We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel, Staff, and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Ranked #33 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel, Staff, and Location”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

The Radisson Blu is outstanding, centrally located, clean, friendly, and all the amenities that one could want. It is connected to the central train and bus stations. The hotel is only about 30 meters from the train station and approximately 40 to 45 meters from the bus station. (Beware that the walkway gets rather grungy late at night and even worse on weekends. Oslo is very clean, but the walkway and bridge are the exception. Dog waste, food, food wrappers and other item of different degrees of filth are on the walkway toward the hotel- simply look at where you are walking- it is still the best way to the hotel.)

The Radisson itself, is spotlessly clean, modern, and in an excellent location to get to almost any place in the center of Oslo. It was my first time in Oslo, and when I checked in the lady at the desk was extremely helpful and took time to review the local transportation, sights, and mentioned some of the events for that the weekend.

I stayed on the 32nd floor and had a good view. The room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable, and everything was in good working order. It was extremely quiet on the floor and elevator was very fast getting to and from the floor. Although I never watched any, I was told all movies were free. I am not sure if that was just that weekend or at all times.

The breakfast is one of the best I have experienced at any hotel. Each morning the same lady, Ana Paula, greeted me and had my tea waiting for me before I had my first dish. The food, particularly the salmon and the breads were very good and setting was very quiet.

I had one miner issue. When I arrived at the hotel I wanted to get some dinner. The lady at the desk suggested that it would be fastest to go to the 34th floor and get a light meal there. I left my bags in the room and went directly to the 34th floor, by that time it was 10:30. The hostess told me the kitchen had just closed for the night and suggested that I go to one of the surrounding restaurants. I was surprised that they could not have made a salad 30 minutes prior to their stated closing time.

I highly recommend the Radisson Blue Plaza, as I would not hesitation staying there again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bathurst-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    1,464
    755
    216
    83
See reviews for
478
975
232
1,207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I've been coming to this hotel for over 14 years and have stayed here many times. Great location a few minutes walk from the station and down-town area, and great views of Oslo from many of the rooms. The highlight is the rooftop pool and sauna - the only hotel sauna I know with panoramic views.

It would be nice to see a bit of updating of the decor, but the rooms are in good condition and spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: Better views higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

rooms are amazing, breakfast so yammy and the views are very nice from the hotel rooms.

location is great accross the road from train/bus and metro stations,
there are 2 big shopping centres across the street and karl johan (shopping street) is 5min walk.

they offer parking and are perfect for all travellers:)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cilia198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faxe Ladeplads, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Hotel located centrally in Oslo, right across from the main railway station. Rooms and facilities are standard, but the views (especially from the top floors) are spectacular. The pool is located on the 35th floor and offer a small sized pool, again, with magnificent views overlooking the Oslo Fjord. Very good breakfast selection. The room rate is fair given the standard and amenities of the hotel, but the parking is way overpriced at 375 NOK/ day. Leaving the car at home will allow you an additional nights stay at the hotel.....every 3 nights you have your car parked :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryborough, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Friendly helpful staff, all speak English fluently, free WiFi, breakfast included in tariff, expensive, very comfy beds. This was the selected conference venue for a large International Conference of over 800 delegates.

Room Tip: Rooms not large, bathroom quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
497 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Only stayed a night but seamless service from start to finish. Very good valet parking service. Colleague tried to use the gym which is a little strange, awesome views but scrunched in with low ceiling. Breakfast was OK and ate in the bar on site as it was late with a decent fish and chips. Great bathroom but I don't like these small single beds in Norwegian hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maraalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We chose this hotel for its closeness to Oslo Central Station and because we wanted to be able to walk to a number of attractions in Central Oslo. The Airport Express train brings you from the Airport to the Central Station in about 15 minutes for approx. £17. The hotel is then at the North Entrance and just over a pedestrian bridge.

Check-in was easy and the room surprisingly large, but comfortable and the Wi-Fi connected immediately. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Our room was on the 23rd floor facing South, which gave us a good view to the waterfront. Breakfast was good and varied with fresh produce. We tried to get up to the panorama floor on the 35th floor but failed to open the door to get into it. We later found that it is closed on Sundays - which seemed a bureaucratic nonsense.

We only had one night in Oslo and we were arriving mid-afternoon on a Sunday and leaving mid-afternoon on a Monday, so after checking out on the Monday, we left our luggage at Reception to be collected on our way back to the airport.

Oslo is not a huge city and we picked out the things that we wished to see in our 24 hours as follows:

- Opera House: I know it's odd, but you are encouraged to walk up the inclined roof (from ground level) and from the top you get a good view of the harbour. No charge.
- Akershus Castle: splendid old building still used for State occasions.
- Oslo City Hall (Radhus) is probably the ugliest building in Oslo (designed in 1918 and built in 1950), but it has some wonderful paintings inside that cover vast areas. Entrance is free.
- Cathedral (Domkirche). Lovely old features (altar and pulpit) and impressive ceiling painting as long as you don't dwell on the fact that, in painting it, they destroyed the earlier (?medieval) ceiling art. Entrance free, but a donation is welcome.

If we had had more time, we would have tried for the Royal Palace and the Parliament, but, apart from the time issue, both were only accessible via guided tours.

Even allowing for it being a Sunday when we arrived (all shops are shut on a Sunday, but restaurants are open - more or less), there were not many places to just have a coffee in Oslo, but we found two 'Joe & the juice' cafes, which produced tea and coffee at sensible prices.

Room Tip: Higher the better - facing south
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thon Hotel Opera
#8 of 102 in Oslo
2,153 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Address: Sonja Henies Plass 3, Oslo 0185, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Oslo
#18 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#23 Family Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo 4*
Number of rooms: 673
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel is the largest hotel and the tallest building in Norway, featuring 673 rooms and suites. The hotel is conveniently located next to the central railway station, with easy airport access. Shopping and sightseeing is within walking distance. Guests enjoy complimentary access to the swimming pool on the 35th floor and Plaza Fitness on the 37th floor. Concierge service, valet parking and room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Rezidor, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo Hotel Oslo
Radisson Oslo
Oslo Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing