We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expected from a Radisson - think cheap hotel chain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Ranked #34 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not what I expected from a Radisson - think cheap hotel chain”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Considering the cost (and even factoring in the cost of staying in Norway), the hotel had the feel of a Travelodge/Premier inn in the UK. The room had not been properly cleaned - there were crisps under the desk and even a cucumber (!!) in the wardrobe...
The room was very basic, two single beds even though I had asked for a king size
Breakfast is a no go area - there are far too many guests for the space given over for breakfast - this means that you have a search for a chair and will have to share your table with a number of strangers.
Forget the Irish bar - very expensive and very poor food and the 34 floor bar - while the view is fantastic, the prices are out of this world, even for Oslo.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weechancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    1,385
    711
    201
    74
See reviews for
446
917
212
1,142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

The Radisson Blu Plaza is a wonderful hotel with about the friendliest staff I have encountered. I broke my general rule of not staying near train stations to stay here, but I would not do it again. The hotel has no downside except its location; the breakfast is great, the food in the bar is excellent, the rooms are comfortable. However, it is across from the stadium and next to the train station, and the neighborhood reflects that. I do not think the neighborhood is unsafe. It is just not particularly appealing.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Professional and clean hotel right in the middle of Oslo. Could be located in any major city though and doesn't really have anything typical norwegian athmosphere. Some loud music from ball room in first floor was annoying.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Nice location, good pool and gym facilities. Highly recommended and right next to the train station so handy for the airport only being a half hour away. Good views and excellent restaurant. Always book online for best prices

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AberdeenBaheed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
203 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I like the Radisson blu chain generally speaking, and a one stay in this one (the Plaza) for me epitomised the brand. Efficient but not effusive front desk, big choice and good quality self service breakfast, reasonable value (especially for an expensive petro-economy like Norway). Comfortable, modern rooms with all the services you expect of a business hotel. Central location with easy access to public transport, notably the airport train which is faster and 10% of the cost of a taxi. What's not to like?

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed there one night last week, the first time for a few years. Have stayed there many times earlier. My room on the 15th floor was clean, good sized and I could sleep with an open window. As usual the breakfast buffet provided a lot of choice.

It's not in the middle of the restaurant district, but an easy walk from the railway station.

I paise juat above 2 K NOK via hotels.com incl breakfast. A tas expensive in my view. But as a business and conference hotel it'a a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursus_Polaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We use hotels in and around Oslo for conferances pretty often. This was the first time we booked Plaza. And we are probably not going back. It is very expensive, they charge you heaps for almost everything. The lunch (2-set lunch) is very boring, and without taste. meetingroom is OK.
Competition in Oslo is strong, and Plaza really need to do something about their product pretty fast if they want to stay in the game.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjefen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#21 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Address: Sonja Henies Plass 3, Oslo 0185, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Oslo
#19 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#23 Family Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo 4*
Number of rooms: 673
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel is the largest hotel and the tallest building in Norway, featuring 673 rooms and suites. The hotel is conveniently located next to the central railway station, with easy airport access. Shopping and sightseeing is within walking distance. Guests enjoy complimentary access to the swimming pool on the 35th floor and Plaza Fitness on the 37th floor. Concierge service, valet parking and room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo Hotel Oslo
Radisson Oslo
Oslo Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing