We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location, great for family!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Frogner House - Skovveien 8
Ranked #7 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, great for family!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

We are a couple with two children (1.5 and 3.5 years old). We are just back from our first ever visit to Oslo for a three night break.

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment at Oscarsgate.

The apartment had one room downstairs with kitchen and dining area, and a bathroom off this.

There was one bedroom upstairs with a mezzanine sitting room adjacent which had a pull out sofa bed. I think that all of the apartments have a different layout though so this is just an example!

The apartment was very well equipped and in very good condition. We were left plenty of towels and basic kitchen needs (dishwasher tablet, washing up liquid etc).

There was a lift so great for buggy and suitcases.

The few minor negatives were that there was a steep staircase "a zig zag stairs" as per our 3 year old, which was ok for us but would be challenging for anyone nervous about strange stairs or afraid of ladders; also the obvious place for the kids to sleep was the mezzanine and there was no stairgate - we improvised and always supervised the children but if you have young children this is not ideal; there was very little headroom in most of the bedroom which again was ok for us but would be a problem if you did not like bending your back; also there was no wine opener!

But apart from this the aoartment was great! The location was fantastic. Right next to lovely shops and cafes, supermarkets, tram bus and taxi services right there. Short walk to city centre and harbour.

We would highly recommend the apartment and would definately stay there if we return to Oslo.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinAmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Dublin family,

thank you kindly for the kind review. It is correct that all our apartments have different layout and therefore we can suggest to request an apartment without stairs if this is preferred. We can not guarantee all request however we certainly o our best to meet them.
We do hope to welcome you back during your next visit to Oslo.
have a great summer!
kind Regards
Frogner House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    194
    46
    12
    12
See reviews for
149
189
40
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Having recently retuned from a stay at Frogner House Skovveien 8, we would definitely recommend this location to others if you want a private, self contained apartment in a nice area of Oslo. The location at Skovveien 8 is very convenient for public transport (trams and buses stop directly outside) and the train station is only a 5 minute walk away - we got the 'flytoget' train from the Airport to National Theatre Train Station, which was very convenient.
We had a studio business room, which was small, one room plus bathroom, but had all that you would need - small oven/microwave, small hob, fridge (no freezer) and plenty of crockery, cutlery, cooking utensils.
A Laundry area is located on each floor containing free washing machine, dryer, iron and ironing board.
Despite being located on a busy road junction - the room we had was very quiet, just occasional traffic noise, which lessened during night time, and infact, we heard NO noise at all from other rooms and fellow residents, which was great.
Only two real gripes .... the air conditioning/heating is centrally controlled, which means you cannot turn it off. This is a real nuisance when the room is too hot, and also if you want to sleep early, as the noise of the air conditioning unit is quite loud. It seems to be turned off by the hotel around 11pm, but back on around 7:30am.
Also - they should invest in some better lighting! the room was so dark, we had to drag the chairs over to the window to be able to read, and even then, it was a struggle.
Food shopping can be done at either of the two Seven-Eleven Shops or the Kiwi Mini-Prix - all three shops are a one/two minute walk away.
Local area is nice for cafes and restaurants, the Jewel of India does a great curry.
Easy, pleasant walk to all the major Oslo attractions and sights.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor - level 5 - to minimise traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauriceb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Maurice,

Thank you kindly for the review we appreciate it . I am also sure your fellow travellers appreciate all the detailed information provided.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back here. Have a great summer!
Frogner House Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

We felt very glamorous staying in this part of town. A relative found this hotel for us, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Being accustomed to 24-hour front desk service, we were surprised to arrive at 23:20 only to see a sign on the door saying that reception closed at 23:00. After a panicky buzz to the security service linked to the front door, we discovered to our relief that our keys were at the 7-11 around the corner. Our studio suite had plenty of room for our 2 adults and 2 tweens (they got the pullout couch and pronounced it far superior to USA pullout couches), and it was nice to have a fridge in the room and free laundry facilities right down the hall. We enjoyed fancy continental breakfasts at the 2 cafes on the block and there is a small grocery around the corner. There was a pleasant concierge during the day if we needed any help, but it is definitely different from staying at a full-service hotel--truly like staying in an apartment that someone has let to you while they are out of town. Easy access to trams and busses headed to the train station, Majorstua, Vigelandparken and Bygdoy, and an easy walk up to Slottsparken. We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Maybeinerror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Charlotte,

Thank you kindly for your review. We do appreciate it very much.
As we are a provide of apartments and not hotels you will yes experience our facilities being slightly different. I am glad to hear it all worked out in the end. We do provide the information needed together with the booking confirmations however we do understand the details may sometimes be missed. I do like your heading, beautiful life, as it sure is here in Oslo. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Frogner House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Very convenient location - 200 metres from trams 12 and 13 from Central Station. Good sized, quiet room. Very well furnished and maintained. Spotlessly clean. Unobtrusive but very welcoming and efficient staff. Good coffee bars locally for breakfast

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Brian,
Thank you kindly for a very long and detailed description of your stay. We do appreciate this as its the only way we can improve. We are sorry to hear you had such a bad first impression staying with us. It appears to me that the issue you were facing is due to lack of communication and we will do the internal measure needed to improve this part.
as we do provide apartments we do operate slightly different form a hotel and there may be some misconception of what we do provide. We do in fact have only one reception divided by 9 different locations and some days we are out and about assisting all our guests however we are normally no longer than a few minus away and communicate this over the intercom. We do also have an entrance with no stairs leading right into a lovely elevator that takes you to the apartment floor. Maybe signage here is to poor and we will look into this.
I do hope your camera is ok!
As most Norwegian homes we do not either have AC. We only experience extreme hot days a few times during the summer hence normally no need of this. As much as we LOVE the hot summer days it does get a bit hot form time to time and can only recommend our guest to keep windows open and curtains closed to avoid the best part of the sun.

We do find it a shame that you did not enjoy your stay however hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back. By contacting our booking department directly we should be able to communicate the best possible way and find a location and apartment style that suits your needs.

Wish you a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Our adventure at Oscarsgate 86 began with dragging luggage up an 80m 1 in 10 access road only to discover that there was no reception. A returning guest told us that reception was in another street next to the bagel shop. So down the slope along the road and across the street (about 300m) we find another Frogner, follow two guests inside and again no reception. Outside on the entry is a button labelled in 10 point print and hiding in the afternoon shadows. Press this and a recorded message advises that some one will soon be with us. The girl greeting us was charming and apologetic about our lack of advice about these odd reception arrangements saying that we should have received notification by email about the need to find this building not Oscarsgate 86. Not very useful when data roaming is limited while travelling through the country side.
We check the original booking confirmation but unless read very carefully this arrangement appears to refer to after hours arrival.
So back across the street down the road up the ramp we go. This enforced city trek is all very well on a mild summer afternoon but not something I would like to do in the rain or snow.
We arrive.Standing on the second of four worn marble steps,reminders of former style, while holding a suitcase I learn that the heavy door opens out wards so stumbling back knock over my wife's suitcase while dropping my camera bag. The door closes itself so better prepared success is ours at the second attempt.
Thoughts of "what building regulations give planning permission to a residential facility to operate with no disability access" cross my mind.
Inside and three more disabled unfriendly steps up which to drag cases and we arrive at our apartment. There we discover that the bedroom and bathroom are in the basement down 12 perilously steep narrow steps that would be at home leading to a ship's galley. Architect designed and stained a fashionable slate grey they belong in an adventure playground. As a reasonably fit 66 year old I soon realise that the only way two 20 kg cases will get up and down these steps is with the assistance of a Norwegian lumberjack in full climbing kit. None are immediately available. We spend the three days with suitcases cluttering the small living space upstairs. The naked climb to dress after showering does however take us back to thoughts of younger days.
The one good thing about the basement bedroom is that the small windows let in very little of the midnight sun, unlike most Norwegian hotels which seem to want to let in as much light as possible to compensate for the dark days, so we can sleep at last without blindfolds.
In the absence of any information about the apartment I check for the air conditioning. What appears to be the control panel comes away in my hand revealing a circuit board connected to nothing. I hope that this means it is a wireless control but there is no other evidence of air con anywhere.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

It was the first time at Frogner House Skovveien 8. Came in a great apartment with my cousin. Felt like coming home. Came here because our place where we booked was full. Next time in Oslo I am sure that I go back. Great service, friendly and helpfull personnal, nice area. We stayed in room 205 with a kitchen, couch and dinertable. Bathroom was big and clean.
We got more than we expected for a small price. I'll be back!

Room Tip: the apartment with a lot of facilities 205 Skovveien
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grannyjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Joyce,

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to your retunr.
Have a great summer!
Frogner House Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This was the third time I stayed at the Frogner House in about five years, which tells that it's a place I like. It's a medium-sized apartment hotel in a nice central neighborhood just 15 minutes walk from the Akerbrygge harbor. It's comfortable, clean and cozy, although the rooms vary in style, size and layout (I remember that the last time, about three years ago, I had a super cozy room on the top floor; this time mine was just regular nice). The service is basic, but very friendly. You get a discount on breakfast in the neighboring café. The room cost is almost reasonable in Oslo where nothing is ever reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuhaUitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear JuhaUitto,
Thank you kindly for your review, it is very valuable to us. I am so pleased to hear that you keep coming back to stay with us and hope for many mores stays to come. If you have any requests in regarding apartment for your next stay don’t hesitate to contact us and we will do our best to meet your requirements. Have a great day and hope to see you soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
813 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#22 of 102 in Oslo
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frogner House - Skovveien 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogner House - Skovveien 8

Property: Frogner House - Skovveien 8
Address: Skovveien 8, Oslo 0257, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Oslo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#8 Best Value Hotel in Oslo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Frogner House - Skovveien 8 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frogner House offers you fully furnished serviced apartments imbued with more than 100 years' worth of homey atmosphere in the very heart of the most up-market neighbourhood in Oslo, Frogner.We offer Free WIFI, free laundry facilities, breakfast delivery to your door, and the comfort and freedom you appreciate in your own home.Your home when you are not! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Frogner House - Skovveien 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frogner House Hotel Oslo
Frogner Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing