We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, if the weather is clear”

Holmenkollen Ski Museum and Ski Jump Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
US$100.32*
and up
Private Shore Excursion: Best of Oslo 4-Hour Tour with Vigeland Park and Viking...
Ranked #6 of 387 things to do in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A historic landmark in the Norwegian consciousness, Holmenkollen embodies more than a century of skiing tradition. Inside the actual ski jump is the Holmenkollen Ski Museum, the world's oldest ski museum. The museum presents over 4,000 years of skiing history and polar exploration artifacts. The observation deck on top of the jump tower offers panoramic views of Oslo. Open 365 days a year!
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great views, if the weather is clear”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was a great place to visit to see Oslo from high up. The view of the ski jump is unbelievable. There is a mini museum inside, with old artefacts and worth a look.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingNessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,981 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,587
    1,109
    250
    32
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great attraction to see even when there's no snow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was an amazing place to see whatever the weather. I saw it with no snow on it and it was still amazing to see how steep the jump is. It is really frighting and gives you a new respect for anyone that attempts it, let alone wins a gold medal on it.

I have to admit to not going all the way to the top though and I would say this is the one fault of this attraction. I started to climb the steep steep steps and I was unsure if the entrance to the jump was open as there is no information at the bottom. It was also scary to climb, I'm not scared of heights but I found I was tightly holding on to a barrier and the steps are huge so you are literally jumping up them which made me feel a little uneasy. I got half way up and decided to turn back as every step was getting slippery with the rain. Some more guidance on what to expect when I got 1/2 way up to the entrance would have been much appreciated. otherwise its a great thing to see and even from 1/2 way up the views were amazing.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You just have to go there, but you'll have to walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

A 30-min mostly outdoor metro will get you there, but you will still need to climb the hill for about 15 min.
It rained the day I went there, so the walk was not that pleasant, but you just have to go there and see Holmenkollen.
The ski museum is more like a bonus. There is also a ski simulator that I didn't try (note you can go to the simulator but not the museum and vice-versa).
I had the Oslo Pass so I can't tell you if it's worth the price. They should however name it the "Norwegian Ski Museum" because I expected more general information on ski and in general something different. I still have no idea how it's made, what kind of models they are... Didn't find examples of the smaller trendy skis either, nor snowboards, and I think it should have been in a museum like this.
A single 10 person 3 minute elevator will bring you to the top of the ski jump and back (price included in the museum entrance fee) so I guess there will be some waiting to expect when there are more people.
From there you can go on the roof and have a great 360 view where you'll see Oslo and a good part of the county.
For an additional fee (if I remember correctly) you can go back to the ground on a zip-line (what we French-speaking people call a "tyrolienne") for some adventure. They do it seriously and safely.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kranj, Slovenia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Definetly worth the trip. It takes about 20 minutes with the train, it's a lovely scenic ride and the views from the top are amazing. There is a also a zip line from the top to the bottom of the jump.
The ski museum is also interesting, and I highy recommend to wander a bit around, the area is wonderful and the views amazing. With Oslo pass there is no entrance fee.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nara77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fun Trek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

A bit away from the city, this was a fun walk and interesting sight. The view from the top, of the city, fjords was worth the whole trip. There are some hikes from here. The museum was good too. There is a zip line from the top of the jump but it was closed while we were there

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pennie727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holmenkollen Ski Museum and Ski Jump Tower also viewed

 

Been to Holmenkollen Ski Museum and Ski Jump Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing