We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Frogner House - Skovveien 8
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Very clean apartment. Warm welcome by the receptionist and at home in an instant.
Only thing I missed in the studio was a chair to work at the desk and a powerplug other than for the lights. Located near City center with the Royal Palace around the corner.

Room Tip: all rooms are excelent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerrit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHA2014, Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Gerrit,
Thank you for your feedback. We value your comments and will take them in consideration for future improvements.
We hope to see you back one day!
Kind Regards, Emma Wendel, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

Traveling for business can be stressful and exhausting, but the staff at the Frogner house made me feel at home in a new city as soon as I arrived. As a first time visitor to Oslo, I found the central location of the hotel excellent as I was able to walk anywhere in the city within 10-20 minutes. Staff were able to provide me with directions and advice that proved very useful. The suite itself was well appointed and furnished. The bed and amenities were comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit Oslo.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenFerguson545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHA2014, Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Darren,
Thank you for your review!
It makes us very happy to hear that we were able to create an little more relaxed atmosphere on your business trip, and that you enjoyed staying with us.
Should business bring you back to Oslo again, please do not hesitate to contact us, we will be glad to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Emma Wendel, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The apartment is well decorated and the facilities; lounge downstairs, kitchen within the apartment, launderette are very helpful.

We travelled to the apartments via tram (no 12 outside the Oslo train station on the left side of the building) and stopped at 'Niel Juels' tram stop before walking 5 mins to the apartment.

Oslo is not very big and I think we would have walked the whole city was it not for the snow everywhere when we were here in January 2014.

There are shops and restaurants, supermarket, 7-11, mc donalds and a lot of other shops around the area.

We read reviews before booking the place and it we really liked the place. Yes the shower does get messy as the shower doors does not keep the water in, and I couldn't see any plugs on the kitchen table, so if you wanted to use the kettle, toaster or coffee machine provided, you had to put it on the floor.

But the deco and the layout of the room is so nice and felt like we almost could move in here for a month. It is refreshing to have stayed here away from hotels, since we were travelling a total of 16 days through Europe.

Would recommend and would return as the price was very competitive in Oslo.

Room Tip: Since the room is on a side street, the noise was not that noticable. We stayed in room 308 (place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHA2014, Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Good Morning,
Thank you for taking of your time to write a review! We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you could feel Home away from home.
We hope that you enjoyed your trip through Europe, and we hope to see you as a guest at Frogner House in the future!
Best Regards, Emma Wendel, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I've been working in Oslo full-time from France for the last month and stayed at the Frogner Service Apartments at Skoveien 8. It easily ticks all the boxes for the best service apartment I've stayed at.
Building: It's a beautiful, well-kept old building with a lot of character. The reception is well decorated and inviting with the smell of fresh coffee. There's laundry facilities on each floor and free to use.
Apartment: It has enough space to make you feel at home. The bed is amazing... it will be greatly missed when I leave. The kitchen is well stocked with cutlery etc. The bathroom is neat and clean. If anything the bathroom was missing more hooks for towels and the apartment's mood lighting was a little too dark.
Location: It is #1 with 2min walk to Solli Plass for all buses/trams, dozens of cafes and bars within the street corner and 7/11, mini-mart and ICA supermarket across the road. It is 10min walk to NationalTheatret for flytoget to airport. The area is safe and well-lit. It is the perfect inner city location and I loved that I was living above a bagel shop.
Staff: The reception staff were always helpful and friendly. Cecilie always responded to my emails promptly and with all the information I needed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHA2014, Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Hello,
What a pleasant start of the morning to read your review!
This is just what we want our guest to feel when they are staying with us, and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us whilst working in Oslo.
Should you be coming back to Oslo in the future we will be more than happy to welcome you back. (You might be happy for the information that we are working on improvements of the lightnings in the apartments)
Kind Regards, Emma Wendel, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We were delighted with our room in Skovvein 8. Big room, dining table and small kitchenette. Just what you want in one of the most expensive cities in the world. We were able to buy our own breakfast stuff and keep drinks in the fridge. Our only disappointment was that there was no icebox to store ice (especially at £4 a bag!). The bed was so comfortable, it triggered me into buying a topper just like it when I got home. Stylish and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maccbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHA2014, Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Good Morning from Oslo,
Thank you for your review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and got a good nights sleep in our comfy beds. We will take your comment about the ice box into consideration.
We hope to see you here again some time!
Kind Regards, Emma Wendel, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed in a studio apartment for 5 nights while visiting our daughter who is living on a boat which is not for us, particularly in January! The room was very spacious with a table and two comfortable chairs. On arrival the receptionist was most helpful and when we had settled in directed us to 'Swashbucklers' coffee shop for a relaxing coffee and cake. Our daughter had left a bag of essential food for us, so we stayed in this first evening and had scrambled egg on toast, cooked in the spotless kitchenette. As our daughter was working the following day, the receptionist gave us a map and suggestions for a sightseeing day. The apartments are well placed near bus and tram stops and not far from the National Theatre train station. We made our own breakfast each morning and it was great being able to make our own tea and coffee etc. when we wanted to. We had use of laundry and drying facilities, which I used once and a vacuum cleaner if I had wanted it. We did find that if we used the shower on full power the water didn't drain fast enough and flooded the bathroom floor! There was a mop and bucket in the bathroom, suggesting that this was an on-going problem. This is the reason I haven't given 5 stars, We will be returning to Oslo in the future and we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHA2014, Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear Margaret,
Thank you for taking of your time to write a review!
we appreciate your feedback, and we will take your comments in consideration and check the drains in the building so that the water will not come out on the floor outside the shower. As your daughter is living in Oslo I assume that you will be returning to Oslo, and we will be more than happy to accommodate you again for your next visit.
Wish you a wonderful Sunday,
Best Regards, Emma Wendel, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We rented suite 205 for new years eve. Such a lovely room, even with the sofa made up for two of our sons, and a baby bed for our littlest. As this is apartment rental it is not as pricey as a hotel, but the interiors and rooms are so much better. And there are breakfast and other dining possibilities all around - and of course, a kitchen in the apartment.
Great location, sweet service minded staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetterJahre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHA2014, Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Petter,
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed staying with us at Frogner House apartments..
We hope to 'welcome you home' another time when you are away from home, and visiting Oslo.
Kind Regards
Emma Wendel, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
848 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#21 of 102 in Oslo
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
368 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frogner House - Skovveien 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogner House - Skovveien 8

Address: Skovveien 8, Oslo 0257, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Oslo
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oslo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £84 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frogner House - Skovveien 8 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frogner House offers you fully furnished serviced apartments imbued with more than 100 years' worth of homey atmosphere in the very heart of the most up-market neighbourhood in Oslo, Frogner.We offer Free WIFI, free laundry facilities, breakfast delivery to your door, and the comfort and freedom you appreciate in your own home.Your home when you are not! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Frogner House - Skovveien 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frogner House Hotel Oslo
Frogner Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing