We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home in Oslo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Frogner House Apartments - Skovveien 8
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The studio I stayed was very nice. With all the gear you need to cook.
I stayed in Skovveien 8 it’s a 15 min walk to the city center. Oslo is a very expensive city, having the option to cook your food will save you a lot of $$$
The staff is friendly and helpful
The only negative aspects were the following the internet signal was very poor and there were only a few TV channels available. When the booking was made it mentioned access to several international channels. Than was not the case.
My room was near a busy street there was noise during the night that sometimes keep me awake.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josemacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House Apartments - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Josemacs,
Thank you kindly for your review. It is valuable to us in the processs of continue to improve. We appologize for hte inconvencien caused due to issue with the internet connection. Our technician is continously working on improving this and with our new fiber high speed connection we hope to avoid any future problems. We hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Frogner House Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at 1 bedroom apartment nbr 306 at Skovveien 8 for 4 nights. It's nicely decorated, well furnished, modern and quite spacious (despite the fact we'd the sofa bed out all day). The kitchinette even has a microwave/oven as well as a small dishwasher. Dishcloth, washing-up liquid, towel and dish brush are provided. A round dining table easily seats 4 people. Though our kids are somewhat older,1 day we noticed a child chair in the corridor. TV is reversible and more or less separates the (parental)bed from the sofa bed. There's a writing desk in front of one of the large windows looking over the (upscale) neighbourhood. Wireless worked up to expectation during our stay.

Staff, though not 24 hrs available, adequately answered our questions and Emails were answered promptly. Realize it's not serviced daily. (small) laundry facilities are available too.

Oslo is a great city to visit, but a rather expensive one. This holds for eating out, shopping, as well as entrancfe fees. Staying in an apartment helps to save on costs, but at the same time is so much more relaxing compared to staying at a hotel.

Two supermarkets can be found just around the corner: 100 meters/300 ft.

It's a 10-15 min walk from the apartment to the city center (but a tram stop is around the corner for when you're not into walking). You can reach the apartments at Skovveien by express train from the airport (30 min)l stop at National Theater, but take exit H. Ibsen and from there walk for 5 minutes.

Consider buying the Oslo pass if you intend to visit (many) museums (valid for either 24, 48 or 72 hrs). Metro, tram, buss and ferries are included. Realize on Mondays many museums are closed (so consider that when buying a certain time frame pass!!)! Most museums on Bogdoy peninsula are open on Monday though.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellerfr0mH0lland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House Apartments - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear travellers from Holland,
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and great to hear that you found it suitable for the whole family. We and fellow travellers I am sure appreciate the detailed description provided. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I lived in apartment in Oscars Gate 86. The building is located in a very quiet street near the center. To a Kings palace is just some 10 min., center and Aker Brygge is about 15-20 min. on foot. But bus and tram goes about every 5 minutes at daytime if you get tired. Manny little shops all around in the area if you don't like big shopping centers.
Rooms are fully equipped with everything from dishwasher to vacuum cleaner, beds are very comfortable and towels are being changed once a week. Staff is always there for a client, just don't hesitate to ask :)
Frogner House organizes some running marathons and other activities to those active ones who like jogging for example.
If you're planning to get some guests be prepared to pay for an extra bed set ant towels. But if you rent a single room with a double bed, extra bed set and towels will be already included.
Price might seem a little bit high, but it's normal in Norwegian standards for a recently renovated apartment so near the center :)
I get en impression that the place is just perfect for a business trips.
Totally recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Egle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House Apartments - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Egle,Thank you kindly for your review. We are depneding on your feedback to continue to improve ourselves. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in Oscars gate. As for the marathon The Frogner House Team are all suited up for this Saturday Holmenkoll stafetten. Wish us luck! Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Fantastic place to stay! Due to Oslo being so expensive it was easy to go around the corner , get a few essentials and cook a light meal! Everything we needed was in the studio apartment! Great, comfy bed and wonderful to have a laundry after z1 week of travel with a backpack and limited clothes! Well worth the stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flinties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House Apartments - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Flinties,
thank you kinldy for your review we highly appreciated it. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future. Until then take care. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed at the Skovveien 8 apartments and were very pleased with the quality of the rooms. We booked through their website and had an SBB room, which was described as a business studio with a balcony. The room is much more like a hotel room than an apartment, and although the self catering facilities were very welcome due to how expensive even thinking about eating out in Oslo is, they were quite minimal in this room - a two ring electric hob, microwave, kettle and pots and pans. We really missed the inclusion of a toaster and had to brown bread in a pan on the hob instead. There was no dishwasher in this room, which wasn't too much of an issue for us, but looking at pictures of other rooms, the larger ones seem to have more extensive self-catering facilities, so ours were likely smaller as we had a cheaper room.

Even though described as a studio, the room was a good size and didn't feel at all cramped. The bathroom was nice and the shower was great. The bed was extremely comfortable and a great size even for a couple who are used to sleeping in a Super King Size bed at home. The balcony was very nice and overlooked Frognerveien. If it was summer and not snowing outside as it was during our stay, it would have been very pleasant to sit out on.

The location of the apartments is very good, and within a short flat walking distance of the centre, Karl Johans Gate. It took us maybe a 15 minute slow walk into the centre in the snow, and during our stay we only got a tram once, which was to get us to Oslo S Station with luggage. Oslo is a very easy city to walk around, it is very flat and everything seems to be quite close together. There is a supermarket, Kiwi, within a 30 second walk of the apartment, which is very handy. There is wifi available in the room which is generally ok but can grind to a halt in the early evening when more people are using it.

Coming from the airport, we got the Flytoget train straight to the Nationaltheatret. At that station, we left by the exit to Henrik Ibsens Gate. This brought us out just opposite the US embassy, and then walking straight up Henrik Ibsens Gate with the embassy still on your left, you will pass the Nobel Institute. Walk from here until you get to the next intersection and then turn right onto Frognerveien. Walk straight up this road, past the Jewel of India until you get to Skovveien. The apartments are just opposite on the right hand side of Frognerveien. At a slow walk with luggage, it should still only take around 5 minutes. Unfortunately the lift was broken during our stay so two flights of stairs with a suitcase was a bit challenging.

The additional touches from Frogner really make the difference. The day before we were due to arrive, we received an email confirming that they were expecting us and giving directions, and the day before we were due to leave, received a text advising us of the quick check out option as the main desk is not manned very early morning.

Overall, it is a really nice place to stay and I would highly recommend it as a base for Oslo. I would also recommend getting the T-bane up to Frognerseteren to see the beautiful sights over Oslo, and walking down from there to see the ski jump at Holmenkollen. If you have a 24 hour metro pass, the T-bane is included and it takes less than 30 minutes to get up there, with some great views on the way.

Room Tip: If well equipped self catering facilities are important to you, it may be worth considering upgradin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House Apartments - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Tina,
We thank you kindly for your review and feedback. It is very important for us to be able to improve ourselves. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. It is starting to warm up in the city now and we are looking forward to summer snaking up on us. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

You walk into a super chic entrance, greeted by a lovely receptionist, booking was located right away~the decor is relaxing, everywhere. Our room was well appointed, the kitchette was nice, it was great to be able to do laundry. Free wifi in the rooms, big windows, nice neighborhood. I wish more places had hotel/apartments like this~I'm spoiled for anything less.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpriteyChicagoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrognerHouse, Front Office Manager at Frogner House Apartments - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Dear Spritey Chigagoland,
Thank you kinldy for your review, we are stoked to hear that you had a great experience staying with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Have a great day!
Kind Regards Frogner House Apartments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

I made a reservation there and I got in touch with the management team because I had some specail requests. At the end I was forced to cancel my reservation because my mum got sick. Although I had paid in advance they were extremely accommodating and helpful and I ended up getting a refund. They had the best customer service I've ever experienced in a hotel, absolutely exceeded my expectations.

Stayed: May 2012
Thank NMS20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrognerHouse, Front Office Manager at Frogner House Apartments - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Thank you kindly for your review, your feedback is highly valuable to us. I am pleased you got the assitance you needed and we hope your mom has recovered. Hope to welcome you in the future.
Kind Regards Frogner House Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 103 in Oslo
881 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#18 of 103 in Oslo
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frogner House Apartments - Skovveien 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogner House Apartments - Skovveien 8

Address: Skovveien 8, Oslo 0257, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Oslo
#6 Best Value Hotel in Oslo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £81 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frogner House Apartments - Skovveien 8 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frogner House offers you fully furnished serviced apartments imbued with more than 100 years' worth of homey atmosphere in the very heart of the most up-market neighbourhood in Oslo, Frogner. We offer Free WIFI, free laundry facilities, breakfast delivery to your door, and the comfort and freedom you appreciate in your own home.Your home when you are not! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Frogner House Apartments - Skovveien 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frogner House Hotel Oslo
Frogner Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing