We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Hotel Grims Grenka
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

I booked the hotel off a website that only lists higher end hotels and I expected more. The rooms are dark and dreary and the air conditioning definitely does not work. The breakfast is fine. The beds are comfortable. However, that's about all I've got. The walls need a new paint job and the rooms need updating. The patio bar wasn't even open when I was here. Not bad, but wouldn't return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank talula77London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    212
    150
    94
    52
See reviews for
64
317
45
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CWB
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Good breakfast, Jetsons's like shower, cool bar on the rooftop, right in the middle of the city. Would definetely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuiBreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Great central location, we liked the hotel very much. Friendly, helpful staff, comfortable and quiet room. Beds out of this world, a spacious seating area, and good bathroom. Designer lighting took a bit of getting used to, and we would have liked reading lights on both sides of the bed. Breakfast very good, and free coffee in lobby a really nice touch. Thank you all, we hope to stay with you again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aggydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Surrounded by plenty of pubs the location isn't bad, but you are not in city center. Nice lobby with a bar below and on the roof deck. But our room was designed oddly and entry to the bathroom included a step up, which was always tripping us up. The bathroom showed is unique as well, which must be inspired by water spilling off a cliff.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C_and_MH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oslo hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Would love to give this hotel a better rating and I must stress it was my room that I had a problem with and it might not apply to others.

Firstly the location is good. On a quiet street near to the harbour and the fort. It's also a short walk to the main shopping street and the railway station. There is also a tram stop round the corner, so it's easy to get to the railway station that way.

The staff at this hotel were always, friendly, courteous and helpful. I particularly think the staff organising the breakfast were very good. The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of hot and cold dishes, fruit, cereals, cold meats, scrambled eggs, bacon, pastries etc.

The room I'm afraid spoilt my experience. The rooms are a good size, I had a room that faced the inner atrium and was therefore always dark. That's in June with virtually constant daylight, I had to have the lights on. The lights above the bed made a great deal of noise when they were on and after you switched them off to go to sleep, this meant they kept you awake. The air conditioning was either too hot or too cold and was continuously fluctuating, I would wake up hot and then cold during the night. The bathrooms were designed in a contemporary fashion, but that was at the cost of practicality. There is a window in the bathroom which means you can partly see in and out of it. Some might find it lacks privacy. Even romantic couples don't want to see each other using the toilet! The shower is like a water fall and the force is too strong. The water goes everywhere in the rest of the bathroom meaning you can't do anything else in there after a shower.

If you go in the winter the atrium room probably won't make much difference and if you can live with the part see through bathroom, it's still worth a try as the staff and breakfast are good. But because of my experience I could only mark it average.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces outside onto the street, especially in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MysticManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domat/Ems, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

As I made my way I the direction of the google map I couldn't believe my luck! Right next to some of the most historic areas of Oslo, old looking on the outside yet a modern designer hotel! And three for two pricing when prebooked. Best breakfast. Enish speaking helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torrie_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My husband and I returned from a long weekend and the First Hotel was offering 3 nights for the price of 2 - a significant savings in Oslo. For the price we paid, we found the hotel to be great for our needs. Its close to the waterfront making it easy to find shops/restaurants/bars as well as pick up a water taxi to other parts of down. The hotel was modern in design, albeit some parts a bit over-complicated like the room's lighting system while some parts needed fixing. Also we had an "atrium view" room which means you face the interior atrium of the hotel - no outside windows/light (although the hotel's atrium has a glass roof so not completely closed off) Service was great - friendly staff, a nespresso self-serve station in the lobby (which is set up almost like a living room with plenty of couch seating around a large screen TV and small library of books), free Oslo city guides in each room. However, during the entire weekend we were there, the phone system throughout the hotel didn't work (so we couldn't reach the front desk and similarly they couldn't help with booking taxis, dinner reservations, etc), and also the room key system was down so we had to be escorted to and from our room every time. I found this ridiculous for 3 days, although the staff were always apologetic and available to help. Breakfast was included and a relatively large continental spread, but again perhaps a big over-complicated - offered many choices, yet the eggs were practically cooked solid every day (cold dishes were better). The saving grace was the absolutely lovely roof-top terrace. Its a small space but well designed with a modern bar (amazing cocktails), a DJ on Saturday, huge down pillows to sit/lay on in the sun, as well as white fleece blankets. The area is relatively protected from the wind so despite the 12 degree days, my husband and I comfortably stayed there reading for hours in the sun. If you can get a deal off the rack rate (which i would find quite high for this property), worth the stay.

Room Tip: Atrium view rooms are interior facing, although offer a good quite night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlsnyc04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
First Hotel Millennium
First Hotel Millennium
#49 of 100 in Oslo
849 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Grims Grenka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Grims Grenka

Property: First Hotel Grims Grenka
Address: Kongens gate 5, Oslo 0153, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Oslo
#21 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — First Hotel Grims Grenka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Grims Grenka in Oslo city center is no ordinary hotel. The design of the hotel creates a special atmosphere for its guests, one that needs to be experienced. The hotel has 65 rooms, all of which are larger than 20 square meters and offer high quality facilities such as Jensen beds, Samsung LED Smart TVs and personalized light controls. Hotel guests can also enjoy one of the very few rooftop terraces Oslo has to offer. Grims Grenka's own roof top lounge: Q Lounge. When the weather gets hot the drinks get even hotter. First Hotel Grims Grenka is a well-known design hotel to the citizens of Oslo. Press-conferences, photo shoots, product launches, parties and other events are frequently held at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Grims Grenka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Grims Grenka
First Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing