387 things to do in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A historic landmark in the Norwegian consciousness, Holmenkollen embodies more than a century of skiing tradition. Inside the actual ski jump is the Holmenkollen Ski Museum, the world's oldest ski museum. The museum presents over 4,000 years of skiing history and polar exploration artifacts. The observation deck on top of the jump tower offers panoramic views of Oslo. Open 365 days a year!
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very cool to see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Family enjoyed the visit. This jump is huge and requires serious leg work to take the steps up (free)-the road at the side is the much easier option. The zip lining was very neat to watch. Would be awesome to try, but teens shied away-awestruck by the magnitude

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pickymoms07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,588
    1,110
    250
    32
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a must-see in Oslo. The feat of engineering of the ski jump tower and the elevator that take you there are worth the visit, as are the absolutely spectacular views miles out into the fjords and Norwegian hills.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ByTheSeaByTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worth the trek up the hill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Nearly every review I read before visiting Oslo raved about the ski museum, but I just was not convinced about its offerings. Thankfully some in our group insisted upon going, and I was so thankful we did. Taking the metro (T-bane, as they call it) from the city center to the ski stop was super easy. From there it's a 5 to 10-minute trek up a hill (can easily push a stroller, as many did) and a short walk to the museum (passing a restaurant or two along the way, all with phenomenal views). The feat of engineering the ski slope, together with the elevator that takes you to the top, are worth the visit. The views miles out to the fjords and miles into the Norwegian hills dotted with homes are nothing short of spectacular, so those are also worth the visit. The displays in the museum -- from skis to photos to clothes to other -- are more interesting than noted in guide books. Truly interesting, especially to our teenagers. A movie about the Northern Lights as seen from Norway was playing in the auditorium, and it was a highlight.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ByTheSeaByTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Watching ski jumping on tv will never be the same”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We visited Holmenkollen with our 24-hour public transport card. Good to combine with visit to Vigeland Park as they're on the same side of the city. Bit of a walk up from the metro station.

This visit made an impression! We didn't go all the way up but even halfway we had a beautiful view of the city. View from the gift shop is good too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutch-Australian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Incredible views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Not being a skiing fan, I was unsure about taking the time to travel out to Holmenkollen, but I'm very glad I did. The journey out from the centre of Oslo was itself an experience, with the train hugging the hills as it gradually made its way out of the city.

Once there, a short walk (quite steep) takes you to the ski jump and the museum housed in its base. The museum is actually very interesting, showing early skiing equipment and giving some background to the sport in Norway, along with its history as a favourite pasttime of the royal family.

The highlight is taking the lift to the stop of the ski jump itself. From here, the views of the wooded mountains to one side, and the city of Olso to the other are spectacular. Both internal and external viewing platforms offer unforgettable sights.

Looking down the ski jump, it makes you wonder how someone could propel themselves off the edge on nothing but a couple of bits of plastic stuck to their feet. Still, I was disappointed that the seasonal zip line wasn't in operation on the day of our visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobMorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holmenkollen Ski Museum and Ski Jump Tower also viewed

 

Been to Holmenkollen Ski Museum and Ski Jump Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing