We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated 70ties hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Ranked #31 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Needs a serious revamp, outdatzd 7Oties, looks cheap.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toversti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,828 - 1,834 of 3,502 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

I've stayed in this hotel a number of times over the last year and I have to say its very average.

Unless you book a business class room the rooms are very basic and tired. It wins with so many people because of the location, it's literally right on the central station, so you can be in your room within 30 mins of clearing customs. It's really the only reason I use it.

The restaurant on the top floors is supposed to be good but I've never been, looks like a strange one to me. The gym is rubbish and very hard to get to, the bar at reception is soulless and the staff unengaging. The Irish bar is ok, at least the Guinness is good. Breakfast is always a bit crazy too, seems to get so busy and it's a bit of a free for all. I now don't bother and get a fresh breakfast from the deli next to the hotel.

If you are there on Sunday night, try a little pub just across the stret called 'queens pub'. Local musicians meet there on a Sunday night for a jam session which is always entertaining.

Radisson - Must try harder!

Room Tip: Business class room is a must if you want a double bed. They are the same size but a little better f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The location is just perfect (very close to bus and train station). The view from top floors are amazing. Staff was very helpful and wi-fi conection worked very good as well. Room could be a bit bigger.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We are a family of three form India.
Booked this hotel for it's location. Just outside the railway station and Bus station.
It has a "covered way"/ passage from bus station to the hotel. Railway is just across.
Tallest hotel in Oslo, has a great view.
Take the Capsule Lift to rise to the top floor where swimming pool and the bar offer a great view.
Breakfast is a good spread but Very Busy/ crowded and Noisy.

Book this hotel early (20-30 days in advance and get a good rate.
Also worth becoming member of Carlson club as with only two nights in any of this group hotel, good points are earned which we could use it later.
Very useful shopping mall just across the street for last minute shopping ( Norway is NOT great place to shop).

Room Tip: Higher floors give better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tman2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

the property sports a fancy bar and elevator.. but at it's core the hotel experience is just 'ok' and not that grand. The bathrooms are showing problems with mold stains in the grout. The amenities in the room are baseline only. The styling and amenities are not really above and beyond other hotels in the area.. not to justify the price. Location is great next to the bus terminal and central station. Walking to the hotel is simple and there is a dedicated taxi queue right at the hotel's door.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Good size room with high quality beds and pillows, greate big bathrooms and excellent views over Oslo. Greate restaurants and perfect breakfast with all your heart can wish for. Good service and very friendly staff all over the hotel. Highly reccomend for all travellers.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnitaKnights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night at a favourable weekend rate with my wife after a night out in town.

We were greeted by professional, friendly and very efficient receiptionist staff. Due to membership in the Hotel chains loyalty program we were upgraded to a business room on the 28th floor (business rooms are the same as normal rooms, but on higher floors and there are few more perks).

The room was fairly spacious, bed ok and had a nice view over the town and some of Oslos waterfront. WIFI is free and works all over the hotel.

I require a power outlet during night time for some medical equipment and searched around the bedside, but there wasn't one, the nearest outlet was about 10ft / 3m away. Picked up the phone and used their "one-touch-service" and asked for an extension cord, which was promptly delivered at our door.

When looking around the night stands for a power outlet I realized that someone had spilled a red sticky liquid around that area, housekeeping obviously had missed, and that put a questionmark concerning the cleanliness of the rest of the room into the back of my head.

Upon return from town I had to realize that all power outlets (except for the 2 at the desk) are controlled by the main light switch at the door - you choose power in the outlet and lights on, or no power (you cannot remove the light bulb in some of the lights, since they are hidden behind a wooden cover for indirect lightening). I didn't want any more fuss at 1.30 am, and the extension cord did stretch to the power outlet at the desk - suspending the cable in the air about 2ft troughout the room ...

When we left for our Dinner date we realized the room door wouldn't lock, neither automatically or when using the key card. Back into the room, using their "one-touch-service". It took about 15 minutes for someone from security to arrive and to lock the door so we could leave. The issue was fixed upon our return - nevertheless, we were late for our dinner reservation.

The breakfast the next morning was very good, the restaurant staff very attentive.

When checking out I mentioned the 2 issues I experienced, but didn't even get an apology, only a patronizing comment from the receiptionist.

All in all I am left with mixed feelings, not because the hotel was totally bad, but because my expectations were not met - that is why I don't consider it a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlafDietzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#18 of 102 in Oslo
1,029 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
381 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo

Address: Sonja Henies Plass 3, Oslo 0185, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Oslo
#17 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#23 Family Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £118 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo 4*
Number of rooms: 673
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel is the largest hotel and the tallest building in Norway, featuring 673 rooms and suites. The hotel is conveniently located next to the central railway station, with easy airport access. Shopping and sightseeing is within walking distance. Guests enjoy complimentary access to the swimming pool on the 35th floor and Plaza Fitness on the 37th floor. Concierge service, valet parking and room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo Hotel Oslo
Radisson Oslo
Oslo Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing