We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel/apartment in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frogner House - Skovveien 8

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Frogner House - Skovveien 8
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great hotel/apartment in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned home from a trip to Oslo/Norway. Stayed for a week at the Skovveien 8 location (main building with the front desk).

Very friendly and helpful staff, easy check in and check out, and wonderful decor. The location was perfect; 15 minute walk from Oslo Central train station (great for day trips via the train around Norway and easy access to the Olso and Sandefjord airports), a 2 minute walk to the Royal Palace, and a 10 minute walk to Frogner Park/Vigelandsparken. There was a grocery store practically beside the hotel which was great as we cooked the majority of our meals in the well equipped kitchen in our apartment; the tea kettle boiled water so fast!

There were no loud bars or night clubs (we had an apartment over looking the street) near by and there was very little night time traffic, basically we had a peaceful sleep every night.

Would recommend this hotel/apartment to anyone staying in Oslo for more than a couple of days.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHA2014, Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Sarah,
Thank you for your review!
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Frogner House as well as the location. We hope we will be able to welcome you back one day.
Kind Regards, Emma Wendel, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    164
    39
    9
    12
See reviews for
120
150
35
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

- i do not see the necessity to get 1500 kr. deposit from customers, i stayed in apartments before and was never asked to pay a deposit.
- the internet access is given for one person/one device, if one person has two devices (laptop + mobile device) then you have to sign off one in order to sign in the other. i find this a bit odd, especially in a geography where internet reach is easier in almost all hotels.
- 3PM check-in is late
- there was only one small bar of soap that was given for three people and it was never renewed the next day. i find this really odd. this is just soap, a very cheap item...
- we made the reservation for three people and whe we first came to the room we saw there was not an extra bed for the third person. we had to ask the reservation desk and it took en extra half an hour to arrange an extra bed, i wish this was arranged beforehand without us having to ask.
- there was a device hidden in the open kitchen cupboard that made a continuous humming noise that may prevent one from sleeping comfortably.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muratgermen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHA2014, Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Good Morning,
Thank you for your review and for your valuable feedback on how we can improve our services.
regarding the extra bed it should of course have been prepared for you before your arrival, and I apologize that this was missed this time.
regarding the humming noise in the kitchen we have had our janitors to look at this and get it fixed.
Kind Regards, Emma Wendel, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

This small hotel is very beautifully decorated.
I stayed at the top floor in a reasonable sized bedroom with a great bathroom. There's a queen bed a small rounded table and a kitchenette, which was very helpful. There's a market just around the corner where we could buy everything we needed for preparing our meals.
We missed simple stuff that would made everything perfect: instructions on how to operate the oven (first time I had to go after someone to help me turn it on) and hangers in the bathroom (it was very spacious but there's no place to put your stuff).
I didn't like that I had to share a queen bed with my mom, apparently the hotel don't have rooms with two separate single beds. I asked for it when I booked and again at the front office, but they said they didn't have them.
Be aware that there's no one at the hotel from 11pm to 08am, so it's not good for people arriving on those hours.
Overall, it's a great location and a modern, clean hotel.
I would come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trip_marylet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHA2014, Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for your review.
we are happy to hear that you liked the interior of Frogner House, and that you overall had a good stay. We are currently working on imrpovements,and since your stay in June we have now started with a 24/7 hours open reception, so if anyone arrives late they will have the night duty assisting them with check in. We do have a few studi apartments were we can make the double beds into single beds, and I am sorry we did not have any available for your stay.
Kind Regards, Emma Wendel, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorinchem, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Very clean apartment. Warm welcome by the receptionist and at home in an instant.
Only thing I missed in the studio was a chair to work at the desk and a powerplug other than for the lights. Located near City center with the Royal Palace around the corner.

Room Tip: all rooms are excelent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHA2014, Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Gerrit,
Thank you for your feedback. We value your comments and will take them in consideration for future improvements.
We hope to see you back one day!
Kind Regards, Emma Wendel, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Traveling for business can be stressful and exhausting, but the staff at the Frogner house made me feel at home in a new city as soon as I arrived. As a first time visitor to Oslo, I found the central location of the hotel excellent as I was able to walk anywhere in the city within 10-20 minutes. Staff were able to provide me with directions and advice that proved very useful. The suite itself was well appointed and furnished. The bed and amenities were comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit Oslo.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenFerguson545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHA2014, Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Darren,
Thank you for your review!
It makes us very happy to hear that we were able to create an little more relaxed atmosphere on your business trip, and that you enjoyed staying with us.
Should business bring you back to Oslo again, please do not hesitate to contact us, we will be glad to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Emma Wendel, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

The apartment is well decorated and the facilities; lounge downstairs, kitchen within the apartment, launderette are very helpful.

We travelled to the apartments via tram (no 12 outside the Oslo train station on the left side of the building) and stopped at 'Niel Juels' tram stop before walking 5 mins to the apartment.

Oslo is not very big and I think we would have walked the whole city was it not for the snow everywhere when we were here in January 2014.

There are shops and restaurants, supermarket, 7-11, mc donalds and a lot of other shops around the area.

We read reviews before booking the place and it we really liked the place. Yes the shower does get messy as the shower doors does not keep the water in, and I couldn't see any plugs on the kitchen table, so if you wanted to use the kettle, toaster or coffee machine provided, you had to put it on the floor.

But the deco and the layout of the room is so nice and felt like we almost could move in here for a month. It is refreshing to have stayed here away from hotels, since we were travelling a total of 16 days through Europe.

Would recommend and would return as the price was very competitive in Oslo.

Room Tip: Since the room is on a side street, the noise was not that noticable. We stayed in room 308 (place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHA2014, Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Good Morning,
Thank you for taking of your time to write a review! We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you could feel Home away from home.
We hope that you enjoyed your trip through Europe, and we hope to see you as a guest at Frogner House in the future!
Best Regards, Emma Wendel, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I've been working in Oslo full-time from France for the last month and stayed at the Frogner Service Apartments at Skoveien 8. It easily ticks all the boxes for the best service apartment I've stayed at.
Building: It's a beautiful, well-kept old building with a lot of character. The reception is well decorated and inviting with the smell of fresh coffee. There's laundry facilities on each floor and free to use.
Apartment: It has enough space to make you feel at home. The bed is amazing... it will be greatly missed when I leave. The kitchen is well stocked with cutlery etc. The bathroom is neat and clean. If anything the bathroom was missing more hooks for towels and the apartment's mood lighting was a little too dark.
Location: It is #1 with 2min walk to Solli Plass for all buses/trams, dozens of cafes and bars within the street corner and 7/11, mini-mart and ICA supermarket across the road. It is 10min walk to NationalTheatret for flytoget to airport. The area is safe and well-lit. It is the perfect inner city location and I loved that I was living above a bagel shop.
Staff: The reception staff were always helpful and friendly. Cecilie always responded to my emails promptly and with all the information I needed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHA2014, Manager at Frogner House - Skovveien 8, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hello,
What a pleasant start of the morning to read your review!
This is just what we want our guest to feel when they are staying with us, and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us whilst working in Oslo.
Should you be coming back to Oslo in the future we will be more than happy to welcome you back. (You might be happy for the information that we are working on improvements of the lightnings in the apartments)
Kind Regards, Emma Wendel, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#24 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frogner House - Skovveien 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogner House - Skovveien 8

Property: Frogner House - Skovveien 8
Address: Skovveien 8, Oslo 0257, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Oslo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Frogner House - Skovveien 8 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frogner House offers you fully furnished serviced apartments imbued with more than 100 years' worth of homey atmosphere in the very heart of the most up-market neighbourhood in Oslo, Frogner.We offer Free WIFI, free laundry facilities, breakfast delivery to your door, and the comfort and freedom you appreciate in your own home.Your home when you are not! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Frogner House - Skovveien 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frogner House Hotel Oslo
Frogner Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing