We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located in Oslo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Frogner House - Skovveien 8
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We are a family and stayed 2 nigths in Oslo. The location was very convinient. The room was big enough for the entire family, with a kitchen to prepare the breakfast. Some restaurants in the vicinity are quite good. The hotel is calm and clean, it has been a good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gamult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Gamult,
Thank you kindly for your review, it is very valuable to us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Frogner House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
There are newer reviews for Frogner House - Skovveien 8
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

first of all they messed up my reservation, I booked for 2 weeks they made for only 1 night! and the booking process is terrible i had to send several emails to confirm it still they made it wrong.i made a mistake by smoking in the room which i admit is wrong, but i don't think that gave them right to punish me by paying 1500kr ! they could have warned me! on my 3rd day after i paid the 1500kr, my card was not functioning I went to the front desk and was told specificlly that my card doesn't work because i didn't pay the 1500kr! on my last day, they made a mistake about my paying, they totally messed up!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Quadrato,
Thank you kindly for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you had this experience staying with us. I remember the situation and aware that a lot of this had to do with miscommunication. Regarding the smoking fee this is a very strict policy and we intend to continue to follow this. Regarding no smoking warnings these are displayed in the apartments, in the information leaflet, well as communicated by the receptionist on check in. I am sorry to hear this was not sufficient. We intend to continue to improve and provide the best possible service for all our guest and welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The apartment was very clean, spacious with a well equipped kitchen and a comfortable bed. The location on an active pleasant neighborhood close to the city center is ideal for tourism or a business visit. Noise from the street is easily blocked by sound proof windows. The staff was quite helpful, helping us to change apartments when a window shade malfunctioned in June during the long sunny days of early Summer. Parking is available on the street by paying a machine 9AM to 5 PM and free outside those hours. A Kiwi food store on Frognersveien around the corner is reasonably well stocked. Tram and buses run nearby. The Nationalsteateret Tbane stop is 15 minutes walking from the apartment building.

Room Tip: Apartments on top floors have small skylight type windows. They are OK but lower floors may have be...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quadrato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Dear Travellers from Massachusetts,
Thank you kindly for the review we do appreciate it. Great details and tips for other travellers which is great.
Hope to see you next time you come to visit our beautiful country.
Have a great summer!
Kind Regards
Frogner House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

We are a couple with two children (1.5 and 3.5 years old). We are just back from our first ever visit to Oslo for a three night break.

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment at Oscarsgate.

The apartment had one room downstairs with kitchen and dining area, and a bathroom off this.

There was one bedroom upstairs with a mezzanine sitting room adjacent which had a pull out sofa bed. I think that all of the apartments have a different layout though so this is just an example!

The apartment was very well equipped and in very good condition. We were left plenty of towels and basic kitchen needs (dishwasher tablet, washing up liquid etc).

There was a lift so great for buggy and suitcases.

The few minor negatives were that there was a steep staircase "a zig zag stairs" as per our 3 year old, which was ok for us but would be challenging for anyone nervous about strange stairs or afraid of ladders; also the obvious place for the kids to sleep was the mezzanine and there was no stairgate - we improvised and always supervised the children but if you have young children this is not ideal; there was very little headroom in most of the bedroom which again was ok for us but would be a problem if you did not like bending your back; also there was no wine opener!

But apart from this the aoartment was great! The location was fantastic. Right next to lovely shops and cafes, supermarkets, tram bus and taxi services right there. Short walk to city centre and harbour.

We would highly recommend the apartment and would definately stay there if we return to Oslo.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinAmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Dear Dublin family,

thank you kindly for the kind review. It is correct that all our apartments have different layout and therefore we can suggest to request an apartment without stairs if this is preferred. We can not guarantee all request however we certainly o our best to meet them.
We do hope to welcome you back during your next visit to Oslo.
have a great summer!
kind Regards
Frogner House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Having recently retuned from a stay at Frogner House Skovveien 8, we would definitely recommend this location to others if you want a private, self contained apartment in a nice area of Oslo. The location at Skovveien 8 is very convenient for public transport (trams and buses stop directly outside) and the train station is only a 5 minute walk away - we got the 'flytoget' train from the Airport to National Theatre Train Station, which was very convenient.
We had a studio business room, which was small, one room plus bathroom, but had all that you would need - small oven/microwave, small hob, fridge (no freezer) and plenty of crockery, cutlery, cooking utensils.
A Laundry area is located on each floor containing free washing machine, dryer, iron and ironing board.
Despite being located on a busy road junction - the room we had was very quiet, just occasional traffic noise, which lessened during night time, and infact, we heard NO noise at all from other rooms and fellow residents, which was great.
Only two real gripes .... the air conditioning/heating is centrally controlled, which means you cannot turn it off. This is a real nuisance when the room is too hot, and also if you want to sleep early, as the noise of the air conditioning unit is quite loud. It seems to be turned off by the hotel around 11pm, but back on around 7:30am.
Also - they should invest in some better lighting! the room was so dark, we had to drag the chairs over to the window to be able to read, and even then, it was a struggle.
Food shopping can be done at either of the two Seven-Eleven Shops or the Kiwi Mini-Prix - all three shops are a one/two minute walk away.
Local area is nice for cafes and restaurants, the Jewel of India does a great curry.
Easy, pleasant walk to all the major Oslo attractions and sights.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor - level 5 - to minimise traffic noise.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauriceb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Dear Maurice,

Thank you kindly for the review we appreciate it . I am also sure your fellow travellers appreciate all the detailed information provided.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back here. Have a great summer!
Frogner House Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We felt very glamorous staying in this part of town. A relative found this hotel for us, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Being accustomed to 24-hour front desk service, we were surprised to arrive at 23:20 only to see a sign on the door saying that reception closed at 23:00. After a panicky buzz to the security service linked to the front door, we discovered to our relief that our keys were at the 7-11 around the corner. Our studio suite had plenty of room for our 2 adults and 2 tweens (they got the pullout couch and pronounced it far superior to USA pullout couches), and it was nice to have a fridge in the room and free laundry facilities right down the hall. We enjoyed fancy continental breakfasts at the 2 cafes on the block and there is a small grocery around the corner. There was a pleasant concierge during the day if we needed any help, but it is definitely different from staying at a full-service hotel--truly like staying in an apartment that someone has let to you while they are out of town. Easy access to trams and busses headed to the train station, Majorstua, Vigelandparken and Bygdoy, and an easy walk up to Slottsparken. We would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Maybeinerror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Dear Charlotte,

Thank you kindly for your review. We do appreciate it very much.
As we are a provide of apartments and not hotels you will yes experience our facilities being slightly different. I am glad to hear it all worked out in the end. We do provide the information needed together with the booking confirmations however we do understand the details may sometimes be missed. I do like your heading, beautiful life, as it sure is here in Oslo. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Frogner House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Very convenient location - 200 metres from trams 12 and 13 from Central Station. Good sized, quiet room. Very well furnished and maintained. Spotlessly clean. Unobtrusive but very welcoming and efficient staff. Good coffee bars locally for breakfast

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeneT846, Front Office Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Dear Brian,
Thank you kindly for a very long and detailed description of your stay. We do appreciate this as its the only way we can improve. We are sorry to hear you had such a bad first impression staying with us. It appears to me that the issue you were facing is due to lack of communication and we will do the internal measure needed to improve this part.
as we do provide apartments we do operate slightly different form a hotel and there may be some misconception of what we do provide. We do in fact have only one reception divided by 9 different locations and some days we are out and about assisting all our guests however we are normally no longer than a few minus away and communicate this over the intercom. We do also have an entrance with no stairs leading right into a lovely elevator that takes you to the apartment floor. Maybe signage here is to poor and we will look into this.
I do hope your camera is ok!
As most Norwegian homes we do not either have AC. We only experience extreme hot days a few times during the summer hence normally no need of this. As much as we LOVE the hot summer days it does get a bit hot form time to time and can only recommend our guest to keep windows open and curtains closed to avoid the best part of the sun.

We do find it a shame that you did not enjoy your stay however hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back. By contacting our booking department directly we should be able to communicate the best possible way and find a location and apartment style that suits your needs.

Wish you a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
829 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#19 of 102 in Oslo
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Grand Hotel
#10 of 102 in Oslo
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frogner House - Skovveien 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogner House - Skovveien 8

Address: Skovveien 8, Oslo 0257, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Oslo
#6 Best Value Hotel in Oslo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £84 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frogner House - Skovveien 8 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frogner House offers you fully furnished serviced apartments imbued with more than 100 years' worth of homey atmosphere in the very heart of the most up-market neighbourhood in Oslo, Frogner.We offer Free WIFI, free laundry facilities, breakfast delivery to your door, and the comfort and freedom you appreciate in your own home.Your home when you are not! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Frogner House - Skovveien 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frogner House Hotel Oslo
Frogner Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing