We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cool but too dark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Hotel Grims Grenka
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“cool but too dark”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

TOO dark! its black in the room, in the breakfast place, in the lobby, anywhere, its a little bit depressing.... but otherwise the deocration is cool. IT was very clean, people were very nice. It was too cold in the room (no possibility to be warmer).
PLUS NO ACCESS FOR STROLLER! (or for handicaped people, thats very weird!)
Quite small room too...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolineswedenstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    212
    150
    94
    52
See reviews for
64
317
45
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ski Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Me and my wife stayed at this hotell last month and booked a (garden) suite for 1 night. We however found so many mistakes and poor maintenance of our room that we complained to the the general manager who promptly appologised and offered to stay at the hotel again at our first conveniance on their costs. We happily agreed and last night we stayed again, this time we were placed in an "autumn suite" that was absolutely lovely, mind you there are a few hick-ups with the hotel but they are no big deal and when pointed out it is resolved swiftly by front-of-house .

Last night was really wonderfull and since we had a dining table in our suite we decided to order in from the restaurant meny. This was a good choice and the confit braised shank of lam was to die for. After this me an the missus jumped in the huge bathtub and enjoyed an evening in peace and quiet.

Next time we want to spend some quality time together I believe taht we will considder staying here again as the hotel is modern, has fantastic food, and is in the middle of town.

KJ

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This is faded hotel that needs urgent attention.

Good points - excellent bedding, very good breakfast. Nice to have coffee in the lounge area. Good location.

Bad points - a little rough around the edges - dirty walls, and overly complicated lighting that means it is too difficult to operate in the bed rooms. Poor lighting in the bathroom - bad for applying makeup.

Most importantly for us - the heating was BUST, which meant it was 30 degrees in the room. It was unbearably hot. The staff 'didn't know how to fix it' and were not surprised that it was broken. They couldn't move us because the hotel was full. They offered 100 K off the bill. Not good enough. It was too hot, unbearably hot, too hot to sleep. They should have fixed it.

The staff are not unfriendly, but functional. There is a lack of urgency about problems such as the heating.

Needs work.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiffany15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oslo hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Been there a couple of times during 2011. Basically its a fainted so called design hotel. The rooms are in terrible condition and the staff is to some extent careless.of the situation the hotel is in.It needs a total makeover to live up to what it tries to be.
During our visit there were parties in every floor of the hotel and that gives a possible explanation to why the rooms look so worn down. The firealarm was also set of one night we stayed there.
Our room had drawings on the walls , mis -functional electronics and felt dirty.I complained about the poor condition of the general room, changed rooms two times with same problems and finally got an upgrade to a suite, This was a large room with good beds, though unclean.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, General Manager at First Hotel Grims Grenka, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear G O

We are really sorry that your stays with us in 2011 were not up to standard. What you have experienced does by no means reflect the profile First Hotel Grims Grenka is known for.
As we now have built 10 new rooms and suites July 2012, we have also given the rest of our rooms a makeover. Still, I can assure you, your concerns have not been ignored. Our Technical Manager and Housekeeper have made close reviews on their routines based on your comments.
I would like to thank you for voicing your concerns. Guest feedback provides us with the best opportunities to improve.

Yours Sincerely,

Linda Søvik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I have stayed in this hotel a few times over the last month. and I will most certainly stay here a lot in the future. The staf is friendly, serviceminded and makes you feel welcome and "at home".
the different room I'v had all look apart, some more impressive than others. All "my" rooms have been fresh, cool lighting really makes a great atmosphere and the overall quality of all the "fittings and appliances" is very good.
Breakfast is great!!!
The short walk to Aker Brygge/Tjuvholmen is ideal. the buildings and area sourrounding the hotel is undergoing a refurnbishment, and looks good. Several architechtual and historic buidligs and sights.
The hotel resaurant re-opens one of these days - I'm exited to test it at my next visit - which will be soon !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

Great location in this underrated city. Walk everywhere. Great suite with wide wooden floors. Rain shower. Big dining table. Top breakfast and service. Will definitely be back. Got great advice from reception on everything we needed

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederiminvielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

To be honest this was one of the worst experiences I have ever had in a hotel.

I won´t comment on the price level since compared to almost every other country Norway is just really expensive.

This is a really beaten up "design" hotel with a semi bad location with several serious problems. The rooms are in poor condition, the service is beyond all standards (try getting a cup of coffee) and frankly the staff are nowhere to be found, the breakfast was a big joke with food running out before the breakfast was suppose to end, the rooms were so poorly cleaned that our room had some stuff that the previous client had left, the shower was broken ... and the list goes on.

Yes, we did complain while we stayed at the hotel and yes, they gave us a discount. I also wrote a letter of complaint to First Hotels. First Hotels chose never to answer my letter but instead as an insult to injury they just listed me without my permission to their loyalty program and started spamming.

Oslo is a beautiful and nice city. You should not spoil your trip to Norway with this hotel. Avoid.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tämer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, General Manager at First Hotel Grims Grenka, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Tangobeam,

We are really sorry that your stay with us was not up to standard. What you have experienced does by no means reflect the profile First Hotel Grims Grenka is known for.
We take pride in our great staff and rich delicious breakfast, as well as our popular rooms.
As a standard, coffee is free of charge 24h from our Nespresso macine in the lobby. All our suites also have this facility, so do breakfast/restaurant.
I assure you, your concerns have not been ignored. We have reviewed our ruitines in order to make necessary improvements based on your comments.
Thank you for voicing your concerns. Guest feedback provides us with the best opportunities to improve.

Yours Sincerely,

Linda Søvik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
First Hotel Millennium
First Hotel Millennium
#49 of 100 in Oslo
850 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Grims Grenka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Grims Grenka

Property: First Hotel Grims Grenka
Address: Kongens gate 5, Oslo 0153, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Oslo
#21 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — First Hotel Grims Grenka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Grims Grenka in Oslo city center is no ordinary hotel. The design of the hotel creates a special atmosphere for its guests, one that needs to be experienced. The hotel has 65 rooms, all of which are larger than 20 square meters and offer high quality facilities such as Jensen beds, Samsung LED Smart TVs and personalized light controls. Hotel guests can also enjoy one of the very few rooftop terraces Oslo has to offer. Grims Grenka's own roof top lounge: Q Lounge. When the weather gets hot the drinks get even hotter. First Hotel Grims Grenka is a well-known design hotel to the citizens of Oslo. Press-conferences, photo shoots, product launches, parties and other events are frequently held at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Grims Grenka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Grims Grenka
First Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing