We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dingy, rundown, and noisy.”
Review of Cochs Pensjonat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cochs Pensjonat
Ranked #1 of 20 Oslo B&B and Inns
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Dingy, rundown, and noisy.”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed here on a Tuesday night in a 4-person room. The hotel is on a crowded street, near the city center. Hard to find the entrance and then figure out how to get in for check in. The person at front desk was not very friendly, demanding that we provide full names, birthdates, and passport numbers. The interior of the hotel was really rundown and in need of repair. Room was spacious and beds were comfortable, but it was very dingy and reeked of room freshener. Bathroom was clean and was adequate, but shower water was either scalding hot (my son and I both got burned) or lukewarm. The room had a little "cooking area" with a small fridge, sink, and two burner hotpot, but no outlets to plug in a coffee maker or any other cooking device. The room had only 5 outlets, one in the bathroom and 4 behind beds near the floor. In the morning, I had to put our coffee maker on my bed to plug it in. WiFi did not work in the room so my son spent most of the evening in the hallway just to access the WiFi. And at night, the noise from the street below kept all 4 of us awake until nearly midnight, which made our 4 a.m. wake-up the next day brutal. To be fair, the hotel is a good value for large parties in Oslo, and it is located near all the major attractions, including Vigeland Park, the harbor, Karl Johans Gate (shopping), and the Royal Palace.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tla852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you expected. According to Norwegian law we are obliged to ask for full name, birthday and passport numbers for all foreigners outside the nordic countries, but we are sorry that this was not done in a friedndly way. We take pride in having friendly and smiling receptionists and are sorry we did not succeed in your case. We lend cooking devices free from the reception. There is information about this in the room and the receptionist should aslo have mentioned this upon arrrival.
There should be internet access in every room. We are not sure what was the reason it did not work when you were here, and are sorry that the reception was not able to resolve it.
Being situated in the city centre has some challenges, one of them being traffic and human noices from the street. We are sorry that this was a problem for you. We have earplugs in the reception and for another time we recommend you to ask for a room to the back.
When it comes to the standard of the room we are sorry that it was not to your expectations. We are continually maintaining our premises, and are sorry if there was thing broken in your room that we have overlooked. If the room was not clean we are sorry that you did not tell at the reception and we would have given you another room. All our rooms should be clean.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    157
    67
    12
    4
See reviews for
68
66
44
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Cochs is good value for money. It has the bare essentials for a reasonable price by Norway standards. Whatever was lacking in the rooms was available at the desk. It was clean, safe and quiet - the latter important for us - four seniors! We walked downtown from there each day and got the hop on/hop off bus for further away attractions. The desk was staffed by helpful people day and night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Oslo.
We welcome you back on another occasion. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Norway is by no means cheap and this place, for the price, was nice and good value for money. The location is a little out the way but with enough map reading, you can get to a lot of places relatively quickly. I recommend the sculpture park to the north and the modern art museums in the posh bit past city hall.
The blonde girl (who said she was new) was cute and really helpful.
We were there for only two nights but you could probably stretch out a week if you relaxed enough.
Also, if you like pork, the Tawo Terrasse place in the centre near the theater was incredible. Well worth the extra bit of cash if you can afford it.

Room Tip: 4th floor kept noise down to almost silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be back on another occasion. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The Cochs pension is very clean and safe and everything a pension should be. And its location very near the palace is very good. You have to ask for a glass at reception, and the only soap is in a dispenser, but that's a small inconvenience for the price. There is no food there, but it is surrounded by cafes. Don't forget to take your key card when you leave, you'll need it for the elevator to take your luggage down.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please note for another time that you do not need your keycard to go down with the elevator and that all guests must leave their keycard at the reception before they check out. Welcome back to Cochs Pensjonat! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2013

So glad we stayed at Coch's Pensjonat.....really had reservations/doubts, but everthing was perfect.....very good price for Scandanavia, and so much better/more charming than a chain hotel.
Mange takk!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpsev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back! Best regards, Cochs Pensjonat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Torres, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We've been in this hotel for a four-days-holiday. Good and classic hotel, but to have a breakfast you had to go in a cafe' which was located in the cross road and it was nothing special really. The location was good, about ten minutes walking by the city center.
But do not stay more than 2 or 3 days in Oslo, you will get bored!
Nice city, do not get me wrong, but there's not a lot to see or to do for youngsters.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciakval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back on another occasion. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

The Cochs Pension is located in a fun neighborhood with plenty of shopping and eating available. From this location my husband and I were able to walk to all of the places in Oslo that we wanted to visit but we spent a lot of time walking. Oslo is an amazing city with so much to see and it is spread out so plan on a lot of walking. This hotel is reasonably priced and basic but we were very comfortable. There is nothing fancy about it. If we ever visit Oslo again we would be happy to stay at Cochs Pension again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMNMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear Lynn. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed Oslo and your stay at Cochs. We hope to see you again on another occasion. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#24 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#35 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cochs Pensjonat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cochs Pensjonat

Property: Cochs Pensjonat
Address: Parkveien 25, Oslo 0350, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cochs Pensjonat 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cochs Pensjonat is centrally located on the corner of the Royal Palace Park in Oslo. The hotel has 205 beds and 89 rooms: single rooms, twin, 3- and 4-bedded rooms. We offer clean and tidy rooms at a reasonable rate. The reception is open 24 hour in this family run hotel. Heartily welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Cochs Pensjonat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cochs Pensjonat Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing