We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow check-in at the reception desk. Nice breakfast and room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
First Hotel Grims Grenka
Ranked #51 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 28 September 2012

A nice hotel. But some flaws. The check-in took 15 minutes. I had to wait without anybody at the desk. Nice and clean rooms. Excellent breakfast. Ok bar. Somewhat expensive compared to overall quality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

455 - 461 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

We were looking for a hotel in Oslo in a bit of a hurry, and Grims Grenka was the most affordable we found.

The location was excellent: walking distance to the Opera house, railway station, bus station, the harbour area with the city hall... My husband and I like to walk, so we also went to Vigeland park by foot. Many nice restaurants and shops also nearby.

Our room had window to the lobby instead of the street, so it was darker and dimmer than we expected. Otherwise, the room was very modern. Nice and clean bathroom with good selection of soaps etc. Bed was comfortable, and it was really silent (once in a while it felt we were the only visitors!).

The breakfast was included and it was the best hotel breakfast I have ever had. My mouth is still watering when I'm thinking about it!

The staff was super helpful, printing us instructions how to get to one attraction in difficult location. They were always smiling and greeting us. In the last day, our bus left already around 4.30 am to the airport, and the girl in the reception brought us "take away breakfast" without asking.

If I ever go to Oslo again, I will definitely stay in First Hotel Grims Grenka!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anni2455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Where to begin... The hotel does so many things nearly right, but nothing well. Desk staff is sincere but useless... How can they not know where the nearest metro stop is, or which tram to take to the sculpture park? Or if there is a nearby restaurant open after 21:00.. Lobby is chic till you see the art work which is dreadful. Rooms are chic till you cant see in the bathroom or figure out how to sort out the lighting system ( no simple on or off buttons but buttons that say things like Work and Party, seriously.. party? No a disco ball doesn't drop, so I don't get the point ). Shower is difficult to operate at first, though it looks good, however once you get it working it splashes water all over bathroom floor even though there is a door. No Bell staff. No check in before 3pm even if the hotel is empty, even though most flights arrive in the morning. Large rooms but dim lighting, and no outside light, so one wonders what the weather is like ... coolish design but odd proportions. Does it beat anything else on offer in Oslo .. Yes.. is it all it wants to be or should be? .. not even close ... but then for 200 a night .. I should just shut up.

Room Tip: your guess is as good as mine .. though one with an outside view would help with dictating the weath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoshuaSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This was the last hotel on our holiday in Norway and we thought we would want to have a really nice hotel to end the trip.
It looked really great on the Internet and so we were prepared to pay considerably more than on the other hotels. What a stupid idea.

We arrived at 14.30 and were informed, that no room was available until 16.00

When we came back at16.00 it took us nearly 30 minutes to check in because the girl at the reception took for ever to deal with 3 people in front of us. When she finally turned to us she tried to get phone numbers and email addresses from us and insisted at first that this was obligatory for the checking in process. When I asked what they needed the information for she said it was for later communication. Only when I demanded to speak to the manager she would let us check in without handing out this information.

The room was very large in very modern design but completely without soul. Dark brown and grey and not a single picture on the wall. The heating in the bathroom and in the toilet were broken, both rooms were boiling hot and the temperature could not be turned down. One visit to the toilet and I was drenched with sweat. We told the reception but they could not fix it and another room was not available.

Then we inspected the minibar and discovered that there were two empty bottles in there and we had a hard time to explain to the useless reception person that we did not have this drinks and that we were not prepared to pay for them.

The only window in the room went to a dark little backyard and could not be opened.

Bedding and matrasses were dreadful.

At first glance breakfast looked good but when inspected more closely everything was of mediocre quality

All in all a hotel wich tries to be a top design hotel and does not at all reach these expectations and is highly overpriced.

Do not go there

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dilworth99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Located near the rail station and main tourist attractions in city centre (10 minutes walk).
The first room was cramped and dark but had high-tech fittings & fixtures (another reviewer mentioned a bath/ shower out of Jetsons. I agree). Got it changed next day to a more conventional but airy/ lighted room with a view. LCD TVs are good. Lighting controls needed a bit of experimentation to figure out.
Staff was very friendly and accommodative.
Breakfast was sumptuous. Bar was noisy but enjoyable. Did not try other restaurants/ amenities in the hotel.
Price was not the cheapest, but OK value for money.
Advise to Management: You have a good hotel with great location, staff and service. But next time you renovate it, don't let your architect run away with fancy ideas to the detriment of guests' comfort and convenience. Utility should score over Eye-candy.

Room Tip: There's a mix of high-tech and conventional rooms. Check them out before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALimaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

I booked the hotel off a website that only lists higher end hotels and I expected more. The rooms are dark and dreary and the air conditioning definitely does not work. The breakfast is fine. The beds are comfortable. However, that's about all I've got. The walls need a new paint job and the rooms need updating. The patio bar wasn't even open when I was here. Not bad, but wouldn't return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank talula77London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Good breakfast, Jetsons's like shower, cool bar on the rooftop, right in the middle of the city. Would definetely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuiBreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
First Hotel Millennium
First Hotel Millennium
#49 of 103 in Oslo
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 103 in Oslo
881 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Grims Grenka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Grims Grenka

Address: Kongens gate 5, Oslo 0153, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Oslo
#23 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £115 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — First Hotel Grims Grenka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Grims Grenka in Oslo city center is no ordinary hotel. The design of the hotel creates a special atmosphere for its guests, one that needs to be experienced. The hotel has 65 rooms, all of which are larger than 20 square meters and offer high quality facilities such as Jensen beds and personalized light controls. First Hotel Grims Grenka offers an in-house restaurant MADU for our guests. The restaurant offers a contemporary take on international comfort food, served in a casual setting. Applying modern twists on good old classics, we manage to make the best, even better. The creativity and experience of our kitchen team, provides an international long travelled concept, prepared with local seasonal produce. Hotel guests can also enjoy one of Europe’s to 50 rooftop terraces, Q Lounge. Seasonal open between approximately Mid May to Mid-September - it is a hidden pearl in the middle of Oslo. Here you can soak in Norwegian summer, and enjoy drinks and food of high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your First Hotel Grims Grenka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Grims Grenka
First Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing