We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Frogner House - Skovveien 8
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We found this place on a recommendation of our family in Oslo, and we're very happy with the choice. The place was clean, well equipped with fridge, cooktop, laundry ...a little studio with a great view. There is a wonderful coffee shop directly below, and many restaurants close by. Buses were close by, but we could walk to so much. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pattie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrognerHouse, Front Office Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Thank you kindly for your review. We appreaciate all feedback. Hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards Frogner House Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

No matter which location you stay in you have to make a visit to Skovveien 8 to check in where they will give the keys to your unit. Do not follow advice that you stop by a 7-11, just head straight to Skovveien 8. We tried to follow that advice and very unreliable. Easiest way to get there if you're taking public transit is to take the Flytoget train from Oslo Airport and get off at National Theater and walk towards Henrik Ibsen Gate. Once outside take a left and walk a couple of blocks away from the US Embassy to the Slottsparken bus/tram stop. Take either the 30 or 31 bus as both stop at Skoveien, which is 2 stops away; the bus will signal each stop, just make sure you press stop to get out. Walk about 2 blocks up Skovveien, it's next to a corner coffee shop. Before you do that make sure you stop by the Ruter desk at the airport and pick up a Travelcard with your transport ticket loaded onto the card.

Once you're checked it, you can hop back on the 30 or 31 back to Slottsparken for Arbinsgate 3. For Odinsgate 16, the tram stop next to Skovveien 8 is Niels Juels Gate; take the 12 up 2 stops to Elisenberg and the property is on the left.

We were initially supposed to stay at Arbinsgate 3 but they told us we were "upgraded" to Odinsgate 16. Pierre was nice and helpful, but by that time we made it to Skyovveien 8 to check in we were tired and we just wanted to dump our stuff and enjoy Oslo. The entry process into Odinsgate made it seem like we were working at a high security building. However it ended there when we discovered no elevator and our "upgraded" unit was on the topmost floor.

We would stay there again because I loved feeling like we actually lived there. I just wish other reviews for the property were helpful. Arbinsgate is closer into town and has that inner city vibe, while Odinsgate had that residential feel like you were one of the locals.

Room Tip: Arbinsgate and Skovveien are closer into town and has that inner city vibe, while Odinsgate had that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aznmadscience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrognerHouse, Front Office Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Thank you kinldy for your feeback and information provided, we highly appreciate it as I am sure other viewers are too. As mentioned on the webiste we do only have 1 reception so all chek inn does take place at Skovveien 8. Collecting the key at 7-11 only applieas if you do arrive after 11pm. We are continoulsy working on our routines and strive to get better every day and take your comments into conisderation. We are hoping to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Frogner House Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We booked a small one room apartement at Skovveien - apparantly booking via the large Internet bureau was about 10% cheaper than via the hotel's own website!
The hotel has apparments on a number of locations in Oslo and the reviews we found at tripadvisor generally recommended Skovveien whereas staying at Albinsgate were discouraged. So we declined when the hotel called us on the morning of our arrival day and offered us a larger appartment that was not at Skovveien.
We found the small appartment quite nice and comfortable for our four night stay. We did not cook meals in the small kitchen, but we could have, and the table and chairs for two worked fine for our own breakfast, take-aways and cold dinners.
The area has a couple of supermarkets and nice restaurants, so we liked the location wery much. And even though it's not in the very centre of the city, most things are easily reachable by short walks or by bus or street car if you prefer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jens2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrognerHouse, Front Office Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Thank you kindly for your review. We appreaciate all feedback. Hope to welcome you back in the future.Kind Regards Frogner House Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

the apartment has two bedrooms,a large enough sitting room with an open kitchenette and a spacious bathroom. the apartment on the third floor facing the courtyard is quite, bright and enough air circulation that makes it comfortable, but the windows need to be proped open with something (we used empty wine bottles or beer cans). a weekly cleaning and change of linens for a fee could be scheduled, and was done well by the housekeeping staff. onsite laundry is free and almost always available. wifi is free and works well. request for a microwave oven and bread toaster was honored on the same day.
the apartment is very well situated on the westside of the city, immediately next to the building where ibsen resided (now the ibsen museum) and across the park and the royal palace. karl johann and the points of interest along this grand avenue are very close as are the city hall, akerhus, aker brygg, and the ferries to bygdoy. convenience stores, shops, food market, vinmonopolet, fine restaurants, cafe, bars, are all within a few minutes walk.
the place could use an onsite manager, or at least a phone to the main office; periodic and regular cleaning of the public areas including the small entrance hall and the elevator landings.

Room Tip: apartments facing the courtyard are quiet as they do not have street noise; upper floor apartment is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NycRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Cramped, shabby, noisy, very small rooms, poorly equipped kitchen. Centrally located. Expensive. We were told someone would meet us there if we called. We called but were told we had to go to a different location than the apt to sign in. Exhausted, we protested and were told they would meet us outside the apt. We got there and had to call again, then waited 20 minutes to get inside. The rooms were tiny and the sleeper sofa was horrible. There were no shades to keep the light out, which is 24/7. A party in another room kept us up all night the night after we arrived and we were already sleep deprived. The party echoed through the courtyard. We couldn't shut the windows because it was the only fresh air in the room. Definitely NOT suitable for 6 adults.

Room Tip: I would pick another place. It is not the place in the photo, btw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shenight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

for the price we paid and from the reviews given by other travellers, my family expected much more from this hotel. although the room was a great size, and the beds were quite comfortable, there was still much left to be desired. first of all, people should note that there are several frogner apartment properties but you have to check in at skovveien first, regardless of which property you stay at. that was not disclosed to us at first, so it was by luck that we happened to book this particular location. secondly, the receptionists are not always very friendly, and considering the fact that they are rarely at their desk, a professional level of courtesy would have been very much appreciated. thirdly, the location is not particularly convenient, as the bus stations are a bit of a walk away, which is fine for younger people but not so much for older patrons. furthermore, the amenities in the room were not all working, as our kettle could not boil water and our light switch panel was detached from the kitchen wall. overall, we would not recommend frogner house to others; a much better experience can surely be had from other hotels for the same price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank epicflailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

frogner house apartments are very cosy and exclusive.
the rooms have an attached kitchenette,with utensils,large bay windows,a study,
and a small bathroom.
the apartment is well located,the view overlooking the streets is lovely.
there is good coffee served in the coffee house on the right,adjoining it.and good breakfast at the
bistro adjoining it on the left.

Room Tip: all the rooms seem good.it is advisable to choose a room on level 1,incase of elevator malfunction,w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pogo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
848 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#21 of 102 in Oslo
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
369 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frogner House - Skovveien 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogner House - Skovveien 8

Address: Skovveien 8, Oslo 0257, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Oslo
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oslo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £85 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frogner House - Skovveien 8 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frogner House offers you fully furnished serviced apartments imbued with more than 100 years' worth of homey atmosphere in the very heart of the most up-market neighbourhood in Oslo, Frogner.We offer Free WIFI, free laundry facilities, breakfast delivery to your door, and the comfort and freedom you appreciate in your own home.Your home when you are not! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Frogner House - Skovveien 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frogner House Hotel Oslo
Frogner Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing