We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable with great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Ranked #34 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Comfortable with great view”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

"Very good" is perhaps an overstatement, but the hotel is above "average", at least in Oslo.

The tallest building in Oslo (still?) offers a great view of the city. Compared to most of the other hotels I have stayed in here, this is more upscale than most of the other basic Oslo hotels. It is not luxurious, but offers a nice and good stay.

The double room was spacious and nice, with a great view of the Barcode and Opera house by the fjord. Unfortunately we were given two single beds although we ordered a double bed. The beds were comfortable, though. The bathroom was spacious with a bath tub, but they could have offered slightly better soaps and shower gels for a slightly more exclusive touch.

The top floor restaurant again gives a great view of the city. The staff in the restaurant was very helpful and nice, but the one vegetarian dish on the menu (risotto) was not anything to write home about. The tiramisu was right above average. Great wine.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better view. Ask for view towards the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarje H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Google Translation
Kjære Heidi 3030,

Takk for at du tok deg tid til å gi oss din tilbakemelding etter oppholdet hos oss. Fint å høre at du trives på Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, men at det var enkelte ting du ikke var helt fornøyd med. Vi tar med oss tilbakemeldingen videre i vårt forbedringsarbeid.
Håper vi snart ser deg igjen – Velkommen tilbake!

Hilsen fra,
Tarje Hellebust, General Manager Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    1,467
    757
    216
    83
See reviews for
480
977
234
1,207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you're staying in Oslo, this is the place to be at!

The rooms are good, beds comfy, the skybar at the 34th floor has an amazing view.

The breakfast is ok, but far from great. But that is also what makes this review 4 instead of 5.

My warmest recommendations!

Room Tip: As high up the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarje H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Martin W,

Thank you for the review after your stay at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will off course use this feedback for improvement
We hope to see you again soon – Welcome back to us!

Best regards,
Tarje Hellebust, General Manager Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for about 5 days for a mix of business and pleasure. It is a very large hotel, centrally and conveniently located next to the main Oslo train station (easy access to the airport) and nearby much of the major attractions in the city. My room was quite nice and comfortable so no complaints there and I had a nice view of the city. The hotel is very large and one of the tallest buildings in the area so if you are one of the higher floors, most likely you will get a nice view. The hotel has many amenities which I didn't really use except for the free wi-fi in the rooms and the business centre to print my boarding pass. Service was pretty good - check in and check out was easy and staff is helpful. There is a free breakfast buffet which was pretty good. One small issue I had is that the breakfast area is not large enough to accommodate all the guests so if you come to breakfast when it is crowded, the seating spills over to outside the main area. They also set up an second breakfast area outside with most of the same food but the seating and layout isn't as nice. I ran into this during the weekend when I got up later (9-10 AM) and most likely this was the peak time. During the weekdays I ate much earlier (7-8 AM) so I was able to eat in the main area (and perhaps the hotel is not as crowded during the weekdays?). Another small nitpick was that housekeeping did not clean my minibar fridge before I checked-in because the previous guest left half-eaten food in there. I had to contact the front desk to have it removed. Otherwise it was a pleasant stay. A bit more expensive than I would have liked but then again it is Olso so I suppose the price was fair enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keesio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B, Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Keesio,

Thank you for this review after your stay at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel. We will off course use this feedback for improvement. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again soon – Welcome back to us!

Best regards,
Tarje Hellebust, General Manager Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I found the Radison Blu Plaza Hotel Oslo to be very average and much less than I expected.

My first impression of the vista of Oslo from the Hotel was grey, grey concrete and glass. Once you venture into Karl Johan's Gate and the old town, there is fine architecture and colour.

We stayed two nights at the Radison Blu, once a prestige hotel of Oslo. It has faded with time, and is dated in presentation.

The 26th story room was a good size. The television did not work and reception promptly sent someone to look at it. Nothing could be done and we had the option to move rooms at 10 pm. We declined as we were ready for bed. I was given assurances it would be repaired the following day. It was not.

The shower is in the bath and complex to operate and, given the design of the bath and bath room, a significant trip hazard.

Room service was prompt and my steak delicious. However, the salad it was served with was small, badly presented, and unless you are eating in bed, there is only room for one person at a time to be seated. The corridors had soiled linen bags in the corridor from early afternoon to very late evening.

It is not a 4 star hotel service.

On the plus side: the hotel is conveniently located for trains and buses, the respective stations are next door; the free wifi worked well and was greatly appreciated; the included buffet breakfast was excellent as was the view from the top floor bar.

I found the standard and amenity of this hotel to be average and less than I was expecting. I would not choose this hotel again to stay in Oslo, and would strongly recommend staying in the old town.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B, Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear John B,

Thank you for taking time posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are very sad to hear that the stay did not meet your expectations. We will off course use this feedback for improvement.
Hope we will get the opportunity to see you here again – Welcome back!

Best regards,
Tarje Hellebust, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed two nights in this "upscale" hotel which is totally something different.
Room are standard Radisson rooms, nothing special.

Hotel location is dangerous at nights. Railway station is very close which causes a lot of suspiciuous traffic close to hotel at nights. We saw somekind of black market actions in the back yard and nearest park. When having late night smoke at front door violently behaved bum asked for cigarrette and of course I didn´t give any. Then he followed me in the reception but luckily security was there and they took care of him. At nigh time hokers are on duty in the nearest juction. So, not so nice location even bus and railways are close.

Breakfast is not anything speciali either. Not even bacon. Disapointment.

I think there is better hotels located safer areas in Oslo.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinnHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarje H, Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Finn,

Thank you for taking time posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are very sad to hear that the stay did not meet your expectations, this is not the way we want our guests to experience the hotel. We will of course use this feedback for improvement.

Hope we will get the opportunity to see you here again- Welcome back!

Best regards,
Tarje Hellebust, General Manager Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
673 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel in June. Rooms are quite nice and functionally equipped. Service at front office was nice but in breakfast room it was excellent despite hotel being full, guests were attended quite quickly. Location is the biggest plus point for the hotel as it is located next to central station and bus terminus. Would stay here again whenever visit Oslo next. View from roof top bar is excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor gives nice view of Oslo City
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtulKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B, Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Google Translation
Kjære AtulKB,

Takk for at du tok deg tid til å gi oss din tilbakemelding etter oppholdet hos oss. Fint å høre at du trives på Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel og at du er fornøyd med våre fasiliteter.
Håper vi snart ser deg igjen – Velkommen tilbake!

Hilsen fra,
Tarje Hellebust, General Manager Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I staied in this hotel for a weekend. It was a lovely experience. I was free upgraded to a Business class room. The room was big and clean with a big bathroom. The hotel has also facilities like sauna, pool and gym. The pool area though is pretty small for a 4 stars hotel. The main plus of this place is the bar on the 33 floor. From there you get a great overview of the city. Really amazing. In addition the hotel location is really convenient as it is in between the Central Station and the main bus terminal. In 5 minutes by foot you reach the City Hall (Oslo city centre) and in 10 the royal palace.Just outside you also have the underground station and several trams and bus lines. in my opinion it is one of the best deal in Oslo.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side might have a view of the Central station tracks. Such view is however compens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleFox81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Little Fax 81,


Thank you for this great review after your stay at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again soon – Welcome back to us!
Best regards,
Tarje Hellebust, General Manager Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,158 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Address: Sonja Henies Plass 3, Oslo 0185, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Oslo
#19 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#23 Family Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo 4*
Number of rooms: 673
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel is the largest hotel and the tallest building in Norway, featuring 673 rooms and suites. The hotel is conveniently located next to the central railway station, with easy airport access. Shopping and sightseeing is within walking distance. Guests enjoy complimentary access to the swimming pool on the 35th floor and Plaza Fitness on the 37th floor. Concierge service, valet parking and room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo Hotel Oslo
Radisson Oslo
Oslo Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing