We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cooking in the room meant we could avoid expensive Oslo restaurant prices”
Review of Cochs Pensjonat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cochs Pensjonat
Ranked #1 of 20 Oslo B&B and Inns
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Cooking in the room meant we could avoid expensive Oslo restaurant prices”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is located in a nice area of Oslo with restaurants and shops nearby and just on the corner of the park surrounding the Royal Palace.

It was clean and the staff were helpful.

However the best thing about this room is that it comes with hobs to cook on, and pots and pans to borrow from reception, and seeing as eating out in Oslo is incredibly more expensive than we had even expected (£80-90 for just 2 pizzas and a bottle of wine!), it was nice to be able to visit the nearby Kiwi supermarket and cook our own food in the room to save some money!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaonyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Nicola. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and specially our kitchen facilities. We hope you will visit us again on another occassion. Welcome back! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    165
    69
    12
    4
See reviews for
77
67
46
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

SImple, no frills but a cheap place to stay in Oslo.
The location is slightly out of the city centre, I'd say 10-15 mins walk but you go through the Royal Palace grounds which is a very pleasant walk. You have the common convenience stores up the road, and a coffee shop below.
The rooms are clean, staff are friendly and free WiFi throughout, would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Rory G. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back on another occassion. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Cochs Pension has a great location right behind the Royal Castle. The rooms are cheap so don't expect too much, but at least it's clean. Be aware that not all rooms have bathrooms. A little noisy since it's located near a trafficked road and pubs and restaurants nearby have people coming and going late at night.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colsen1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you liked our location and prices.
We hope you will visit us again on another occasion. Welcome back! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Smack in the middle of Oslo and across the street from the oldest bar/restaurant in Oslo Cochs is a great choice for business or pleasure. For me the proximity to my office and reasonable price make Cochs the choice every time I am in Oslo. The rooms are simple and clean. Nice to have a fridge and stove too!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MakameKomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear MakameKomba. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you like Cochs Pensjonat and our surroundings. We welcome you back on your next visit to Oslo! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taggerty, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

On arrival and for two nights before our departure, we stayed at Cochs Pensionat: two single rooms on both occasions. The staff are friendly and helpful; the rooms are clean and neat and the location is easy walking distant to many places and to public transport. Several good cafes in the immediate area - a short walk to airport bus and good value overall.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellbewrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Shellbewrite. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back if you return to Oslo. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The hotel is located on the 1st to 3 floor of a urban property.
The rooms are neat, clean and newly renovated.
There is something original Norwegian with the decor (posetive). Cozy accommodations and friendly staff.
Several good hang out places in the neighborhood. bl. Litteraturhuset (Littertur house) and Kunstnernes Hus (Artists' House)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mads_Bodil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you liked our place and surroundings. We welcome you back on another occasion. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otterlo, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Love the facade of the building as well as the hotel corridors and stairway- there's this early 1990s old charm. Hotel staff was also very kind and attentive to our needs.

The royal palace park is just across the hotel so the environment is very peaceful and serene. There are many eateries, grocery stores and other shops, including the Radisson Blu flybus stop, all just a stone's throw away.

It's at least 15mins walk to central train station/ other tourist hangouts in the downtown but it's fairly easy to navigate around Oslo.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wallflower69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochs, Manager at Cochs Pensjonat, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back on another occassion. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#22 of 102 in Oslo
1,561 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#37 of 102 in Oslo
853 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cochs Pensjonat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cochs Pensjonat

Property: Cochs Pensjonat
Address: Parkveien 25, Oslo 0350, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cochs Pensjonat 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cochs Pensjonat is centrally located on the corner of the Royal Palace Park in Oslo. The hotel has 205 beds and 89 rooms: single rooms, twin, 3- and 4-bedded rooms. We offer clean and tidy rooms at a reasonable rate. The reception is open 24 hour in this family run hotel. Heartily welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cochs Pensjonat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cochs Pensjonat Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing